Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
83 user(s) are online (69 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 83

more...

Support us!

Headlines






[X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2014/6/29 15:12
From Montserrat
Posts: 279

   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3771
@Spectre660

Can someone with an account there pleade add the following?

- wrt kvm switches:
Another pressing problem is that kvm switches don't "release" bootmouse.kmod and bootkeyboard.kmod once workbench has been loaded.
That might be the reason why keyboards refuse to work?
I have problems with different (multi button) mouse/keyboard combos under workbench.
The mice only move vertically, horizontally I can make it move when clicking any mouse button, but then only one pixel at a time. (And I do remember this behaviour from early AmigaOS4 versions, probably the first 4.0 release).
Keyboards are more forgiving, most of my test hardware worked under workbench, but not in CFE (not even if I had the switch plugged into the infamous "first USB port").

For "normal" keyboard/mouse combos I see the "lights" on those hardware going off and on again at least once during the boot process (which I assume is the time where mouse and keyboard drivers switch to the ones that are used for the rest of the boot and finally the workbench session).
I have learned that the bootxxx.kmod variants only offer rudimentary support and as such do not work (well) with multimedia mouse/keyboards.

Might be worth checking out?

- If not too complicated, please take a look at the RAM bay interweaving.
Once all four bays are populated and installed RAM goes beyond 4 GB the system will get extremely flaky and crash more often with random accesses or refuse to boot into workbench at all.
I know that AmigaOS can only use 2 GB (for now), but there seems to be a bug in the firmware when it comes to initializion or handling of all four bays.

Thanks a lot

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/3/30 18:39
Posts: 279
@Raziel

You have certainly read Cyborg's answer (thanks Michael for having copied questions in the other forum).

I don't know much about problems of KVM switches on X1000 (except I had a bad try).

But about the problem of memory:

1. There is a known problem (crash) at the amigaboot level with more than 4 GB installed. I met it with 2x1GB installed first, and the after having added 2x2GB. Impossible to boot AmigaOS.
How much RAM do you have?
If this is the same bug, it requires a fix in amigaboot.

2. I see what Cyborg means but I don't fully agree. As a bootloader initializes the memory controller and calibrates depending on how memory sockets are populated and by what, a bug may happen there.
We all agree that AmigaOS should manage areas provided with more than 4 GB even if it uses 2 GB.

   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3771
@corto

Nope, not seen it.
Need to read it.
Thanks Michael for posting

1) OK, so there is a bug, glad (or not really) to hear i'm not the only one.
I have 8 GB installed right now (2x4GB in banks 0 and 1, i guess).
That does work without problems here.
As soon as i add RAM to the other two bays (may it be 4x1GB, 4x2GB or 4x4GB) i get either a crash on boot or crashes while using Workbench.

So, the problem is that interweaving with banks 2 and 3 doesn't work.
I guess (really only a guess) that during CFE development none of the developers had access (or cared) to more than 4 or 8 GB and never used more than 2 RAM bars.

2) Agreed.
There is definitely something interfering which needs fixing.
otoh
- He's only one guy
- It's a hobby project within a hobby project
- He'd need to have the hardware to test (just like with KVM/Mouse/Keyboard)

edit: Judging by his answer, he's right.
the kvm problems are technically not cfe problems.
at least the ones i encounter start when i reach workbench, so yeah, point taken


Edited by Raziel on 2020/3/12 9:39:20
_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/5 20:51
Posts: 16
@Raziel

Have you tried to use Linux with 4 RAM modules in your X1000 installed?


   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3771
@aclogic

Nope and never will be.
Only interested in AmigaOS.

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/7 4:34
From Man Cave, Canada
Posts: 2417
@Raziel


_________________
_______________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga1000 & AmigaONE X1000 !
mancave-ramblings

   Report Go to top

Re: [X1000] Errors and improvement ideas for CFE
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/3/30 18:39
Posts: 279
@Raziel

Linux would be useful in your case to check with a maximum of memory, 16 GB if I remember well. But I understand you don't want to install it.

I wonder why you bought 16 GB to only run AmigaOS

I will check with 2 GB in each slot.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project