Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
93 user(s) are online (66 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 93

more...

Headlines






[SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/3 12:06
From South France
Posts: 763
@Everyone :
I've installed new Joerg update for WarpOSEmu and now GLQuakeWOS start ...
But now it bugs:
- Only enemies, weapons are available, background/walls/ceils/sky are not here (only black)
- Available 3D objects appear in non textured mode (only colored to grey)
- double buffer isn't cleared so objects appear several times ...

it running on a SAM440EP ...

does someone have any clue ?

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:54
From Sanremo
Posts: 1858
@freddix

At the Moment there is a problem in the 3D drivers for sam, is a known problem and the Friedens are working on it

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/11/3 12:06
From South France
Posts: 763
@nubechecorre
Ok
Thank you for the information.

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:14
Posts: 624
@nubechecorre

That doesn't have anything to do with the SAM. There are general incompatibilities with WOS programs and Radeons. But plainly, for the few WOS programs around where there is no AmigaOS 4.x native version, I am not going to bother with these.

The problems on the SAM regarding Warp3D programs will manifest itself in false colors (greenish tint etc).

_________________
Seriously, if you do want to contact me write me a mail. You're more likely to get a reply then.
   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/23 0:31
Posts: 25
@freddix

How much up to date is this QW client?
Can you join a "normal" QW server with it today?

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/1 10:38
From Amigavatikan
Posts: 176
@freddix

Why doesn't use you the OS4 version of GLQuake?
http://os4depot.net/index.php?functio ... file=game/fps/glquake.lha

_________________
AmigaOne XE G3 750FX 800Mhz/2 GB Ram + Radeon 9000PRO 128MB +AmigaOS4.1
A4000T CyberstormPPC 604e-200Mhz/060/128MB+CybervisionPPC 8MB +AmigaOS4
and anymore other Amigas...
   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:54
From Sanremo
Posts: 1858
@AmigaPapst

Because it is all green

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 19:07
From Germany
Posts: 1022
@Rogue

Quote:
That doesn't have anything to do with the SAM. There are general incompatibilities with WOS programs and Radeons.
No only Radeons, although for example hardware 3D in Heretic II worked correctly with 2 or 3 beta versions of the OS4 Voodoo3 Warp3D driver it doesn't with the release versions.
Shogo doesn't work correctly with hardware 3D on Voodoo3 either.
FreeSpace does, but only after changing some of the default settings (en-/disabling some 3D gfx options).

Quote:
But plainly, for the few WOS programs around where there is no AmigaOS 4.x native version, I am not going to bother with these.
AFAIK the only Warp3D game without software 3D support is WipeOut2097 and that one is working (the 3D gfx parts, not everything else of it). On Voodoo3 without any problems, and IIRC only very minor gfx errors were reported on Radeon cards.
The other 3D games support software rendering, and since they were written for A1200/A4000 with slow CPUs (150-200 MHz 603/604), slow 3D gfx cards (Permedia2) and WarpOS which slowed everything down even more with it's m68k<>PPC context switches they are probably faster with software rendering on a SAM440 than they were with hardware 3D on the classic Amigas.

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/11/12 8:44
From Germany
Posts: 161
@rogue

Quote:
But plainly, for the few WOS programs around where there is no AmigaOS 4.x native version, I am not going to bother with these.


There's no AOS4 verson of all hyperion games (Shogo,HereticII,Freespace..) or am i wrong?

The only Game, I'm aware of which comes in a AOS4 version is Quake. But in Quake AOS4, textures are missing, so you can't play it. GlQuake_AOS4 works, but has strang drops in the framerates, such that GLQuakeWOS on AOS4.0 classics works better then GLQuake_AOS4 on SAM & AOS4.1.
Also, the AddOn-Pack Malice doesn't work with any AOS4-Quake-version.

So, for games WOS is still a must.

@joerg

Quote:
AFAIK the only Warp3D game without software 3D support is WipeOut2097 and that one is working (the 3D gfx parts, not everything else of it). On Voodoo3 without any problems, and IIRC only very minor gfx errors were reported on Radeon cards.


True, on AOS4.0 and Voodoo 4500 it works great. On AOS4.1 & Sam it works amazingly fast and only minor gfx errors are there. But on Sam & AOS4.1 it crashes very soon. There seem to be a cruial differnce between warposemu on AOS4.0classic&A4000/Voodoo and AOS4.1&SAM.


nexus

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:14
Posts: 624
@joerg

Quote:
AFAIK the only Warp3D game without software 3D support is WipeOut2097 and that one is working (the 3D gfx parts, not everything else of it). On Voodoo3 without any problems, and IIRC only very minor gfx errors were reported on Radeon cards.


The problems on the Radeon are due to color keying. When Sam Jordan ported Wipeout, he added chroma keying to the Warp3D API but did it in a way that only works well for Permedia cards, and cannot be reliably reproduced for Radeons.

I had intended to look into a workaround, but never got the time for it.

_________________
Seriously, if you do want to contact me write me a mail. You're more likely to get a reply then.
   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:14
Posts: 624
@nexus

Quote:
There's no AOS4 verson of all hyperion games (Shogo,HereticII,Freespace..) or am i wrong?


There is a version of Freespace, but without 3D hardware support, which isn't too much of a problem since the game already ran in software mode on the 604, and works fast enough on any next-gen hardware.

Quote:
So, for games WOS is still a must.


Are you talking about Quake I or II? I am quite sure that there is a new version of Quake II. No idea about Quake I, I somewhat given up on brown castles and brown sewers.

_________________
Seriously, if you do want to contact me write me a mail. You're more likely to get a reply then.
   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/11/12 8:44
From Germany
Posts: 161
@Rogue

Quote:

Rogue wrote:
@nexus

Quote:
There's no AOS4 verson of all hyperion games (Shogo,HereticII,Freespace..) or am i wrong?


There is a version of Freespace, but without 3D hardware support, which isn't too much of a problem since the game already ran in software mode on the 604, and works fast enough on any next-gen hardware.


Thanks for that hint. I'll give it a try!

Quote:

Quote:
So, for games WOS is still a must.


Are you talking about Quake I or II? I am quite sure that there is a new version of Quake II. No idea about Quake I, I somewhat given up on brown castles and brown sewers.


Yes, Quake I. The Quake-AddON MALICE is the greatest quake-game ever . It does not work with Quake_AOS4 (with or without gl on SAM or A4000. A GreamReaper appears and the game crashes). But MALICE does work with GLQuakeWOS on AOS4.0/A4000/Voodoo4500.

QuakeII, I still have to give it a chance

nexus.

   Report Go to top

Re: [SAM] GLQuakeWOS Beta 10 and Amiga OS 4.1
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/6 21:18
From Michigan
Posts: 1027
Hi @joerg
No only Radeons
GLQuake with the new WOS library runs fine, except the sound is more rawer. There is no green problem. My Quake 1 source is from 'ClickBoom'. Oh, I have a PowerColor 7000 gfx card. I don't think this card was coded by ATI.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project