Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
75 user(s) are online (58 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 73

salass00, orgin, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



(1) 2 3 4 ... 8 »


Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/6/11 8:51
From Cologne
Posts: 195
Hi guys,

as you probably know I'm working on the official port of "Wings Remastered" back to NG-Amigas.
The project's development and production shall be financed via preorders.
The first month or so I worked for free, taking the risk that it won't be financed and that it gets canceled. The result of that work is a demo version.

Now it's your turn
The demo-versions are online and preorders are being accepted.
A bigger press release is in the works but I was told to already spread the news nevertheless.

Info to the demos:

don't expect anything bug-free or even final! The code is neither optimized nor complete nor anything yet. And there are placeholders too (for example the explosions of Wings Battlefield).
Of course: I paused working on it for now and will only continue if / when there are enough pre-orders, otherwise the project will be canceled.
So the demos are a snap-shot of the current state of development.
It's about one thing: to show you that it's on a good way and to give you the opportunity to check out if and how it works on your system. It is to be expected that performance and quality will both be higher in the final version (for example regarding performance: the demo doesnt use texture-compression, the models aren't optimized yet, etc.; and for example regarding quality: no volumetric shadows yet, placeholders, missing parts, etc.).

But now to the links:

Preorder here:
http://retro.cinemaware.com/product/w ... remastered-amiga-edition/

AmigaOS4 Warp3D
http://www.goldencode.de/download.php ... WingsDemo_AOS4_Warp3D.lha

AmigaOS4 RadeonHD Compositing (for Radeon-cards without Warp3D support)
http://www.goldencode.de/download.php ... Demo_AOS4_Compositing.lha

MorphOS
http://www.goldencode.de/download.php?file=WingsDemo_MorphOS.lha

AROS x86:
http://www.goldencode.de/download.php?file=WingsDemo_AROS.zip


And here are some screenshots of the AmigaOS4 Compositing version (if someone please could enlighten me via p.m. on how to make a 4x4 pictures grid out of those, thanks!)

Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image

Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image

Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image

Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image
Resized Image



Have fun,
Daniel

p.s.: some known driver related issues on the different systems:
MorphOS: on some systems (Powerbook, MOS 3.9, Radeon 9700 is it I guess) the lighting is broken (all much too dark) and the fog-color is wrong (some byte-order issue)
Warp3D: depending on GPU and resolution some polygons may still vanish here and there
Compositing on SouthernIsland / R200: better don't try it...


Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/6 14:12:06
Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/7 7:29:25
Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/7 7:29:55
Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/7 7:48:08
Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/7 7:49:10
Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/7 8:03:52
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 324
There is no digital purchase option?

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:27
Posts: 230
@Daytona675x

There is a problem in my machine with this Wings demo and even in Wings Battlefield demo.

At some parts of the games every few seconds the mouse pointer locks for about a quarter second and at the same time the sound is beeping.
While these glitches happens, the screen refresh goes toward smoothly.
At higher resolution it happens more frequent.

In the Wings demo these parts are: flight journal, action parts.

The machine is:
Pegasos 2 / Radeon 9250
OS4.1FE
On-board audio
sii3114 sata drive

AHI settings:
Music unit - Unit0 16bit++ 44kHz
Unit 0 - 16bit++ 44kHz Channels 10

Any idea what settings should I check?

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/10/29 11:00
From Finland
Posts: 16
Get rid of the on-board audio (well, you don't have to actually solder it.. :) and use second hand SB Live card instead. As a bonus you might get few extra fps in change :)

_________________
X5000, Peg2, mA1
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/6/11 8:51
From Cologne
Posts: 195
@lazi
Probably you are suffering from a Warp3D R200 driver bug. At least there is one that can cause such issues, ultimately leading to system freeze. I fixed this driver bug already but it is still being tested and unfortunately not available to the public yet.
The information that it is only happening inside the areas you mentioned strongly indicates this is being the case here.

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:27
Posts: 230
@Daytona675x

Thanks! Then waiting for the update...

Just checked MOS on the same machine, and OS4 on a uA1 and there are no problems there.

Nice job, insane!

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3255
@Daytona675x

Oh my...that music...beautiful memories

Awesome job so far, daytona

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2033
@Daytona675x

Nice! Congrats on getting it to the initial demo stage. I hope that you get at least the number of preorders required for it to be completed. I spent many hours playing the original.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 17:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 87
@Daytona675x

Just pre-ordered a copy for my X5K...

Thanks for your hard work.

Btw, how many pre-orders do you need to complete the development ?

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3255
@Daytona675x

I do have one question though...

I've never been fond of playing (action, or any other) games with the keyboard...are you planning to support AmigaInput so we could get the perfect feeling like it were back when we played the game with the Competition Pro?

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/6/11 8:51
From Cologne
Posts: 195
Thanks guys

@utri007
Quote:
There is no digital purchase option?

At least not now, it's all about the limited deluxe box. However I forwarded this and similar questions to Cinemaware and will report back as soon as I got more information.

@Hans
Quote:
I spent many hours playing the original.

I guess most of us are in the same boat here... I'll certainly get quartered (with great justice ) if the outcome isn't matching the ultra-high expectations.

@SinanSam460
Quote:
how many pre-orders do you need to complete the development ?

The last info I got is that about 300 preorders are required to cover really all costs.
It's sporty, yes. We'll see.

@Raziel
Quote:
.are you planning to support AmigaInput so we could get the perfect feeling like it were back when we played the game with the Competition Pro?

Are you kidding?! Of course there will be digital joystick support! In fact there is already: go to the options menu and set up your Competition Pro. That's the joystick I'm using myself here. You can be sure that I'll make sure that it works well with it.


Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/7 7:08:11
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2713
@Daytona675x

Well done.

But can I suggest using WA_SizeBBottom, TRUE.
The border looks more symmetric that way.

(does not start here, but I need to do a complete reinstall, I guess something is missing, as I have yet to upgrade fully to AmigaOS4.1 final)

Anyway, if you can add some info, about what library that does not open or what font was not found that be useful as well.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3255
@Daytona675x

1)
Quote:

Quote:

Quote:
.are you planning to support AmigaInput so we could get the perfect feeling like it were back when we played the game with the Competition Pro?

Are you kidding?! Of course there will be digital joystick support! In fact there is already: go to the options menu and set up your Competition Pro. That's the joystick I'm using myself here. You can be sure that I'll make sure that it works well with it.

Ok, i don't have the digital version of that joystick anymore, it went away with all my classic stuff (apart from some boxed original games).

What about the USB version of that Joystick or other USB based joysticks?
I guess supporting AmigaInput would be sufficient to support those aswell?
(Sorry, never been able to actually plug a working joystick in through AmigaInput, so i'm a little picky)

2)
Preordering in this case means i order it and pay it up front through PayPal, right?
Because if i follow the link and order i am sent right to PayPal...just checking

3) Just some info...i'm on a X1000 with Radeon HD 7750 (passively cooled) and played the demo in 2560x1440...insane, i know
Apart from some gfx/loading hiccups it was surprisingly smooth...it's going to perfectly smooth once your optimizations are in place...i'd say grand!!!

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3255
@Daytona675x

I loved the game on my classic, even finished it (one of the few games i managed to) and after looking at some more in-game footage...

...ah, what the heck...here's to another pre-order

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/6/11 8:51
From Cologne
Posts: 195
@LiveForIt
Quote:
But can I suggest using WA_SizeBBottom, TRUE. The border looks more symmetric that way.

Good idea!

Quote:
Anyway, if you can add some info, about what library that does not open or what font was not found that be useful as well.

The game only uses core system libs that should be there on every properly installed OS.
And it only uses the files in the res/ folder, which of course should all exist if the game was installed properly.
Doesn't help too much to report anything here IMHO. But well, you're right: a little printf won't hurt nevertheless.

@Raziel
Quote:
Preordering in this case means i order it and pay it up front through PayPal, right?

Yes. And if it all fails due to not enough preorders you get back your money.
And thanks for preordering

Quote:
What about the USB version of that Joystick or other USB based joysticks?
I guess supporting AmigaInput would be sufficient to support those aswell?

Yes, and I already use AmigaInput So your Competition USB etc.: it's all already supported. You only have to enter the game's options menu and assign the input mappings to get it to work.

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 398
Pre-ordered done!!!!

DEMO looks awesome!!!!

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/8/19 10:49
From España
Posts: 52
Daniel:
Testing on classic PPC Amiga.
Looking appropriate options to work better.
I'll post video later.

OVER & OUT

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/8/19 10:49
From España
Posts: 52
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwHe7ezZods&feature=youtu.be
Runnig in Amiga 1200 PPC OS4.1 final
Slow
The airplane disappears
On one occasion, he appeared a green polygon
I do not have sound card

   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/8/19 10:49
From España
Posts: 52
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mwHe7ezZods&feature=youtu.be
Runnig in Amiga 1200 PPC OS4.1 final
Slow
The airplane disappears
On one occasion, he appeared a green polygon
I do not have sound card

Images of the polygon
http://subefotos.com/ver/?b6f40e70ba613f6d99d4767218bf5511o.jpg

http://subefotos.com/ver/?91838db2fafcec8cb3f5309a5a786b55o.jpg


Edited by pepe on 2015/11/12 13:29:49
Edited by pepe on 2015/11/12 13:32:58
Edited by pepe on 2015/11/12 13:33:30
   Report Go to top

Re: Wings Remastered
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/6/11 8:51
From Cologne
Posts: 195
@pepe
Hi pepe, thanks a lot for trying out and recording it!
That it's slow, okay, no wonder: nothing optimized, very large uncompressed textures, etc. The next demo version will be faster
But I have to admit that I have no idea at the moment why the airplane sometimes just isn't drawn.
Anyway, considering the current demo's result on your A1200 I'm pretty positive that I can get it to run fast enough to become as playable as the original Wings was on an unextended A500


Edited by Daytona675x on 2015/11/12 9:09:03
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 3 4 ... 8 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project