Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
77 user(s) are online (59 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 76

walkero, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 (2) 3 4 5 6 »


Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1309
I tried WBexplorer for no more than 30 seconds. Just after I started it I resized the window and it as so sloooow

Also the program registered itself in Ringhio without tell ing me. Then I had an error message on each system start.
Why WBex didn't ask me if I wanted that?

Well, I'll continue using DirMeUp

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Illusionist
Joined:
2006/11/29 4:47
Posts: 412
@kas1e

That's much better! :)

Attach file:



jpg  shot2.jpg (76.50 KB)
102_590c6967ac48f.jpg 700X500 px

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/2/23 13:49
From Finland, the land of Santa, sauna, sisu and salmiakki
Posts: 1056
@mritter0

Quote:
Exif thumbs

Metadata library (on os4depot) can parse exif thumbnails.

_________________
Rock lobster bit me, so excuse me.
X1000 + AmigaOS 4.1 FE. Be authentic.
"Anyone can build a fast CPU. The trick is to build a fast system." - Seymour Cray
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
@Elwood Quote:
Also the program registered itself in Ringhio without tell ing me. Then I had an error message on each system start.

What error message? Then maybe he can fix it...

Quote:
Why WBex didn't ask me if I wanted that?

Because there is NO reason for asking that. Ringhio is designed so that (for all programs that can use it) they register themselves with Ringhio when they start.

And you can also configure Ringhio to ignore messages from certain apps, so even less reason for programs to ask users if they should use Ringhio!

Quote:
Well, I'll continue using DirMeUp

Well, I shall continue to use Filer... but I shall be keeping an eye on Workbench Explorer. It's very good for a first version/release.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4192
@klesterjr
Looks like some swap bits problems .. I seen this on winuae from time to time in some apps.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4192
@mritter0
Quote:

1. Do you mean in the listbrowser or down below? If listbrowser, it will always be there. If down below you can toggle it off/on from menu or gadget View->Thumbnail.


Yeah, i mean that one below. In Listbrowser it is ok of course. But through as ChrisH point out, disabling Thumbails remove that area at bottom, but it keep big empty space, for about 3-4 strings of empty area, while will be good to shrink it till end. I mean, that how it ow:

Resized Image

And that how it can be if remove that non used extra space:

Resized Image

Quote:

2. Would love to, but listbrowser.gadget can't do single cell selection (like MUI can).


Probably i wrongly say what i mean: I mean, "View style" have all the stuff , and will be good to have "Show as icons" there, as in Filer (it very handy to disable/enable icons show). In your programm i need to go to preferences, icons, and enable "Show Actual Icons". It will be good (imho) to have it just in the "View Style".

But maybe its just matter of taste and learing of programm. If option is there, then in general its already ok if you can setup it as you wish.

Quote:

3. Window menu -> Open Workbench window


No no, options is there, but it works a bit non-intuitive. I mean, just go to "work". So you inside. Now you want it opens in workbench window: and you can' , until you make any directory or file active. And then, it open only what is maked active opened, not in what you right now.

Why i take Filer as example : there is very intuitive in that terms. You go to any directory, move mouse on lister, press "RMB" , choice "open in workbench window", and it opens exactly that directory in which lister are. Not other / selected one.


Also some more questions and feature requests if you doesn't mind :)

1). Add "close gadget" to the preferences window too.

2). In the preferences/columns you have all entries listed as possible to enable disable, but:
-- image ones in all 3 columns can't be even selected
-- name ones can be selected, but can't be enabled/disabled.

So if they shouldn't then suggestion to make the looks "ghosted".

3). Is it possible to change size of the looks of icons ? I mean i set View/Show actual icons, and all icons a bit "small". I want to make them of my size for example. Is it possible ? If not, it possible to add such functionality ?

4). As many said and as i say previosly as well, resizing of the main window are slow indeed.

In general, after using it a bit more, i can see that there already quite of time spend, and it indeed looks proffesional and feature rich.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/28 22:14
Posts: 310
@mritter0

ok, it seems to take ages to load dirs with big pictures due to SLOOOW file recognoition...
A directrory with many pictures but tiny was scanned MUCH faster than another with same number but BIG pictures...

I suggest you to check:

http://gvsoft.no-ip.org/exif/exif-explanation.html

to have a clue on what Exif metadata was...

Than user the library suggested by TSK et voilà :)

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/5/1 17:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 927
@mritter0

Looks like a very promising project! Two small GUI-related suggestions: 1) Below the toolbar, leave only one dividing bar (get rid of the other one) - two bars increase visual clutter without adding much to the dividing function. 2) In the bottom information panel, you seem to waste a lot of window estate. I'd suggest making the first listbrowser reach the bottom of the window (users will thank you as soon as their list of Favorites grows), and align the information panel with the second listbrowser.


_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
@Elwood Quote:
Also the program registered itself in Ringhio without tell ing me. Then I had an error message on each system start.

Is this the error message you're getting from "RinghioServer" after OS4 boots?:
Quote:
CHARSETCONVERT: Zero length FROM file "ram:tmp.txt".
C:Charsetconvert failed returncode 20

I'm suddently getting this also, but I didn't immediately connect it with me having used/installed Workbench Explorer...

edit: I wonder if it's something to do with it's "description" for Ringhio being "(null)" (instead of "No description available" as seen for many other programs)?

How did you manage to fix this error?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 411
@ChrisH

It appears sporadically here. Haven't figured out why sometimes it's triggered and most times not.

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1309
@ChrisH
Quote:
Is this the error message you're getting from "RinghioServer" after OS4 boots?: Quote: CHARSETCONVERT: Zero length FROM file "ram:tmp.txt". C:Charsetconvert failed returncode 20


Exactly.

To get rid of it, I opened Prefs/Notifications and I removed WBex notification.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
My description is not blank:

if ((appID=IApplication->RegisterApplication(PROJECT_NAME2,
        
REGAPP_URLIdentifier,                "workbenchexplorer.com",
        
REGAPP_Description,                    SAK_LocaleString(MSG_ABOUT_TAG_LINE),
        
REGAPP_NoIcon,                        appShowIcon,
        
REGAPP_AppIconInfo,                    AppIconInfo,
        
REGAPP_FileName,                    ProgramComplete,
        
REGAPP_HasIconifyFeature,            TRUE,
        
REGAPP_HasPrefsWindow,                TRUE,
        
REGAPP_CanCreateNewDocs,            TRUE,
        
REGAPP_CustomPrefsFileName,            ProgramPrefsFile,
    
TAG_END)))


This is how I submit messages:

Result=IApplication->Notify(appID,
        
APPNOTIFY_Title,                    Title,
        
APPNOTIFY_Text,                        VABuffer,
        
APPNOTIFY_PubScreenName,            ScreenName,
        
APPNOTIFY_ImageFile,                ImageFile,        // 32x32 max
        
APPNOTIFY_ImageVertAlign,            1,
        
APPNOTIFY_BackMsg,                    BackMsg,
    
TAG_DONE);



_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
@trixie
1) I have had it both ways. It's a cosmetic issue.

2) It depends on how narrow the user has the window. Most names will show nicely, but once you get longer names they will be cut off. I use a fairly wide window so it is a possibility. Made a note.

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
@mritter0 Quote:
My description is not blank:

Your code does not actually prove that. I suggest you check what is returned by "SAK_LocaleString(MSG_ABOUT_TAG_LINE)". I'm guessing it's NULL for some reason...

You may need to try changing your Prefs/Locale. My preferred languages are "english", followed by "english-british".

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/5/1 17:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 927
@mritter0

Quote:
I have had it both ways. It's a cosmetic issue.

It is. But in complex GUIs small things tend to add up, so let's not dismiss "cosmetic issues" offhand.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 359
@ChrisH

Seems Ringhio+C:CharsetConvert problem if input file RAM:TMP.TXT has 0 bytes it shows such error (it just says that input file is 0 bytes size). Try this under Shell/CLI:
echo >ram:tmp.txt
C:Charsetconvert FROM ram:tmp.txt FROMCHARSET iso-8859-15 TOCHARSET utf-8 TO ram:out.txt

Maybe Ringhio should first check if such file isn't empty/0 bytes, or use OS4 functions for UTF8 conversion.

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 120
jabirulo came up with a solution for the Ringhio error. If the word 'to' is in the description you have to put the entire text in quotes. the FROM arg is not parsing correctly and stops at 'to' thinking it is the argument TO.

So, it is an issue with Ringhio, NOT Workbench Explorer.

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3482
@mritter0 Quote:
jabirulo came up with a solution for the Ringhio error

If I'm being nit-picky I thought it was me that suggested the solution... (But jabirulo did identify the cause of the problem, without which I would not have made my suggestion.)


Edited by ChrisH on 2017/5/8 9:20:24
_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 359
@ChrisH

Yes, the fix is yours!!!!

Mine was only suggesting/identifying posible cause.

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer feedback
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/5/1 17:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 927
@mritter0

On my (rather slow) machine it is quite noticeable that when WExplorer quits, you first dispose of the gadget objects and then close the window. It is generally safer, and looks better, to call WM_CLOSE on your window before GUI disposal. The assumed logic and underlying metaphor is that housekeeping is something done behind closed doors, not for the user's eyes to see.



Edited by trixie on 2017/5/8 9:29:14
_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top


« 1 (2) 3 4 5 6 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project