Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
84 user(s) are online (59 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 83

sofistisoftware, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

X11 Forwarding via AmiCygnix?
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
A few ignorant questions from me on AmiCygnix:
* Is there a terminal that comes with it eg. xterm. I have looked but have not found anything yet.
* I would like to X11 forward from my Linux machine. If there is a terminal will it support ssh -X? I have tried exporting the DISPLAY variable via sshterm on the Amiga side but that failed.

Go to top
Re: X11 Forwarding via AmiCygnix?
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
@prowler

Hi.
There is no terminal for Amicygnix but you should be able to X11 forward some stuff from your linux machine.
Here is a screenshot i made in 2012 with xterm.
Resized Image(click to open in newtab for fullsize)

I'm not an linux expert and i do not remember any more how i did it but it should be doable even today.
I might have some clues somewhere on my hdd.

Go to top
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

See User information
@prowler

No, there is no terminal available for AmiCygnix so far.

The easiest way to launch a Linux application on an AmiCygnix display is this:

1. To add permission to run an application on (e.g.) AmiCygnix display 0, add a new line to "Cygnix:CygnixPPC/etc/X0.hosts" and add the IP of your Linux machine.

2. Launch the application (e.g. xterm) like this on your Linux machine:

xterm --display=Amiga-IP:0

Go to top
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
Thanks. Point 1 is what I was missing. I was after a terminal to either try and ssh -X or do an xhost + command.

With point 1 I have been able to retarget a few applications as part of my testing.

Go to top
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
@cygnusED