Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
55 user(s) are online (47 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 55

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 153
I took a little break from WEx over the holidays.

I am now looking for new ideas/suggestions you would like to see implemented/fixed in future versions.

Please give me as many details as you can to describe your ideas.

And you know me, I don't mess around. I want to get new versions out on a regular basis.




Edited by mritter0 on 2019/1/16 22:21:48
Edited by mritter0 on 2019/2/16 21:30:56
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:54
From Sanremo
Posts: 1779
Thanks for your work. Is there a way to automatically open wb explorer when i open a directory on the workbench?

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 460
Hi,

my suggestion would be to have Workbench Explorer write the provenience of the file in the files comment. That is when it's downloaded from Aminet or os4depot.

kind of like Odyssey does it. If it is feasible. :)

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 460
@nubechecorre

as a workaround I suggest using the context menu.. :P

you might know how to do this, but here is an example anyway:
add this to the ENVARC:contextmenus.cfg

;BEGIN WEx Menus
,Workbench,Open in WEx, CLI,APPDIR:WorkbenchExplorer
,Directory,Open in WEx,CLI,APPDIR:WorkbenchExplorer %d
,Drawer,Open in WEx,CLI,APPDIR:WorkbenchExplorer %f
,Disk,Open in WEx,CLI,APPDIR:WorkbenchExplorer %f
;END WEx Menus


   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:28
From Germany
Posts: 295
hi.

when trying to copy files already exsiting in the target you get a (quite big - imho too big) window to decide what to do.
there are buttons to read the version and to create a hash. they open each a popup with the information.

i'd like to see:
1. the result should be displayed inside the first popup itself. not in a separate popup.
2. it would be nice to get at least the verion read automatically. maybe also the hash
3. allow to copy "newer versions"

all in all it also would be nice to see the version as column in the normal file list.

regards
michael

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:28
From Germany
Posts: 295
hi.

one more.
when i select a file and press the "info" button to see the file info i'd expect a popup. instead the detail section is opened.
but it is not closed when clicking on info again.
i presonally find this strange? at least i don't expext it to behave like this.

thanks and regards
michael

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 460
@MichaelMerkel

Quote:

hi.

one more.
when i select a file and press the "info" button to see the file info i'd expect a popup. instead the detail section is opened.
but it is not closed when clicking on info again.
i presonally find this strange? at least i don't expext it to behave like this.

thanks and regards
michael


I was thinking the same this morning, moreover I expected the RAWBInfo window
to open when I clicked on info and to have the protection bits displayed too. Instead there is a second window for the protection bits, maybe that should all be one and the same window?
It feels strange if it's not since it's always been like that since AmigaOS3.9 and also most other OS have one window for that.

I was about to write a request for that, but then I realised it is possible to implement with an ARexx script which calls RAWBInfo.

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 153
@nubechecorre

No. I wish. See the ChangeLog (and below from Amigo1) on how to add context menus.


@MichaelMerkel

Yeah, the file exists window keeps getting bigger. I have been trying to think of a new layout for a long time. I am using the already existing Hash function, I will see if I can't put it in the window. It will get taller......

I used to use RAWBInfo, now it is all internal. I could make it an option on which one to use. F6 toggles the Info window.

I like the Version column idea. But, it will slow down the scanning of drawers.....

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:28
From Germany
Posts: 295
@mritter0

Quote:

Yeah, the file exists window keeps getting bigger. I have been trying to think of a new layout for a long time. I am using the already existing Hash function, I will see if I can't put it in the window. It will get taller......

yes. maybe you can drop the filename in the upper two boxes and only print it in the header. and make the buttons/pictures smaller....
or make the window wider... no idea
Quote:

I used to use RAWBInfo, now it is all internal. I could make it an option on which one to use. F6 toggles the Info window.

I like the Version column idea. But, it will slow down the scanning of drawers.....

multithreaded? async reading? isn't this on the todo list anyway?

regards...
michael

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:54
From Sanremo
Posts: 1779
@Amigo1

thanks

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/10/18 10:25
From Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 88
@mritter0

My vote would be for a progressive loading of thumbnails.

Currently, when I load a directory full of images, Workbench Explorer grinds to a halt while it loads them all. I would prefer that it loaded the file-list, then progressively loaded the thumbnails.

   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 17:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 87
@mritter0

I would like Google Drive support

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 153
@daveyw

That is at the top of my list.


@SinanSam460

Already does.

http://os4depot.net/index.php?functio ... sc/amigacloudhandlers.lha

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 153
I am going to get back into programming again soon. Took a longer than planned break.

Any one have any other ideas/bugs/whatever?

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top

Re: Workbench Explorer wish list
Just popping in
Joined:
2015/9/28 23:42
From Bettendorf, IA, USA
Posts: 153
I have added a new column, Version. I also made it a separate process as my first test. All went well......

Except.....it is super slooowwwww.......

It takes 10-15 times longer than it does when getting the version as it scans the drawer. What is slowing the process down? Refreshing the listbrowser gadget. I have to get the version, detach the list, copy version to the cell, reattach the list with refresh. Repeat for each file.

Is there some secret way to refresh a single cell's data without having to do a complete refresh?

_________________
Workbench Explorer - A better way to browse drawers
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project