Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
96 user(s) are online (77 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 95

samo79, more...

Support us!

Headlines




« 1 (2)


Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4160
You did change your a1ide_conf to:
Quote:

a1ide_conf=2000

Seeing the above output it looks like the AOS CD is found with your LITEON and UBoot is trying to read the SLB from it, but from an ill address space.

So, maybe, only maybe, since your CDROM is at port 0 now, but your config sets port 0 still to "0" (HDD) UBoot is reading from a wrong address, expecting a HDD.

Just throwing thoughts around...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/7/19 6:51
From The Netherlands
Posts: 17
So...after reading about my umpteenth typo, I started the A1. One of the CD drives was connected to A1ide since the latest test. For some reason, the bus scan failed. No drive detected.

I powered the machine down, checked connections, no joy. Powered down again, changed drive, no joy.

With a sigh, I connected everything back to the sii0680. Incredibly, it booted from the OS4.1 FE CD...(Lite-on drive)

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4160
@RinceWynd



The joys of the XE...forgot how much time i wasted tweaking it back in the day.

Great you got it working...another user back on track

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/7/19 6:51
From The Netherlands
Posts: 17
@Raziel

Thx! Now it appears as if my A1ide doesn't work, not crucial as I use the sii0680 anyways. But it sure is strange.

OS 4.1 FE installed. AmiUpdate complains about a library it can't find...Trying a reboot first

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 74
@RinceWynd

Did you install final edition update 1 & update 2 + update 2 quick fix from hyperion's site? Maybe that'll help

Amiupdate should work out of the box though, Hyperion claims that Final Edition doesn't work as an update and is intended for a fresh install. I installed it over my existing 4.1 drive and it seems to work fine for me.

@Raziel

Don't remove usb device whilst running..
Don't use DMA on the onboard IDE..
Make sure the battery has a charge..
If you have onboard audio then you should be grateful..
Don't feed it after midnight..
Don't look at it funny..

_________________
AmigaOne XE | 7457 1066Mhz 512k L2 | Radeon 9250 128 bit
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4160
@Helloworld

Don't let it get wet
...and for the love of all that is holy, don't ever leave it alone for a day...or more...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/7/19 6:51
From The Netherlands
Posts: 17
@Helloworld
It's working fine after a reboot.

I did fail to back-up my previous OS4.0 installation, resulting in the loss of the look that I used. My Workbench basically looked like MacOS did back in 2005-2007. I got that setup from another user back then. No clue anymore on how to get that back, though I have an older backup with some of the icons.

I don't have onboard sound, but a dedicated soundcard.

Still no clue what actually fixed the issue, but after all the updates it boots faster than it ever did.

Now trying to find where to download Timberwolf.

Anyways, thanks to both you and Raziel .

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4160
@RinceWynd

ye

But I advise Odyssey over Timberwolf.
TW was never updated and iirc crashed last I tried...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/7/19 6:51
From The Netherlands
Posts: 17
@Raziel

Yeah...Timberwolf crashes here as well. A pity, after all the hard work that went in it.

Will try Odyssey. The latest iBrowse seems improved and I personally never was a fan of Aweb.

Now browsing OS4depot, maybe that theme made it over there

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 74
@RinceWynd

http://www.amiga-look.org is a good place for OS4 skins, icons and backdrops


Found this OSX Aqua theme overthere
http://www.amiga-look.org/artwork/aqua-theme

@Raziel
Quote:
don't ever leave it alone for a day...or more...

Man, just turning it on honestly scares me.


Edited by Helloworld on 2021/5/15 22:05:54
_________________
AmigaOne XE | 7457 1066Mhz 512k L2 | Radeon 9250 128 bit
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to update my A1XEG4 to OS4.1 FE
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/7/19 6:51
From The Netherlands
Posts: 17
@Helloworld

It's actually Toaks' aquax theme on OSdepot. Dated 2004, which should be right.

With regards to being scared turning the A1 one: except for this recent episode mine has been as reliable as an A1 XE can be. I had/have more issues with my A4000, but that might be another topic.

At this point I'm looking for some upgrades for the A1 (gfx, usb, maybe SATA) but that's vintage hardware by now as well.

   Report Go to top


« 1 (2)



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project