Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
61 user(s) are online (45 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 61

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 »


updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
Hi all

I've been tinkering with a fork of sgit to add in some of the standard git features that it is missing. Before I make a pull request with the additions, I'm checking to see if anyone is interested in using it as some extra testing. If you're interested, just drop me a line.

billy

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3549
@billyfish

Why not add it to the already available sgit tree?

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@Raziel

That's entirely what I'm going to do!
I've forked it and after I'm happy with it all, I'll make a pull request.

cheers

Billy

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3549
@billyfish

Ah, ok

i only do fetch and merge with sgit, but i'm sure true devs will jump in for more options.

One thing i'd like to use (but iirc doesn't yet fully work) is remote.
I can list and checkout remotes, but i'm still not able to merge them into my local tree (for testing)

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Site Builder
Joined:
2006/12/2 23:57
From Athens
Posts: 538
@billyfish
I am totally interested. Can you please share a little bit on which features did you work on?

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@walkero

Sure

So far I've added the -a switch for the commit command which automatically stages files that have been modified and deleted, but ignore new files you have not told Git about.

I'm in the process of adding support for the mv command and setting up the default push behaviour when the repository and refspec aren't specified. Basically I'm plugging the holes of my most common git workflow so I can do:

sgit commit -a -m "blah"
sgit push

the same as I do with the standard git command.

Feel free to suggest any features that you are interested in and I'll see what I can do.

cheers

Billy

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2196
@billyfish

Thanks for updating sgit. I've switched to using git for my projects, and on AmigaOS I need to keep referring to this thread to remind me how to get things done.

One frustrating annoyance is that it defaults to "unknown user" if you forget to configure the name and email address before the first commit. Every time that happens I need to figure out how to undo the commit and redo it with the correct user details. I wish it would ask you to enter those details instead.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
Posts: 27
@billyfish

Slightly off topic, but highly related; has anyone looked into this:

https://github.com/widelec-BB/git-morphos

It's also a part of AROS contrib.


With that being said, I think it's great to have sgit as well.

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3549
@billyfish

Support for bisect would be awesome

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/14 20:30
From Lothric
Posts: 803
@billyfish

Some subjective would-be-nice-to-haves:

sgit commit --amend
sgit add --patch
sgit diff file

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
Posts: 27
...rebase is also a good thing to have

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@sTix

Interesting! Is this fully working on AROS and MorphOS? Might be the way to go...

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
Hi all

Wow! I'm glad there's interest! I've added the issues page on my forked repo at https://github.com/billyfish/simplegit/issues, if you want to add them in.

Once I've finished the support for "sgit mv", I can start working through these.

Keep them coming!

cheers


billy


   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
Posts: 27
@billyfish

I haven't tried it on AROS, but it's fully functioning on MorphOS. And looking at the AROS patchset it doesn't look like a lot of work to get it rundning.

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
3/19 9:20
From United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Hi, could you please send me a link to a binary (or post one here) ?

I'd love to try your improvements as it would make a big difference to my usual workflow too! Sadly, my current install of the "old" sgit has started bombing out with errors whenever I try to use it, so I'd also be keen to see if your build resolves these issues.

Many thanks for your efforts on this!

Cheers,

-Mark

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2196
@billyfish

How's your work on sgit going?

I've encountered a few more problems:
- sgit revert doesn't work (command "revert" not supported)
- If there are conflicts when merging then it'll simply say: "libgit error (20): n conflicts prevent checkout".
I can't find any way for it to indicate where the conflicts are, let alone how to resolve them
- sgit add . is rather slow. Actually, the larger the respository becomes, the slower the "add", "status" and similar commands become. It gets very noticeable on my Tabor, taking 30s+

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@Hans

It's been a crazy few weeks and my spare time for working on sgit has been non-existant! It should become a bit mnore relaxed in a couple of weeks and then I can get back to this.

Thanks for the extra bits to look at. Part of my initial work for the commit command used the git_status_list.. () api that's in libgit and it might be that helps if I use that for the git status command too.

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@mdr

Hi sorry for the delay, I'l be able to get back to this in the next couple of weeks and then I'll be able to stop making binaries available.

Hiding my eyes behind my hands what errors are you getting?


   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3549
@Hans

sgit status

To see what files are the ones that break.
Then either revert the changes in those files or, if that doesn't work:

sgit reset --hard

Works most of the time for me.

@billyfish

sgit revert would be nice too (cant check if it is already supported, but I guess nit)

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2196
@billyfish

Okay, even adding a single file is taking far too long. I have no idea what sgit is doing, but doing sgit add path/to/file should *NOT* take multiple seconds, regardless of the repo size.

@Raziel

Thanks for the workaround for the missing revert command. However, that takes what should be a trivial operation and makes it really tedious.

I see getting sgit up to standard and working fast as one of the many things we need to make development on and for AmigaOS more productive and more fun. Another would be to have a fully working debugger, but that's a whole different story...

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project