Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
155 user(s) are online (79 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 153

beworld, utri007, more...

Headlines

Register To PostTopic is Locked  

What Do We Want? (AOS4.x)
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

See User information
I read the "... when ?" thread and got quite upset about the attacking commentary.

NO AOS4.x developer needs to defend themselves over what it doesn't/can't do yet.... It's beyond outstanding, what has been achieved (based on all the insurmountable problems they've been exposed to/had to overcome).... for all intents and purposes we HAVE a working; functional OS.

Sure we need unicode.... can we live without it? I think we can, but then I'm not a master programmer, nor user either, so what do I know?

Open source???? You must be kidding! The LAST thing I want is 8 to 15 versions of AOS where you constantly need the right compile of program xyz!!!

Multi-user?!? Use another OS, please! This is the LAST OS of this type. Leave it simple, yet at the same time incredibly versatile and quick. (Create a custom CD/DVD or CF card, and boot off of those if you want privacy.)

Uptime? Well, we WANT long uptime, undeniably..... BUT, AOS4.x is currently in a state of flux too much for that. It isn't quite where the coders of it want it to be, so of course there are more bumps in the road ahead.

Memory protection? I don't know much about that, but DO believe that much of what AOS was capable of in the past was only because it was using what ever memory model it was using before. As long as people know how to code following the rules, these aren't things we users need to worry about. So, it comes down to, are the shareware and commercial programmers competent or not, is really the question. I think that more is possible in the old memory system. It's worked for 21 years, I don't see the problem.