Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
53 user(s) are online (38 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 52

bigmac, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

[SOLVED] AmigaOS 4.1/Sam440ep Network help needed
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
Hi,

I'm a complete noob with Amiga networking. I still use dial-up for my Internet connection and I've never had an Ethernet connection on an Amiga.

I am currently using AmigaOS 4.1 Update 2 on a Sam440ep.

I tried to make me first Ethernet connection tonight, with an old router that a friend gave me. I connected the network cable to the Ethernet port that is closest to the edge of the Sam (port 1 on the diagram in the Sam User Guide), and the other end of the cable to the router.

The router is an AOpen AOR-401M 4-Port 10/100Mbps Ethernet Broadband Router.

Anyway, I tried to do the connection wizard thing, with automatic configuration. I chose device 0. I get error messages (I have put '?' over the MAC address):

Fri Jun 18 22:39:32 2010 [error]: Interface "PPC440EP_ETH" configuration failed with station address = 00:50:C2:??:??:?? (5,10193, Bad address, Unknown SANA-II wire error 10193).

and

AddNetInterface: Could not add interface "PPC440EP_ETH" (Input/output error).

Any idea what is going on?

(When I plugged it into my Windows PC it recognized a network and I was able to login to the administration page of the router, so the cable and router seem to be good.)

Edited by robo-ant on 2010/6/19 21:27:28
Go to top
Re: AmigaOS 4.1/Sam440ep Network help needed
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
@robo-ant

Use "Internet" (in the Prefs drawer) to create a new interface, if you are using the usual DHCP, then there is very little configuration to do. It's remarkably simple.