Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
52 user(s) are online (41 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 52

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 370
I don't remember how I managed to do it, but somehow my font in TW has been changed to some type of musical score notes. Needless to say it makes TW impossible to use and very difficult to find the way to change it back. Does anyone know of an easy fix for this? I've gone as far as to completely delete every trace of TW from my system and reinstall it, but the font remains the same...




_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2639
@Valiant

I stopped using TimberWolf a long time a go, its to sluggish, crashes to often when quit it, I do not recommend using it.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2461
@LiveForIt

And how does that help him resolve the issue?
Go play starcraft 2.

_________________
Sam460 Lite
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 8:32
From California - S.F. Bay area
Posts: 370
@Valiant

Open the Tools menu, then Options/Content/Advanced. I have "allow pages to choose their own font" checked & Western (ISO-8859-1) chosen.

TW seems to have a problem with cache write, crash on quit. I wrote protected the 0-F cache files, so they never get updated, solved the quit crash for me. In the beginning, we were told TW works best on FFS, this has been proven true by me & at least one other. Auto scroll is my only issue now. Posted from TW.

_________________
Look, only one leg, count em, one!
X1000/PA6T@1800MHz/2Gb/Radeon XFX r9 270

   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 370
@LiveForIt

That's too bad because for me it's very fast, fairly robust, and if it weren't for the current font problem, I'd be using it as my main browser. Only because we don't have a port of Google Chrome.

_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/14 2:18
Posts: 150
@Valiant

Are you using UTF8 at all?

TimberWolf when set to UTF8 encoding can display Musical notes as readily as Japanese or Chinese along with Russian and English.

@All: I'm typing this on TimberWolf as the ONLY means I have for displaying test data for my own InputMethod project.

You might find yourselves quite surprised as it is down to the extensions and options as to how fast/stable TimberWolf really is.


   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2639
@Antique

Quote:
And how does that help him resolve the issue?


It does not, I was thinking it was wast of time, there are other web browser that are fast and stable. Odyssey (MuiOWB), and NetSurf, so if you can't get TimerWolf to work stable its not some to cry about.

@Sundown

Quote:
I wrote protected the 0-F cache files, so they never get updated, solved the quit crash for me.


Interesting fix, I have not tried it yet, but I will try to write protect the cache files to see if problem disappear, thanks. I use SFS2, because FFS is slow.

@Valiant

Quote:
That's too bad because for me it's very fast


I agree its faster, but its not robust.

Sticky scroll bars, annoying but you don't notice if you only use the mouse scroll wheel, and the crash on exit.

Quote:
Only because we don't have a port of Google Chrome. 


Chrome rendering engine is based on OWB

@Belxjander

Quote:
You might find yourselves quite surprised as it is down to the extensions and options as to how fast/stable TimberWolf really is.


I don't remember what extentions I'm using, I will check when I have the time.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2639
@Valiant

Simply uninstall it and install it, (also check that no old config files are left behind) should fix any issues related to screwed up configuration.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 370
@Belxjander

Quote:
by Belxjander on 2014/9/20 23:58:54

@Valiant

Are you using UTF8 at all?

TimberWolf when set to UTF8 encoding can display Musical notes as readily as Japanese or Chinese along with Russian and English.


No, not because I want to. I tried taking everything font-related out of prefs.js like you told me this morning in irc, but TW put UTF8 back in. Grrr...


_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3487
@LiveForIt Quote:
so if you can't get TimerWolf to work stable its not some to cry about.

His post was NOTHING to do with Timberwolf stability. i.e. Your original reply was totally off-topic. (If you want to moan about Timberwolf then you can create a new thread - no need to pollute an existing thread with irrelevant moaning.)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:30
From Finland
Posts: 1526
@Valiant

Have you tried recreating the fontconfig cache as explained in the ReadMe PDF file?

Quote:

Workbench:> cd fonts:fontconfig/fontconfig_cache
Workbench:Fonts/fontconfig/fontconfig_cache> delete #?
Workbench:Fonts/fontconfig/fontconfig_cache> fc-cache -s -f


   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 11:14
From South Florida, USA
Posts: 196
@Valiant

Can you read any of the TW menus, or what is in their dropdown boxes?

If not, would it help to guide you through the selections to get you to where fonts are selected?


_________________
A1-X1000
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 370
@LiveForIt

Quote:
I agree its faster, but its not robust.

Sticky scroll bars, annoying but you don't notice if you only use the mouse scroll wheel, and the crash on exit.


The sticky scroll bar is a feature! And it hasn't crashed on exit here for a long time. So it may not be robust for you, but for Sundown, who uses it extensively and knows all its quirks, and I it is very robust.


_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:18
From West Jordan, Utah, USA
Posts: 370
@salass00

Thanks for your suggestion, it led me to cause of the problem. I had run the font cache right after I installed TW for the very first time with no problems. But while doing it now it said that _TrueType had failed. Looking in the _TrueType dir, I found something called Score.ttf. Don't know where that came from, but after taking that out and running font-cache again TimberWolf works well for me once more. Thanks to everyone for your assistance and suggestions.

_________________
Valiant@Camelot
AmigaOne XE, 800Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u7
Sam440ep, 666Mhz, 512Mb, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1u6
A1-X1000, 1.8Ghz, 2GB, 9250 Radeon, OS4.1x

[url=http://forum.hyperion-entertainment.biz]Officia
   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/24 14:19
From Georgia, USA. Just north of the Florida border
Posts: 207
I know where Score.ttf came from.

I don't know why it's causing Timberwolf problems..

Quite curious.

   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 8:32
From California - S.F. Bay area
Posts: 370
@LyleHaze

Quote:
I don't know why it's causing Timberwolf problems..

It would if that font was set in the TW font setting.

_________________
Look, only one leg, count em, one!
X1000/PA6T@1800MHz/2Gb/Radeon XFX r9 270

   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/24 14:19
From Georgia, USA. Just north of the Florida border
Posts: 207
@sundown

Is this something I need to worry about, or can we blame it all on Val?

I'll admit I don't run TW often, but after posting in this thread I ran TW RC3 and had no font issues.

Oh, and I DO have Score.ttf installed. ;)
I run Score more often than TW, and still not nearly as much as I'd like to.


   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 8:32
From California - S.F. Bay area
Posts: 370
@LyleHaze

Quote:
Is this something I need to worry about, or can we blame it all on Val?

Seems we can blame Val for this one, not setting the fontcache line after changing/adding fonts.

System font flaws don't help, should be a lot easier to add fonts & not worry about a cache setting.

_________________
Look, only one leg, count em, one!
X1000/PA6T@1800MHz/2Gb/Radeon XFX r9 270

   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 8:32
From California - S.F. Bay area
Posts: 370
@LiveForIt

Quote:
Interesting fix, I have not tried it yet, but I will try to write protect the cache files to see if problem disappear, thanks. I use SFS2, because FFS is slow.

I agree FFS is very slow vs SFS, which is why I made a 500Mb FFS partition for TW only. Why, because we were told the ,sqlite files worked 100% on FFS. I'm sure this is why TW runs faster then on an SFS partition. The other issue with a non start or GR on start is that the CurrentUserProfile "places.sqlite" file spins off new extentions on startup. These temp extentions should get deleted when TW quits, sometimes they don't. If I get a start up problem, I make sure "places.sqlite" is the only one that exists, just delete any other "places" extentions & re-start.

_________________
Look, only one leg, count em, one!
X1000/PA6T@1800MHz/2Gb/Radeon XFX r9 270

   Report Go to top

Re: Strange TimberWolf font
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3171
@sundown

Quote:
System font flaws don't help, should be a lot easier to add fonts & not worry about a cache setting.


To be fair, the font cache in this case is to do with fontconfig. It has absolutely nothing to do with the OS (which manages font caches just fine without that horrid slow scanning that fontconfig insists on)

I believe fontconfig is supposed to detect when the fonts need rescanning - at least Qt and OWB appear to be able to manage this (although it's a bit hit-and-miss as to whether the re-scan actually works).

It would be better if we had a native wrapper for fontconfig, which used the diskfont cache, although I'm not sure whether that is possible (never used fontconfig myself).

   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project