Home  
Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
72 user(s) are online (62 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 71

thellier, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6)


Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 11:31
From Russia
Posts: 4193
@samo79
Quote:

Yep expecially if they finally complete the PPC JIT support, but no news for now


For sure we can't hold hope for, they probably will say something "ppc jit was done for mos only, and wasn't part of bounty blablblabl" :)

Quote:

Aniway while we wait it might worth to continue with the "interim" release, some little bugs still in current 1.23 and would be nice to have them fixed while we wait for a new snapshot of Odyssey !


Why not :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2975
@kas1e

Quote:
For sure we can't hold hope for, they probably will say something "ppc jit was done for mos only, and wasn't part of bounty blablblabl" :)


Naa don't be too pessimistic

Quote:
Why not :)


Good, if you need i have already a couple of problems that are almost always reproducible in 1.23, well along with my long list of problem related to MUI MPlayer but this is another story ... just hope you will have the motivation :-/

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2878
@samo79

Quote:

Good, if you need i have already a couple of problems that are almost always reproducible in 1.23, well along with my long list of problem related to MUI MPlayer but this is another story ... just hope you will have the motivation :-/

I may be wrong, but i don't think kas1e will be available

He said:
Quote:

No from me (as i not programmer, just know some basic stuff).


So we might need to find another coder who is willing to take care of the bugs (and maybe optimizations)

I'm all for updating/bug fixing Odyssey as long as there isn't an alternative on-par, i have a few bugs/behaviours myself i'd love to have fixed

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2975
@Raziel

Quote:
I may be wrong, but i don't think kas1e will be available


Why not ?
He already did various fixes in various interim releases availible somewhere in this forum (latest are the beta 9) .. if he want he can work some more into and then release it, nothing impossible ...

Quote:
So we might need to find another coder who is willing to take care of the bugs (and maybe optimizations)


Odyssey is completely different than MPlayer, what we need in Odyssey is a completely rewrite of the video part, but the browser is pratically 99% finished.

The video part need a rewrite because Fab used CyberGraphiX while we should have a native OS4 implementation instead

So yes kas1e need an external help for rewriting the video part, but all the rest (excluding little bugs and maybe the spellcheck functionality) are pratically done already

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 727
@samo79
i am thinking about it to create another bounty for Odyssey
The goal should be:
-Full hardware video playback using LiveforitMplayer, RadeonHD2.x driver
-LiveforitMPlayer should be the default videoplayer for Odyssey
-Videoplayer must be embedded in Odyssey like the default mediaplayer
-Javascript optimization for heavy webpages like Facebook etc.
-Ahi fixing
-JIT PPC optimization
-Downloads should also be added into the browser without a second window (as an option)

Any suggestion?


_________________
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network/
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28870
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From A haunted Castle somewhere in the Bavarian Mountains
Posts: 2878
@tommysammy

-Videoplayer must be embedded in Odyssey like the default mediaplayer
...and should be able to easily switch between Fullscreen and Window...

-Downloads should also be added into the browser without a second window (as an option)
...Please don't make it an option, but a requirement!
I'd fancy a little information window only with the name of the downloading file (limited to some 30 or so characters, so that more than one downloads can be shown, just like tabs) on the bottom bar of Odyssey (like all modern browsers have it)...with the possibility to click on it to open a pull-down menu where one can "Cancel", "Stop" and "Restart" (greyed out of course, depending on which is available)...


- Add a rudimentary download manager (see point above)

- Built against the newest libs to cover all the latest security holes
(that might mean to port those libs in the first place, though)

-Built against the latest webkit
(again, that might mean *a lot* of work beforehand)

_________________
If slaughterhouses had glass walls, everyone would be a vegetarian. ~ Sir Paul McCartney
-
Did everything just taste purple for a second? ~ Philip J. Fry
-
Ain't got no cash, ain't got no style, ladies vomit when I smile. ~ Dr. John Zoidberg
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 2975
@tommysammy

I don't see any of that points as feasible, explain below:

Quote:
-Full hardware video playback using LiveforitMplayer, RadeonHD2.x driver
-LiveforitMPlayer should be the default videoplayer for Odyssey
-Videoplayer must be embedded in Odyssey like the default mediaplayer


Odyssey have its own video player already, you can't take MPlayer and just slip it inside Odyssey, it will be a completely nonsense not to mention that even if possible it will be huge work alone, by the way i doubt it will be any fast ..

Also using the hardware acceleration of RadeonHD will simply cut off all the other users that still using the older Radeon 9xxx card (the vast majority if you count the old AmigaOne and the Sam440)

What we need is (starting from the current code) rewriting the CyberGraphiX parts with their Picasso96 (or graphics.library) counterparts, in short we should change the current code with somethings more native (OS4) code, then of course any optimization can be done starting by that

Quote:
-Javascript optimization for heavy webpages like Facebook etc.
-JIT PPC optimization


JIT is already in the work by a MorphOS developer (Bigfoot if i remember correctly) so better wait for him rathen then start anything related by scratch .. if he succeeds (crossing finger) then we might backport it easily along with an eventual future release of Odyssey

Quote:
-Ahi fixing


What problem do you have ?

Quote:
-Downloads should also be added into the browser without a second window (as an option)


Well personally i don't have any problem with the separate window (look almost standard), however eventually you might ask Fab directly, he might add it as alternative solution

Aniway create a bounty can be a good idea, but any kind of specific should be decided by (eventual) developers.

What i will suggest for a realistic bounty is that:

1 - Port Odyssey 1.24+

2 - Rewrite the CyberGraphiX codes with their Picasso96 (or graphics.library or whatelse) native counterparts, then optimize

3 - Add a SpellChecker support as in MorphOS (someone need to rewrite a similar library for AmigaOS4)

4 - Fix the remaining bugs (still some)

5 - Port SWFDec from MorphOS ?



   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2639
@samo79

Quote:
2 - Rewrite the CyberGraphiX codes with their Picasso96 (or graphics.library or whatelse) native counterparts, then optimize


That be graphics.library for AmigaOS4.1FE, Picasso96 is legacy.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/11/21 2:30
From Israel
Posts: 120
So I guess as far as my question was concerned, no one is using TW with old addons.

   Report Go to top

Re: Timberwolf RC3 available
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/6/1 13:11
From Germany
Posts: 727
@samo79

When i listen to music over AmigaAmp and start then a video in Odyssey, there is no sound ouput. I have to close AmigaAmp first and then to start the video again for sound output.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000 Betatester A1-X1090
AmigaOne X1000/4GB Ram/Saphire Radeon 7850 1GB/256GB SSD HD/2GB CF Card/RTL8169Network/
http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28870
   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6)



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project