Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
100 user(s) are online (66 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 100

more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

Debugging tools
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
Hi

I'm not new to the Amiga but I'm completely new to OS4 and the AmigaOne. Back in the day I used to write debugging tools and game disk operating systems for the A500 and A1200. Of course, this was all in 680x0...

In my intro post there was a comment made that OS4 is short of debugging tools - something I'd be really interested in working on, but I have some questions:

1. Is this true or are there good tools available?
2. Is it a case of improving existing tools - eg gdb - or is there a requirement for something amiga specific?
3. Before OS4 things were simple: it was just the 680x0 range to contend with - are things more complicated now or is any PPC processor much like the next one?
4. How easy is it to install low level processor trap handlers now? In my day it was all about patching the various vectors and resetting the VBR...

As you can see, I'm a bit new to the current platform so please go easy with your comments!

Go to top
Re: Debugging tools
Home away from home
Home away from home

See User information
@apache64

Cant answer you about everything, but can say, that GDB for aos4 very buggy and if someone can fix it, it will be pretty cool.