Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
72 user(s) are online (39 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 71

VooDoo, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

Wildcards and special characters in shell
Just can't stay away
Just can't stay away

See User information
Is there anywhere, where the special characters used in interpreting strings in the shell is documented?? I know that *N is newline, but is there a character for tab as well? I tried *T, but it doesn't seem to work...

Also I could use a brushup on the general use of wildcards, but I can't seem to find anything in sys:Documentation...

Edited by orgin on 2011/12/9 17:41:30
Go to top
Re: Wildvards and special characters in shell
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

See User information
@alfkil

i'm also new to the shell in AmigaOS. for wildcards i use two options:

1. if i only want one and only one character wild, i use the '?' operator. for example:

System:> dir foo.?.txt

2. if i want any number of characters wild, akin to the '*' operator in the POSIX world, i use '#?' instead. for example:

System:> dir foo.#?

hope this helps.

-- eliyahu

"Physical reality is consistent with universal laws. When the laws do not operate, there is no reality. All of this is unreal."
Go to top
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

See User information
@thread

i would also recommend this site for amiga manuals in PDF form. commodore-era manuals, application and game manuals, scanned books, all available.

there are amigaDOS manuals there -- old, but still useful. another source for the original, combined amigaDOS manual circa 1986 can be found here.

-- eliyahu

Go to top
Amigans Defender
Amigans Defender

See User information
There are loads of wildcards - your best bet is the ParsePattern() AutoDoc.