Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
19 user(s) are online (15 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 19

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 (2)


Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@Hans

I absolutely agree! So you're seeing delays if you're simply adding single files at a time in the root directory? E.g. If you do

sgit add foo_0.c
sgit add foo_1.c
sgit add foo_2.c
................
sgit add foo_n.c

on an empty repo are all of them slow or does the delay increase, the more files you add? Just working out what I need to replicate to see it.

As for a debugger, I absolutely agree again! I need to take another look at db101, but anything like gdb would be a huge boon for development

cheers

billy


   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2176
@billyfish

Just tested with a much smaller project, and it's proportional to the repository size. No idea what it's doing.

NOTE: I'm using a A1222/Tabor system, with system components that aren't optimized for the P1022 CPU**. So reading from disk is currently on the slow side. Hence I notice it more.

Nevertheless, adding a single file shouldn't require reading megabytes of data from disk...

Hans

** This is the CPU with the non-standard FPU.

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3433
@billyfish


I don't know the inner workings of sgit, so i may be completely off tzhe track here, but would it be possible to make sgit take use of ExtMem?

Especially
sgit fetch
eats away lots of memory which could(?) be moved to ExtMem.

Again, maybe sgit doesn't do anything and the memory is handled by the OS, i don't know, just something i stubled over today (updating a big project after some month in hiatus).

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
3/19 9:20
From United Kingdom
Posts: 4
@billyfish

The error I get is an assertation failed. Here it is, showing context:

[Work:]> t:

[RAM Disk:T]> makedir test

[RAM Disk:T]> cd test

[RAM Disk:T/test]> sgit init
Initialized empty Git repository in /RAM Disk/T/test/.git/

[RAM Disk:T/test]> touch foo

[RAM Disk:T/test]> sgit add foo

[RAM Disk:T/test]> sgit status
# On an unnamed branch
assertion "ref" failed: file "/var/lib/jenkins/workspace/sgit.amiga/libgit2/src/refs.c", line 367

[RAM Disk:T/test]> sgit version
sgit version 0.639
using libgit2 0.26.3 and OpenSSL 1.0.1u 22 Sep 2016

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2018/1/20 18:06
From SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 8
@billyfish

I used sgit for the first time today. I'm a frequent user of git so I'm very interested in any updates you can achieve.

alias git=sgit

;)

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
3/19 9:20
From United Kingdom
Posts: 4
Ah, I got it all working now - seems like the assertation error was only thrown on an empty repo with no commits. I've now got it all hooked up and working with GitHub nicely and have blogged about it (including a link to this thread!) http://www.markround.com/blog/2019/08 ... -development-environment/

I aim to try and get a cross-compiling environment going so I can help contribute to your efforts, but in the meantime please do let me know if/when you have a binary available for testing. Many thanks again for all your work on this, it's very much appreciated.

_________________
My Amiga blog: markround.com/amiga
My hardware: X5000 running OS4.1; A1200 030@50Mhz,16MB,OS 3.9/KS 3.1.4
   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Just popping in
Joined:
2011/7/20 19:01
Posts: 51
@mdr

Awesome, I managed to confirm your issue yesterday as I'm finally getting some time back on sgit again, hurrah! I'll keeo you posted chaps, my aim is to have a version with the move and commit updates finished in the next week or two. I'll make this available and then start on the issues and updates that you guys have mentioned, keep them coming

   Report Go to top

Re: updating sgit
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3433
@billyfish

Did someone mention "bisect" yet?

...uh, yes, "someone" did

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top


« 1 (2)



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project