Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
51 user(s) are online (35 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 50

orgin, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3553
OK, so I have the Warp3D Southern Islands (Radeond HD) driver installed from the Enhancer Software package.

I tried Payback, and to my disappointment it doesn't work at all. (Menu graphics are corrupt, and then crashes when trying to start the game.) Since it works fine in "software rendering" mode, it's obviously Warp3D SI that it doesn't work with.

What other Warp3D games have people tried? Which worked & which did not?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2010/6/17 14:04
From Waterbury, Connecticut (USA)
Posts: 259
@ChrisH

all of the first-person shooter games i enjoy work just fine on my X5K and radeon HD 7750. prboomgl, quake, quake2, quake3, quake darkplaces, quake2 HD....

very nice. very fluid.

-- eliyahu

_________________
"How do you know I’m mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn’t have come here."
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 18:52
From Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 1171
A few more:

Jedi Acedemy,
Odamex,
smokin guns,
tailtale,
gish,
Gorky17 de3mo,
lariad - a space adventure,
cube,
frogatto.


_________________
Amiga user since 1985
AOS4, A-EON, IBrowse & Alinea Betatester

Ps. I hate the new amigans website. <shudder>
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2012/8/14 12:51
From France
Posts: 1495

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 20:35
From Poland
Posts: 143
Naverball

Quake 2

Quake 3

Gish

X-Moto

GLTron

PrBoomGL

Chromium BSU

Foobilard

Tilt'n'Roll

VoxelNoid

Lugaru

Open JK

Frogato

Warzone 2100

Homeworld

Speed Dreams

Torcs

Hexen 2 GL

I only had problems with Duke Nukem 3D (graphics corruption screenmode 32 - 16 Bit, 8Bit work OK)

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2223
@ChrisH
Quote:
I tried Payback, and to my disappointment it doesn't work at all. (Menu graphics are corrupt, and then crashes when trying to start the game.) Since it works fine in "software rendering" mode, it's obviously Warp3D SI that it doesn't work with.

Nope. Payback's own FAQ has entries about the PPC and Warp3D versions being unstable.

Another issue with old Warp3D games is that several rely on driver bugs that existed in some early drivers. Payback has an entry on the Wazp3D page with a few config options, so there's a good chance that it's one of them.

Quote:

What other Warp3D games have people tried? Which worked & which did not?

Pretty much all MiniGL games/software works. Older stuff is more hit and miss. For example, I tried Wipeout 2097 using ReWarp, and it simply crashed. ReWarp is still a work-in-progress, so hopefully that'll change.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 16:55
Posts: 283
I tried getting the OS4 versions of SopoBlock and d3GNOP a few days ago but the furthest I got was a grey screen. I have tried any of the 68k versions yet.

The game can be found here if you want to try getting them working.

http://www.nic.fi/~varsa/games.html


   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/6/3 12:49
Posts: 259
Hello

You can try my Aminet/PatchWarp3D (only) when you encounter old warp3D 68k progs that dont works on OS4

Warp3D v4 (os3/68k) and warp3D v5 (os4/ppc) are not 100% compatible as some old v4 functions may not be implemented in new v5 drivers

Note: There is a similar problem with Morphos/Os4Emu that dont implements (wrap) the new v5 functions but only the old v4 ones so allowing only the old 3D games & demos to run on Morphos

Alain Thellier - Wazp3D

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3553
@Hans Quote:
Nope. Payback's own FAQ has entries about the PPC and Warp3D versions being unstable.

But I'm not using the PPC version! I'm using the 68k version. (The PPC version lacks sound on OS4, as it directly pokes Paula for speed.) So it still seems to be some incompatibility between Warp3DSI & Payback.

Quote:
Another issue with old Warp3D games is that several rely on driver bugs that existed in some early drivers. Payback has an entry on the Wazp3D page with a few config options, so there's a good chance that it's one of them.

Is there any chance of either hard-coding such work-arounds for specific games, or (probably better) allowing the user to enable them on a PROGDIR:Warp3DSI.cfg basis?

IMHO, Payback is one of the best 3D games on the Amiga (and it's also home-grown, rather than a port of something you can play on Windows).

@thellier
Thanks for your suggestions, but sadly it doesn't help :(

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:30
From Finland
Posts: 1707
@ChrisH

Quote:

Quote:

Nope. Payback's own FAQ has entries about the PPC and Warp3D versions being unstable.


But I'm not using the PPC version! I'm using the 68k version. (The PPC version lacks sound on OS4, as it directly pokes Paula for speed.) So it still seems to be some incompatibility between Warp3DSI & Payback.


He did say that according to the FAQ PPC and Warp3D versions are unstable, so also the one you are using.

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2223
@ChrisH

Quote:
Is there any chance of either hard-coding such work-arounds for specific games, or (probably better) allowing the user to enable them on a PROGDIR:Warp3DSI.cfg basis?

As salass00 said, the Warp3D version is unstable too. W3D_SI already supports the old V4 Warp3D API as specified in the documentation, and I'm not going to add workarounds for buggy software.

Quote:
IMHO, Payback is one of the best 3D games on the Amiga (and it's also home-grown, rather than a port of something you can play on Windows).

See if you can convince the author to update it, or give an able developer source-code access. Perhaps Payback 2 might even be an option via Warp3D Nova and the GLES2 wrapper.

Hans


Edited by Hans on 2016/10/4 3:56:13
_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 5882
@All
Just to avoid creating the same kind of thread wants to ask: is there anyone, who was able to run successfully X-Moto game on X5000? Even with original MiniGL and co? For me, it always crashes when I choose a "quick start" in the game.

And another question, I read that "Torcs" plays on x1000 very smooth. But for me, on x5000, it just unbelievable slow. Like, dunno, 5-7 fps. Is anyone on x5000 running successfully Torcs?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/6/11 1:19
From Germany
Posts: 40
@kas1e

Quote:
is there anyone, who was able to run successfully X-Moto game on X5000? Even with original MiniGL and co? For me, it always crashes when I choose a "quick start" in the game.


Tried it some minutes ago. X-Moto Version Info: 1.3 (15.07.2010) - Last changed 24th June 2012. Also crashes on my X5000 + R9 280X. But since it is in my X5000 Games directory it might worked before Updating something.

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 5882
@IamSONIC
And it didn't contain any dynamic sections (so use no SOBJs). Pretty strange.

@All
Is on x1000 X-Moto still works?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/6/11 1:19
From Germany
Posts: 40
@kas1e

how do you check on OS4 a binary for SOBJs usage?

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 5882
@IamSONIC

Via "readelf" (its part of SDK), with "-d" flag (to show dinamic sections of binary)

For example if binaray didn't have dinamic sections it will be something like this:

Quote:

7/0.Work:games/X-Moto> readelf -d X-Moto

There is no dynamic section in this file.



If dynamic sections are present (so SOBJs in use), then it will be like this:

Quote:

7/0.Work:games/Frogatto> readelf -d game.exe

Dynamic section at offset 0x840700 contains 19 entries:
Tag Type Name/Value
0x00000001 (NEEDED) Shared library: [libstdc++.so]
0x00000001 (NEEDED) Shared library: [libboostyGfx.so]
0x00000001 (NEEDED) Shared library: [libgcc.so]
0x00000001 (NEEDED) Shared library: [libc.so]
0x00000004 (HASH) 0x1000108
0x00000005 (STRTAB) 0x1003774
0x00000006 (SYMTAB) 0x1001274
0x0000000a (STRSZ) 38527 (bytes)
0x0000000b (SYMENT) 16 (bytes)
0x00000015 (DEBUG) 0x0
0x00000003 (PLTGOT) 0x1787000
0x00000002 (PLTRELSZ) 3144 (bytes)
0x00000014 (PLTREL) RELA
0x00000017 (JMPREL) 0x100cfa4
0x00000007 (RELA) 0x100cdf4
0x00000008 (RELASZ) 3576 (bytes)
0x00000009 (RELAENT) 12 (bytes)
0x6000000e (AMIGAOS_DYNVERSION) 0x2
0x00000000 (NULL) 0x0




_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D *SI* game compatibility?
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/6/11 1:19
From Germany
Posts: 40
@kas1e

Thx! works

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project