Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
64 user(s) are online (37 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 64

more...

Support us!

Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net




« 1 2 3 (4) 5 6 7 8 »


Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Site Builder
Joined:
2006/12/2 23:57
From Athens/Dublin
Posts: 619
@tfrieden

I just tried the Timberwolf RC2 on a FFS partition on my X1000, without replacing any so lib. It seems that it doesn't have the timing/freezing prblem that I had with it on a SFS partition. It works faster now. Although it does this freeze but it lasts a few seconds.

- The bookmarks work fine on FFS partition too.
- Over links the cursor becomes a hand, something that doesn't happen if the timberwolf runs on SFS partition.
- The CPU isn't always at 100%, even if you do nothing with Timberwolf.

So, I think that the filesystem change the behavior of Timberwolf drastically.

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@tfrieden
I ran my test with TImberwolf on an SFS02 partition.
P.S. I'm running the start script from a shell and I get an "Unfreed signals" error message in the shell when I quit Timbersolf.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@Walkero

Indeed. When I try to use TW RC-2 on a SFS/0, SFS/2 or JXFS partition, there is this strange freeze waiting ages for a page to load.

I tested with a FFS2 partition and TW RC-2 becomes usable (though with many HD accesses).

So you must be right when you say that there is some kinf of conflict regarding filesystem.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@K-L
Quote:
So you must be right when you say that there is some kinf of conflict regarding filesystem.

Maybe on your AmigaOne XE but on my SAM Flex running Timberwolf from an FFS partition makes no difference; it opens it's window and brings up the Grim Reaper with a stack trace ending in Cairo lib.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 0:37
From Wellington
Posts: 298
Just tested TW RC2 on my FFS boot partition. Unfortnately, it was totally unsuable. Extremely slow to start up (over 40 seconds), unreponsive with long periods of inactivity.

So, for me at least, it works fine on a SFS partion (with the 3 RC1 files as detailed above) and on a JXFS partition (with the bookmarks proviso).

TrevorD


_________________
AmigaOne X1000 betatester
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/7/14 18:00
From Utah, USA
Posts: 238
How do we continue to make donations now that the Bounty has ended?

_________________
Sam460 : X1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/28 18:19
Posts: 217
@logicalheart

Quote:
How do we continue to make donations now that the Bounty has ended?


http://www.friedenhq.org/

Quote:
Support us


#6

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@Xenic : Yes, on my AmigaOne (typing right now from TW RC-2 with the *.so file from RC-2, not the RC-1). It seems there is another trouble with the Sam440 (I haven't any FFS2 partition on my Sam440 to test).

@Trevor : Weird. Here, I have none of these trouble on my FFS2 partition (I've got them only from SFS, SFS/2 and JXFS partitions).

@Thread : I'ven been using RC-2 without any of the RC-1 *.so files for a while from my FFS2 partition and it's been really working great so far.

I hope the brothers can come across the problem.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 2:30
From Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 191
@number6...

The PayPal button is there but the link isn't properly set up. I just get the PayPal home page.

Donation money ready and waiting...

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/7/14 18:00
From Utah, USA
Posts: 238
@number6

Thanks, but I had already looked at their website and as Greg stated, it just takes you to the Paypal site with no method to donate.

_________________
Sam460 : X1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 18:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 126
Dear Thomas

Created a FFS partition on my Sam460 and replaced libcairo and libpixman from RC1 and install TW RC2 there.

On FFS partition, there are no waiting / stalling issues when browsing pages.

CPU isn't always 100% it changes between 87% - 45%..

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@SinamSam460

If you use a FFS2 partition, you don't have to use RC-1 files. It's counterproductive.

I use TW RC-2 without any modification.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 0:37
From Wellington
Posts: 298
OK, switched my A1-X1000 back on and now TW RC2 is running fine on my FFS partition. Go figure?

I think it is marginally slower compared to the SFS and JXFS partition versions but still very usable. Even bookmarks seem to work OK after I restored from an earlier version.

CPU usage varies between 5% and 100% depending on the TW activity, but generally hovers around 20-40%.The machine is overall more responsive.

TrevorD

Edit: This is a vanilla RC2 installation with NO file substitution.



Edited by TrevorDick on 2012/7/29 14:14:27
Edited by TrevorDick on 2012/7/29 14:15:07
_________________
AmigaOne X1000 betatester
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
Trevor : yes, as I told you

I've been using TW RC-2 for hours since its release on my FFS2 partition (I optimized it in order to gain some speed) and did not get any crash or freeze.

I tried on Sam440 but the Grim Reapers occurs whenever I try to load TW.

So, to enjoy TW RC-2 fully, you'll need an AmigaOne XE, MicroAone or an AmigaOne X1000 WITH a FFS2 partition.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 14:11
From Germany
Posts: 733
Quote:

K-L wrote:
Trevor : yes, as I told you

I've been using TW RC-2 for hours since its release on my FFS2 partition (I optimized it in order to gain some speed) and did not get any crash or freeze.

I tried on Sam440 but the Grim Reapers occurs whenever I try to load TW.

So, to enjoy TW RC-2 fully, you'll need an AmigaOne XE, MicroAone or an AmigaOne X1000 WITH a FFS2 partition.

It seems that the failure is the filesystem

_________________
Amiga600/Vampire2/PrismaMegaMix​/32GB CF Card/2x Rys Mk2/A604n/IndivisionECS/Gotek
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 18:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 126
@K-L

I think new libcairo isn't compatible with Sam460, so I had to replace it..

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@SinaSam460

Indeed, on AMCC 4x0 CPUs, there is a bug.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 2:00
From Alberta, Canada
Posts: 308
Please note that I have a MicroA1 (µA1-C) with 750 GX CPU and 256 MB RAM. I am limited by the limitations of my system, so I may not see the same results as others who have more RAM. Timberwolf uses a very large amount of RAM on this tiny system and I do not have enough RAM to use the program to its full potential.

I installed RC2 on my small FFS2 partition.
Every launch ended in a GR.

Working better after I replaced libcairo, libpixman-1 and libsqlite3.so with the files from the RC1 release.

When I launch Timberwolf from my FFS2 partition, the main browser window opens after the expected delay, but then the program appears to freeze for about 10 more seconds while the system is loading files. After this delay, the disk activity LED blinks about once a second.

The browser seems to be usable after all the loading stops.

---
redfox
MicroA1 (µA1-C) with 750 GX CPU and 256 MB RAM
AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4


Edited by redfox on 2012/7/29 23:03:37
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/3/15 2:00
From Alberta, Canada
Posts: 308
I have a MicroA1 (µA1-C) with 750 GX CPU and 256 MB RAM.

I copied my modified Timberwolf drawer over to one of my JXFS partitions.
This is a Modified RC2 install, relaced libcairo, libpixman-1 and libsqlite3.so with the files from the RC1 release.

For *me* Timberwolf works best WITHOUT the RANDOM: device.

---
redfox
MicroA1 (µA1-C) with 750 GX CPU and 256 MB RAM
AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4

(corrected copy/paste error regarding .so files from RC1)


Edited by redfox on 2012/7/30 1:48:21
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC2 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 14:23
From England
Posts: 3553
@tfrieden Quote:
review your bug reports on the bugtracker, and if you think that a bug needs to be fixed, change it to "Medium" or even "High" priority

I don't think it is possible for us to change the priority of something we reported? At least I couldn't see how to do it

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top


« 1 2 3 (4) 5 6 7 8 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project