Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
50 user(s) are online (27 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 48

sailor, NinjaCyborg, more...

Headlines






RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 1009
Hi all,

My son just upgraded his GPU, freeing up an RX590.
Is this card compatible with the RadeonRX driver on X1000?

I suspect my RadeonHD R9 270x is still a better option, however if this is expected to change, then I will hold on to the RX590.

What do you think?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 7332
@ddni
Spectre right, Radeon RX didn't work on X1000. AEON has sources of firmware, but so far didn't fix it.

But anyway, most RX works fine with 2D, but half of them have issues with 3D (random freezes). I got 3 different RX cards, and only one of them fully working. So only tests.

There are issues about:

http://www.amiga.org/developer/bugreports/view.php?id=454
http://www.amiga.org/developer/bugreports/view.php?id=361


Edited by kas1e on 2021/1/21 22:19:38
_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/6/29 15:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 519
@ddni & kas1e


No Current X1000 CFE support for Radeon RX Cards so they don't work.

_________________
Sam460ex : Radeon Rx550 Single slot Video Card : SIL3112 SATA card
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 1009
@Spectre660

Hi, thanks for this info, I vaguely remember seeing that, but had forgotten. Do you know if plans exist to address this?


Edited by ddni on 2021/1/23 17:20:12
_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/6/29 15:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 519
@ddni

As of at least October 2020 the X1000 CFE sources were in the hands of ExecSG team sow would assume A-Eon has them so only implementation is stopping it from happening.

Th RX550 and RX560 cards are currently the only ones that work with all the Radeon Polaris driver features .
The higher models currently have issues with 3D .

_________________
Sam460ex : Radeon Rx550 Single slot Video Card : SIL3112 SATA card
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/6/29 15:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 519
There is talk of it being possible to boot to Workbench without the CFE boot screen with the current CFE .

Needs first hand verification though.

_________________
Sam460ex : Radeon Rx550 Single slot Video Card : SIL3112 SATA card
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4493
@Spectre660

Did you ever get verification?

Just because the RX cards won't display/work in CFE doesn't mean they couldn't be used in an X1000, or am i missing something?

As long as the CFE init is successful the card should be perfectly usable later on after the RX driver fires, right?

The differences would be a *very* long black screen/no signal while it loads the modules (until the driver finally fires), no fancy(?) firmware boot/display and no possibility to change CFE values (but who does that on a recurring basis anyway?).

Even switch to use a Boot-DVD instead should still be possible...albeit with an error prone press on the keyboard ("in the dark") at the right moment.

...

@AmigaKit/AEon

Please update CFE for the X1000 to support RX cards...

(*crickets*)
(*more crickets*)
(*tumbleweed*)
(*no more crickets*)

ah well...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4493
So, it doesn't work.

X1000 with a RX in place will stop during CFE init at/after [DEVI]
[HELO][DRAM]SDRAMECC offNon-ECC DIMM used on channel 0.
[RELO][L1CF][GOLO][GOT ][ZBSS][INIT][MAIN][KMEM][EXCP][CONS][CIOK][AREN][PCIH][PCIB][PCIS][DEVI]

While supported cards will take their time before they print their information, RX cards will simply stall CFE to eternity...too bad

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: RadeonRX driver and RX590 GPU on X1000
Just popping in
Joined:
2021/4/23 7:00
From Central Bohemia, Czech Republic
Posts: 21
The same I had with X1000 + RX460, tested on January 2021.
RX don't works with X1000 (yet)

˙[HELO][DRAM]SDRAM: ECC off, Non-ECC DIMM used on channel 0.
SDRAM: ECC off, Non-ECC DIMM used on channel 1.
[RELO][L1CF][GOLO][GOT ][ZBSS][INIT][MAIN][KMEM][EXCP][CONS][CIOK][AREN][PCIH][PCIB][PCIS][DEVI]

_________________
AmigaOS: Micro A1-C, Pegasos II, Sam440ep-flex, AmigaOne X1000
MorphOS: Efika 5200b, Pegasos I, Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project