Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
63 user(s) are online (51 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 63

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Samba problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 328
After update for OS4.1fe is samba started to crahs. In matter a fact it generated some serious Hard drive problems. :( My Amiga doesn't boot anymore, got a block ID error. I have SFS boot partitions.

Problems was that yeaterday when I transferred some files from my NAS box to Amiga, samba generated about 1,6gb nmbd.log. I would hapily tell what is says, but I can't open or delete it. It has that block ID error.

I checked sfssalv but it doesn't seem to do anything else than udelete files???

How do I contact Olaf Barthel? Mail address on Os4depot.net doesn't work. Google doesn't help either. I saved Grimreaper error log.

   Report Go to top

Re: Samba problem
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a story that hasn't been written yet
Posts: 3456
@utri007

I know this bug, had this one too a few times, not sure what i did to make it go away

If you have a sourceforge account you could try it there

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr.
   Report Go to top

Re: Samba problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 412
@utri007

If you restart your machine, without SAMBA being started/init. Maybe you can delete such file (could be locked by SAMBA start/init).


Dunnot if it helps, but about the created .log you can in SAMBA:lib/smb.conf add/change to:

log file = /T/SMBlog.%m
max log size = 50

   Report Go to top

Re: Samba problem
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1335
Answer from Olaf:
Quote:
Utri had recently switched his network configuration to use DHCP, but the
Samba configuration file still had an "interfaces" parameter in it which
did not match the IPv4 address assigned by the DHCP server. Hence, the
"nmbd" daemon tried and tried again to bind to an IPv4 address which was
unavailable, generating more and more error messages.


That's interesting. I didn't know the Samba configuration was bound to the IP address.


Edited by Elwood on 2017/1/27 9:58:18
_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: Samba problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 18:13
From Sweden
Posts: 275
@utri007

I got this error when I upgraded AOS to the latest version. I made a backup, formatted the harddrive and copied the data back. I have since bought the enhancement package which includes a newer version of SFS. Don't know if it helpt though.

I don't know what caused the error or if there really was an error and why but it seems to be something recent.

   Report Go to top

Re: Samba problem
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 328
Problem solve, it reason was change from static IP to DHCP.

Thanks Olaf.

Few notes.

This generated about 160mb error log in a few days??

Reason to change DHCP was that my Huawei router blocks all traffic to static IPs. It not a problem with Amiga OS4, but it is problem with my 68k Amigas, as a Genesis doesn't have a DHCP client.

Samba works, but I can't use AExplorer or netmount command.



   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project