Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
79 user(s) are online (49 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 79

more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

Two newbie questions
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
First: Hi to all!!
I'm new to os4 programming (i've got a little experience in aros and morphos).
Where can i find some "tutorial" that introduces me to os4 coding?
I've compiled something in the last days and i found i've to use iexec and idos to use api.
Is there a way to avoid this? (i.e. i compiled ahi ppc os4 examples and they give me the same errors (implicit declaration of function...))?
Thank you!!

Go to top
Re: Two newbie questions
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

See User information
Welcome to OS4, its nice you have knowledge in most amigasystems. Interested too see what you make later on :)

Go to top
Home away from home
Home away from home

See User information
@rebraist
Check in the SDK pdf called migration guide. But in brief, to get rid of Isomething->function , you just add #define __USE_INLINE__ at top of your source code, or -D__USE_INLINE__ to compiling string. Then you just can use function as in old os3 way. You also better add -lauto at linking stage when you use __USE_INLINE__, as it will sort out some stuff for you (like auto opening of some libs, which, without -lauto you will need to open manually in code : thats easy, but just can be boring). I all the time use __USE_INLINE__ when port os3 sw to os4, without it, it will be just unpossible to port some heavy os3/aros/mos apps.

Soon there also be some public wiki, which cover all the stuff for os4, but dunno when. os4coding.net can be helpfull as forum, and even some good article can be found there (check Rigo's and Trixie's blogs).

Join us to improve dopus5!
AmigaOS4 on youtube
Go to top
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information