Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
226 user(s) are online (203 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 225

prowler, more...

Support us!

Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net




(1) 2 »


Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/15 7:13
Posts: 96
Hi people,

I had to reinstall AmigaOS after hard drive errors.

I have always had a working version of Timberwolf on my Pegasos 2 and tonight when I reinstalled my machine and Timberwolf from a fresh install it would dsi error at the splash screen.

After much searching for answers I found a thread that gave me the answer however very cryptic, so I thought I would clarify for everyone.

With the latest install file of Timberwolf, it seems to assume you have an existing copy of a previous release candidate, so when you install it you don't get certain directories and files needed for successful launch. So I found on Aminet the original release candidate and copied the needed files to my directory and it now launches.... HOORAY!

The directories missing and there included files are as follows.

searchplugins
plugins
modules
res
dictionaries
extensions
defaults
chrome
components

The link to the release candidate 1 is as follows

http://aminet.net/package/comm/www/timberwolf

Simply download and unpack, then copy the missing directories and there files to the Timberwolf directory and all should work.

Hope this helps a few people struggling as I did to get it to work.

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/24 18:49
Posts: 22
That fixed my Timberwolf woes too on an X1000, thanks!

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/5 15:07
From Italy
Posts: 624
@Fairdinkem

Start working to me too finally THANKS!

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/15 7:13
Posts: 96
Your welcome glad I could help.

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/2/22 10:27
From Braunschweig /DE and Poznan / PL
Posts: 81
@Fairdinkem

!!! Thansk !!! Works. :) Thanks again.

I had always DSI (Data Storage Interrupt): Crash occured in module libxul.so at address 0x7E4C79F4

_________________
Amiga 2000 2 MB Chip ECS, Blizzard 2060/60 MHz 128 MB Fast, Picasso II+, Deneb USB, 160 GB & DVD-RW / OS 3.9
Amiga 1200, Blizzard PPC 233/040 256 MB Fast, BVision / OS4.0, OS3.9
Pegasos II 1 GB Radeon 9250 / OS4.1
---
http://radzikowski.ovh.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 948
does anyone know where to get Timberwolf RC2 please?
RC1 is on Aminet
RC3 is on OS4Depot

edit.
Cancel this, I finally got TW rc3 up and running. 30mins so far and no issues at all.


Edited by ddni on 2014/1/28 10:55:55
_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/3/26 0:56
From Los Angeles
Posts: 120
@Fairdinkem

Wow incredible. I'll have to try this probably why I cant get it to work. I'll report back. Why in the world would they do this? The latest archive should be able to be install able stand alone

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/15 7:13
Posts: 96
@magnetic

Yeah I have no idea why they didn't make it a stand alone installer?

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:14
Posts: 624
@Fairdinkem

Quote:
Yeah I have no idea why they didn't make it a stand alone installer?


Not intentionally, these must have been overlooked during packaging. Which is... weird. I'll have a look as soon as I find the time, and make a new archive.

Thanks a lot of the the info, very helpful!

_________________
Seriously, if you do want to contact me write me a mail. You're more likely to get a reply then.
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/6/17 15:04
From Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)
Posts: 263
@Rogue

Quote:

Not intentionally, these must have been overlooked during packaging. Which is... weird. I'll have a look as soon as I find the time, and make a new archive.

Thanks a lot of the the info, very helpful!

thanks, rogue. and welcome back to the forums!

-- eliyahu

_________________
"How do you know I’m mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn’t have come here."
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/10/15 7:13
Posts: 96
@Rogue

Your welcome Rogue, I love Timberwolf I can't wait for the new released updated version you and Ssolie are working on.

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/19 22:44
From Tarsus IV
Posts: 548
The only problem I got with the latest TW is when I quit it, which gives me a DSI error after a while.

_________________
To Be A True Adventurer, You Ought To Play Real Text Adventures
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/3/26 0:56
From Los Angeles
Posts: 120
@Rogue

Hi. Is there going to be a new .lha released of latest Timberwolf?

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 21:26
From Planet Boing
Posts: 68
@magnetic

I don't think Rogue is the one working on it right now. (latest rumour says that timberwolf drove him mad)

I think it is Steven Solie now (poor fellow)

@edit

Didn't see Rogue posted in this thread


Edited by Hondo on 2014/2/9 18:16:40
_________________
X1000 - One Amiga to rule them all...
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 948
Hi all,

I just changed ISP from Sky to BT and had to re do my AmigaOS network connections (gateway, primary, secondary dns and static IP) I do not know what I did differently, but the startup to first page of all my amiga web browsers is now near instant. Netsurf now flies, Odyssey is at least 50% faster and the big bonus is, so far I have been unable to crash TW. In fact TW used to crash as startup, which I now suspect is because my old network was breaking it.

I wish I knew exactly what I have changed to fix the problems but I don't. All I can say is check your network settings!

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/3/26 0:56
From Los Angeles
Posts: 120
Is anyone going to fix the latest Timberwolf archive so new users can just download latest version and it works OOTB instead of having to hack it?

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 948
@magnetic

That would be nice to see.
Rogue committed to do it when he found the time. I guess he is too busy right now.

A bigger update of TW from ssolie would be more useful than a repackaging of TW.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3336
@ddni

Sad to say but it looks a dead project currently, latest version was released in September 2012, since then the only news we got (after 12 months) is that the project was taked by Ssolie (his idea was to make a little team to restart the project) but again since then another 3 or 4 months passed and again we didn't have any other news, neither a single words in forums ..

All that story It's not serious if you ask me, expecially considering all support and feedback they got by bug report and donations ..

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/3/26 0:56
From Los Angeles
Posts: 120
@ddni

We would all like to see an update of TW. For the moment, however, the latest archive needs to be fixed for noobs when they dl it from the interwebz so it works out of the box, not more frustration and work arounds.

   Report Go to top

Re: Solved why Timberwolf won't launch, DSI error.
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/26 23:16
From Canada
Posts: 986
@samo79
Quote:
Sad to say but it looks a dead project currently...

That is a load of B.S. I was working on Timberwolf before Christmas and have been distracted since. Simple as that.

_________________
ExecSG Team Lead
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project