Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
40 user(s) are online (18 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 38

devils_advisor, trixie, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/6/3 13:49
Posts: 262
Hello

I have recompiled the minigl sources with the given makefile but I dont obtain the same performance on quake3 time demo
= it is now slower than original minigl

So 2 possible causes
* original was maded with a better compiler
* original use differents (and better) sources

So where are those sources ...

Alain Thellier

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3334

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Just popping in
Joined:
2013/1/6 22:37
From UK
Posts: 35
@thellier

All the versions I compiled were from the updates-kc branch (which was created to coincide with concurrent updates to Warp3D upon which it depended).

I used a cross compiler environment from linux:

ppc-amigaos-gcc -v
Using built-in specs.
Target: ppc-amigaos
Configured with: ../adtools-gcc-4.4.2/configure --target=ppc-amigaos --prefix=/usr/local/amiga --enable-languages=c,c++ --enable-haifa --enable-sjlj-exceptions --disable-libstdcxx-pch
Thread model: single
gcc version 4.4.3 (GCC)

One or two versions may have been compiled on the A1 but that was ages ago.

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/6/3 13:49
Posts: 262
Ok thanks Karlos
Ok I see : GCC is 4.2.4 here
Do you mean that it is YOUR MiniGL version that is in OS41FE ?

Could you indicate me some documentation about "howto install a cross compiler environment from linux for Amiga"

Thanks for your help

Alain Thellier

Edit: It is MiniGL

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/4/28 4:57
From Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 938
There's two ways of doing that.

1) An archive of zerohero's cross-compiling environment for Linux and Cygwin. http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/zerohero ... p/cross-compiler_os4.html

2) Instructions on how to do it yourself: http://www.os4coding.net/blog/salass0 ... -compiler-adtools-project

Note that you might come across an issue if you build the cross-compilers yourself. If I link an altivec enabled ffmpeg (or any altivec supported program) on the cross-compiler (Linux hosted), then the altivec maths is screwed up. Although the binary runs, ffmpeg will produce glitchy videos. If I merely take the very same object files and perform the linking stage on my Sam440, then it's fine. I'm not sure why it's happening to me. It doesn't affect non-altivec programs and zerohero's environment works fine too. I've been using Linux Mint and Ubuntu in VirtualBox. Not tried Cygwin.

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Just popping in
Joined:
2013/1/6 22:37
From UK
Posts: 35
I should point out that I used the guides linked above.

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@thellier

The latest version of MiniGL (on os4depot) was compiled using gcc 4.5.3 (an AmigaOS 4.1 native version).

It really would be good to have an updated SDK released with a newer GCC version...

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/6/3 13:49
Posts: 262
Hello
@all
Thanks for helping

>1) An archive of zerohero's cross-compiling ..
>http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/zerohero ... p/cross-compiler_os4.html
OK I installed it on cygwin
but "make" is not installed
Should I install a simple cygwin "make" or a special cross-amiga one ? how ?

Alain Thellier


   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 685
On Linux it's the same (GNU) make at least.

   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@thellier
Quote:
Should I install a simple cygwin "make" or a special cross-amiga one ? how ?

Use the standard cygwin make. Whether the cross-compiler is used or the standard compiler depends on the contents of the makefile. MiniGL's makefile contains:
CC             ppc-amigaos-gcc
CXX            
ppc-amigaos-c++
AR             ppc-amigaos-ar
RANLIB         
ppc-amigaos-ranlib
COPY        
cp -v
MAKEDIR        
mkdir
STRIP         
ppc-amigaos-strip


Those are the names of the AmigaOS cross-compiler + tools (or the native compiler + tools if you build on AmigaOS).

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2792
@Hans

Quote:
was compiled using gcc 4.5.3 (an AmigaOS 4.1 native version).


Whats up with not sharing?

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@LiveForIt

Quote:
Whats up with not sharing?

???

Just like the beta OS components that I have access to, it's not mine to share.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Where are the OS41FE's MiniGL sources ?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/6/3 13:49
Posts: 262
(Just answering for myself for archive)

INSTALLING AN OS4 CROSS COMPILER ON CYGWIN
Cygwin is a pseudo Linux environnement on Windows (kinda GeekGadgets for Windows)
So you can manipulate files the Cygwin side but also the Windows side
You can paste/copy a command to Cygwin Shell no need to type manually
You can use a Windows editor like "Scite" to edit easily your code
You can have WinUAE-ppc installed the Windows side
So this seems a good solution for coding/testing AmigaNG programs

1) Just install cygwin
https://www.cygwin.com/install.html
Run setup-x86.exe

2) Think to check the "make" package to install it too (not done as default)
If you forgot to install "make" then you can add it easily to your current Cygwin install just by running the setup tool again

3) Also the cross-compiler need particular versions of libmp & libgmp
I have installed them like "make" but the needed versions werent the same
So I renamed them to obtain that in /bin/
cyggmp-10.dll
cyggmp-3.dll
cygmpfr-1.dll
cygmpfr-4.dll

4) download the AmigaNG cross compilers and tools
http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/zerohero ... aos-binutils-2.18.tar.bz2
http://kas1e.mikendezign.com/zerohero ... amigaos-gcc-4.4.3.tar.bz2
copy them to /usr/local in the cygwin directory

5) start cygwin
copy/paste in the shell-prompt those commands :
cd /usr/local
tar jxf binutils-2.18.tar.bz2
tar jxf ppc-amigaos-gcc-4.4.3.tar.bz2

6) create the directory SDK to obtain that :
/usr/local/amiga/ppc-amigaos/SDK

7) cygwin side
copy/paste in the shell-prompt this command :
ln -s /usr/local/amiga/ppc-amigaos/SDK /SDK

8) The Windows side edit Cygwin/home/yourlogin/.bashrc and add the line
export PATH=/usr/local/amiga/bin:$PATH

9) From a real AmigaNG (or WinUAE-ppc) that have the SDK installed : make an archive with the following directories (including contents)
/SDK/clib2
/SDK/newlib
/SDK/include
/SDK/local
Windows side just extract the archive in /usr/local/amiga/ppc-amigaos/SDK

Et Voilà

10) Transfering your prog in WinUAE
For transferring my progs "inside" WinUAE-ppc I use this solution
2 hardfiles :
OS41FE:(Accelerator board scsi)
WORK: (Ide)

2 WinUAE configurations :
1) "OS41" this config boot on os41FE: with Work:
2) "Transfer" this config boot on workbench3.adf with Work: and a PC directory as TEMP: so can copy from TEMP:(pc) to WORK:(Amiga)


Alain Thellier

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project