Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
150 user(s) are online (96 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 149

abalaban, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

OS4 Newbie - any advice?
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
I'm returning to the Amiga after a 10 year stint with Windows.

I've ordered a SAM440EP and Amiga OS4.1 and they should turn up next week all being well.

I'm technically competent in Windows, but having not used an Amiga in years (since my A1200 which I'd upgraded with a 68030, extra memory and HD - now unused at my folks house) I am an Amiga newbie!

Is there a guide on installing OS4.1 on a brand new HD? I've seen people comment about the OS4.1 install not working (Mircomart) and I also would love guidance on how to partition the hard disk etc. I plan to install 4.1 on a 150GB Raptor HD which I just happen to have lying around not doing much (it was previously used for Windows).

I know the SAM has a PCI slot, what's best to put in it? As the SAM has inbuilt graphics and sound, what have others put in theirs?

I'm also looking to possibly have a dual boot Linux/Amiga set up (Ubuntu 8.10 PPC version) - is this possible? Anyone got any guides on the best way to set it up?

I'm bound to have lots of questions as I get myself stuck into OS4.1!

Go to top
Re: OS4 Newbie - any advice?
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

See User information
@tommo1975

There is one somewhere, can't remember who provided it.

I have a copy at home and will either sent it to you or tell you were it can be found tomorrow, if nobody can help you sooner.

(Out into town straight from work tonight)

Go to top
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

See User information
@tommo1975

Where are you based just out a matter of interest?

Rude!

Nissan GTR '08
Go to top
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
@Rudei

I'm living nr Leighton Buzzard/Milton Keynes mate.

Go to top