Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
81 user(s) are online (63 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 81

more...

Headlines




« 1 ... 7 8 9 (10) 11 12 »


Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/5/2 13:14
From Sweden
Posts: 508
@joerg

I have a 7455 delivered original with my A1-XE...

I will however up my Vcore one step since I think it is a little too low since I switched PSU to a better one.

_________________
Software developer for Amiga OS3 and OS4.
Develops for OnyxSoft and the Amiga using E and C and occasionally C++
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1022
@Deniil

Quote:
I have not downloaded and installed all version throughout time. Can I have missed an .so that is not included now anymore??
No, all required shared objects are included in the Aminet 1.21 archive, 1.23 additionally needs libowbfont.so and 1.24 libowbbookmark.so which are included in the updates.
Make sure you either have the updated libgcc.so and libz.so in the OWB directory or in SOBJS:, if you don't have them in one of both places the old versions included in OS4 would be used and crash.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.21/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1022
@Menthos

Quote:
Feature request of some kind...

A popup/requester showing until the main GUI is opened at startup so one knows that it is starting... Maybe with version information?
I just tested it and I'd have to add a long delay before opening the window to be able to read anything like the version number, without adding a delay it's displayed less than 1/20 second before the main window is opened on top of it.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4323
@joerg

Quote:
Quote:

I don't want to step on anyones toes, but i still call the
shared objects implemetantion broken...

It's not, it's working without any problems for hundreds of users, only you and 2 or 3 others have problems, and in your case with the random ISI crashes which always look like they could be caused by wrong or incomplete data cache flushing or instruction cache invalidating I guess it's the 7457 CPU which, like nearly all others, would need special support (settings, code or even workarounds for specific bugs) in the AmigaOS4 kernel. Maybe I'm wrong and there is special support for the two 7457 revisions used by ACube for the CPU module repairs in the OS4 kernel already, but I doubt it.


Hmm, granted, i have a cpu module which isn't the norm out
there, but why do i have problems *only* with OWB, not a
single other program shows this behaviour or even crashes
at all?

I can't unfortunately test another program that takes heavy
use of shared objects, but (and i tested this with two of
the projects i try to take care of) whenever i tried to
build them with shared objects they tend to crash/show weird
behaviour/freak me out with all sorts of mischief ... figure.

Anyway, as i said, i don't want to step on anyones toes

I'll keep my feet still and wait for a) the new SDK and b)
the next update of OS4 and test then again

...mumbles, i still think its the shared objects...



Edit: Oh, yes, i completely forgot (but you already know
that i think?). When i have done some work with other
programs (i.e. YAM, AWeb, Wookie and such) and overall
some actions were taken in other programs than OWB chances
are that OWB will THEN come up nicely without complaining

So, theres another thing theat would point *me* to not yet
loaded/initialized/opened/prepared to use .so files...
...but of course, i'm not a coder and know nothing about it

...signing off again...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.21/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:33
From Bure�, Sweden
Posts: 103
@joerg

For me, from the time I double-click the icon it is at least 5-6 seconds of nothing until the GUI appears.
(Well, it prints 'trying to start program "OWB"' at the top and the CPU meter goes 100%.)

Maybe it's just the big exe that are loaded in that time...
Still would be nice to have something that shows that it is trying to start directly after double-clicking... Maybe I'm not used to have such a big (and good!) program loaded on the Amiga! :)

_________________
/Me, myself and A1G4!
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.21/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3284
@Menthos

It is almost certainly the executable and all the shared objects (and maybe some libraries and fonts too) that takes the time. I imagine the window opens as soon as it can, and a splash screen couldn't open much sooner (as Joerg confirms).

The answer would be to have a separate OWB_Launcher that reads the tooltypes, displays a splash screen and opens OWB with the correct arguments. It would then have to close the splash screen (or OWB would).

This is pretty much what Wordworth does AFAICT.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.21/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1022
@Menthos

Quote:
For me, from the time I double-click the icon it is at least 5-6 seconds of nothing until the GUI appears.
(Well, it prints 'trying to start program "OWB"' at the top and the CPU meter goes 100%.)

Maybe it's just the big exe that are loaded in that time...
Yes, it takes that long to load and relocate the about 22 MB OWB executable, until it's loaded (completely, incl. all shared objects) it obviously can't do anything, and after the first code of OWB is executed it takes less than 1/20 second here until the window is opened.

Quote:
Maybe I'm not used to have such a big (and good!) program loaded on the Amiga! :)
The AbiWord executable is even larger than OWB

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1022
@Raziel

Quote:
I can't unfortunately test another program that takes heavy
use of shared objects, but (and i tested this with two of
the projects i try to take care of) whenever i tried to
build them with shared objects they tend to crash/show weird
behaviour/freak me out with all sorts of mischief ... figure.
Only on your system, or did you sent such executables to others for testing as well?

Quote:
Edit: Oh, yes, i completely forgot (but you already know
that i think?). When i have done some work with other
programs (i.e. YAM, AWeb, Wookie and such) and overall
some actions were taken in other programs than OWB chances
are that OWB will THEN come up nicely without complaining

So, theres another thing theat would point *me* to not yet
loaded/initialized/opened/prepared to use .so files...
If shared objects would be like AmigaOS libraries and kept in RAM that could be that case, but they aren't, at least not yet, they are not keept in RAM and are not shared, they are reloaded again every time something is using them and each executable using them gets it's own copy.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4323
@joerg

Quote:

Quote:

Quote:
I can't unfortunately test another program that takes heavy
use of shared objects, but (and i tested this with two of
the projects i try to take care of) whenever i tried to
build them with shared objects they tend to crash/show weird
behaviour/freak me out with all sorts of mischief ... figure.

Only on your system, or did you sent such executables to others for testing as well?


Certainly.
One G4 and one G3, both crashed and we couldn't figure out
why.
Well, we could say that the pthread .so was the culprit,
but, as i said, being no coder i haven't had a chance to
try to corner it, it didn't work, so i went back to when
it worked

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1022
@Raziel

Quote:
One G4 and one G3, both crashed and we couldn't figure out why.
Did you strip the executable, or a shared object it's using? If yes that's the reason: strip destroys shared objects and executables using shared objects.
If not: Do you have a small example you can sent me for testing?

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 383
@Raziel

Probably not really much more helpful, but if I run OWB three times and ignore the first two GR's, it finally works. Of course I then have to reboot if I want to use any other programs.

Edit: Btw, by ignore I mean I don't even touch the GR popup window at all. I just leave them up.


Edited by Valiant on 2008/5/8 16:11:27
_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 2:00
From Alberta, Canada
Posts: 385
@Valiant / joerg

Not sure if this is the same thing, but I encountered some weird stuff tonight.

If I get a GR showing DSI error, and hit ignore button, the next program I run acts weird.

For example, Final Writer 97 gets stuck while loading and comes up with a strange message in a requester. Another example, Partiion Wizzard comes up listing the a1 parallel port or a1 serial port (instead of disk partiitions) and then hangs. I have to reset the machine to get it back to normal.

I'm not sure if this happened with v 1.18 because I usually reset the machine if I got any kind of GR from any program.

BTW, I always get a GR showing DSI error if I launch OWB and quit before I visit a website. Maybe its related to having no "home page".
Tooltype = (HOME=http://amigans.net/)

---
redfox


Edited by redfox on 2008/5/8 4:55:00
Edited by redfox on 2008/5/8 4:57:36
Edited by redfox on 2008/5/8 5:18:57
Edited by redfox on 2008/5/8 5:20:19
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 2:00
From Alberta, Canada
Posts: 385
@joerg

So far I like many of the features of OWB 1.24.

One thing I've noticed is that if the webpage is longer than the OWB window and I scroll down to view some more of the webpage, then hit the back button or go to another webpage, the old one shifts down momentarily before the window updates. This is especially noticable if the window has a photo. The photo moves just before the window updates to the previous webpage or next webpage.

Demo ... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motorola_88000

Go to this webpage.
Click on photo of CPU to enlarge the photo.
Scroll down part way so the top of the photo is cutoff by the top of the OWB window.
Hit back button to go back to previous webpage.

On my machine, the bottom part of the photo drops down, then the window updates to the previous webpage.

With OWB 1.18, I see the window clear (can't remember if it goes white or black) before it updates to the previous webpage.

It is a minor thing, but it caught me off guard until I realized what was happening. It happens in v1.21 as well.

---
redfox
MicroA1 (750GX + 256MB RAM)


Edited by redfox on 2008/5/9 20:14:00
   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/29 1:00
Posts: 460
@redfox

Quote:
If I get a GR showing DSI error, and hit ignore button, the next program I run acts weird.


Not addressing the case with OWB specifically, but generally speaking, if you choose to ignore DSI errors, you risk running into system instability.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.24/1.3) bugs and feature requests
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/3/1 9:53
Posts: 138

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 2:00
From Alberta, Canada
Posts: 385
@PEB
Quote:

Not addressing the case with OWB specifically, but generally speaking, if you choose to ignore DSI errors, you risk running into system instability.


I'll keep that in mind. Usually I reset the machine after I get any kind of GR. Been there many times before during the last few years. This was just a "what if I just hit the ignore button and carry on" senario and I was able to reproduce the results.

Thanks,
redfox

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.24/1.3) bugs and feature requests
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3284
@joerg

On some sites, scrolling up and down makes the page disappear. this seems to be doing it consistently- scroll down and there is nothing new, scroll back up and what was showing has now gone.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/15 17:54
Posts: 36
@joerg

I find with 1.24 that when signed onto Yahoo groups if I scroll the down then back up the top of the page has been blanked out. Parts come back if i place the mouse pointer over them, but not the whole blanked out section.


renoir

g4 933mghz (came that way not overclocked) 512 mb ram 2 40gig hds.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/8 18:02
From Germany
Posts: 394
@Renoir

You can redraw the page by pressing <amiga><r>.
Maybe it helps.

   Report Go to top

Re: OWB (1.20/1.2) bugs and feature requests
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/10/25 10:21
From Gothenburg / Sweden
Posts: 1175
I told before that facebook works. However when i try to compose a message and then push the "send" button nothing happens. Same if i use tab to select the button. It gets selected but hitting return/enter doesnt do anything so the message doesnt get sent.

Fixable or is there some workaround with special keys :)

   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 7 8 9 (10) 11 12 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project