Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
44 user(s) are online (19 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 44

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 (2) 3 »


Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Quote:
GL_EYE_PLANE can now be correctly set, but I couldn't fix glTexGen*(), so the default sky remains broken


Perhaps it's food for HunoPPC ...
About Frogatto the problem is that since the newest 2.20 the game become almost unplayable under Sam440, there are now a lot of slowdown in pratically all areas of the game.
According to the MiniGL's readme Hans wrote to have fixed a lot missing triangles elsewhere and this is good because indeed there were various area that was simply unrendered, however this create a side issue related to the game's speed :-/

I wonder if you can found a sort of compromise on this


   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
Sorry, I can't do anything about performance related issues.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Ok... :-/ aniway any though about a public release for test ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
By public release you mean updating the one on os4depot or just uploading minigl.library somewhere with the latest fixes to test PrBoom+?

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Well if you consider it mature enough for a public release why not ? Go upload it to OS4Depot !
Otherwise would be good if you can upload here a beta version to test

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@BSzili

Quote:
By public release you mean updating the one on os4depot or just uploading minigl.library somewhere with the latest fixes to test PrBoom+?

Os4depot won't let just anyone overwrite files. Since I'm the one who has uploaded MiniGL updates in the past, they'll contact me to confirm any update. So please contact me ahead of time.


@Samo79
Quote:
According to the MiniGL's readme Hans wrote to have fixed a lot missing triangles elsewhere and this is good because indeed there were various area that was simply unrendered, however this create a side issue related to the game's speed :-/

Correct. In this case we have a choice between correct rendering, or fast rendering.

Frogatto could probably be sped up by modifying it to use GL_SMOOTH instead of GL_FLAT shading. Flat shading is slow with Warp3D because triangles have to be sent one at a time. W3D_SI users will probably notice less of a slowdown, because the driver does a reasonable job of working around this.


Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@Hans
Of course, that's why I asked. AROS-Archives works the same way. I was only "gauging" whether there was an interest for a new version. It's probably time to start updating the readme.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
You can try PrBoom+ with this one: https://www.dropbox.com/s/8dqic6epyg5c5jt/minigl.library.debug?dl=0
Don't forget to change gl_skymode, or enable mouselook.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@Hans

Quote:
Frogatto could probably be sped up by modifying it to use GL_SMOOTH instead of GL_FLAT shading


Ok eventually i ask Huno about this ..

@BSzili

Quote:
Don't forget to change gl_skymode, or enable mouselook.


Tested a bit, trasparence issue seems better now, but not completely fixed .. in some levels i still see some trasparent enemies

About the sky setting if i set:

"gl_skymode" --> 0 (i got a black sky)
"gl_skymode" --> 1 (i got a red sky)

Didn't test the mouselook option, will check later

Btw i did also a quick test in IoQuake3 and with your library it seems a bit slower compared to the official 2.20 ... not mutch but i obtain nearly -0.7/-1 less FPS in timedemo, maybe just because the debug mode ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
gl_skymode 0 is the automatic mode, which changes between 2 and 3 depending whether you have mouselook enabled. 1 disables the sky entirely. 2 is the one which uses the homogeneous coordinate "trick", and is broken. You should try 3 or 4.
Could you send me a save game, or tell me the WAD name and level number on where I should look for the transparency issues?
I didn't change anything that should make things faster or slower, so I can't comment on that. There are a few debug prints here and there, but they shouldn't pop in during gameplay.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Yeah, mate thanks for the tips, i set:

gl_skymode 3
movement_mouselook 1

And with that setting the sky are now visible again (and also good) !

About the wad used at the moment i'm doing my test with: Scythe
http://www.wad-archive.com/wad/Scythe

The trasparent problem is visible mostly on "Level 4" but not only on that, still also some little glitch related to the colors, sometimes a red text will become blue and viceversa ..

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
I can't get the game to open any WAD other than FreeDoom, even though it's not even present in the drawer. The -iwad argument has no effect. Could you tell me how to open SCYTHE.WAD?

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Check the new PM

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
I'll be damned if I see anything wrong with the transparent enemies. Could you make a screenshot showing the problem?

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Sure, here the transparent enemies effect
http://s23.postimg.org/lyaglg2x7/prboomplus_trasparent.png

And the same kind of problem also in text
http://s2.postimg.org/3t5ajcx2h/prboomplus_trasparent_text.png

There are also a couple of other problems:

Sometimes the screen turn black, sometimes happen when you switch from a level to another but also when you are browsing the option (after pressing ESC)

Another problem is related to the text's colors that for a moment can turn to blue instead to be red

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
Can't reproduce. This looks like the very bug that was fixed by r485.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Me really sorry, i did a mistake
I forgot to rename the old library so in reality i was using the original 2.20 !
.. it works ok

A question, from the game did you tried to switch from fullscreen to window and viceversa ?
In that case using your library my system freeze

I also noted a minor graphical glitch on the sky (a small vertical black line), not a big problem but still

http://s2.postimg.org/nt7fsc19l/prboom_skyglitch.png

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
I thought this would be the case, I'm glad you sorted it out! I'll try switching between modes to see if it crashes for me too.
Not sure about the sky. Does gl_skymode 4 have the same problem?

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3322
@BSzili

Quote:
I'll try switching between modes to see if it crashes for me too.


In general it freeze the input but not the whole system, once the game will be putted in window mode from fullscreen or viceversa i can hear the in-game music in background but any input (including mouse) stop responding

Quote:
Does gl_skymode 4 have the same problem?


Yep apparently it solved !

   Report Go to top

Re: Warp3D and ARGB textures
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 631
@samo79
SDL_mixer plays music in a separate thread, that's why you have music even though the game itself (= main thread) crashed. I had no problem switching back and forth between fullscreen and windowed. A crashlog could help to determine whether the crash happens in minigl.library, or somewhere in the game.

_________________
I see the jimmies have been rustled.
   Report Go to top


« 1 (2) 3 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project