Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
102 user(s) are online (84 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 102

more...

Support us!

Headlines




(1) 2 »


AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
I am testing the 4.1FE with Voodoo3
I have these libraries in the Warp3D / HWdrivers drawer:
W3D_AvengerLE.library
W3D_AvengerBE.library
W3D_Avenger.library

I noticed for example that instead for the Radeon or the Voodoo model 4/5 there is only one library and not three.
Why are there 3 libraries for the Voodoo3?
are all three needed?
Thanks everyone for any help.

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 731
"LE" and "BE" likely refers to endianness of component pixel formats. One is essentially backwards to the other. I don't know whether that has to do with restrictions of the hard- or firmware.

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
@Thematic
@All
Thanks for the reply
everything is working fine and a new thing for me.
With amigaos4.1FE do I also need to install CyberGraphX v3 / 4 for compatibility with other applications or is it not needed?
Thanks again for your patience.


Edited by white on 2020/12/21 13:59:32
   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 731
Don't install CGX, there's "enough" compatibility.

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2968
@white

OS4.1 support piacsso96 (wrapper over graphic.library), CyberGraphX is a competing API.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
@Thematic
thanks for your advice
I have to get some experience on this new configuration.
Thanks again

@LiveForIt
perfect thanks

while sdl is always supported even using the Voodoo?

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/27 10:47
From Gravity well
Posts: 731
SDL surfaces ("2D") are supported with any graphics. Voodoo has Warp3D drivers, so MiniGL is supported. SDL should be using that for its "3D" functionality.

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
@Thematic
Thanks again
and thanks for your explanation

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
Sorry again,
Are the Warp3D 4.2.a for 4.1FE those downloadable from the hyperion site?
Thanks again

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
sorry if i ask again,
the problem i am having is this:
when i run the tests with Warp3D in ppc there are artifacts and transparencies.
While if I run the 68k version everything looks good.
Also if I start the tests included in the minigl package (latest version) everything is perfectly visible.
I guess the tests included in the minigl package are written in ppc?
Because they all work perfectly.
Is it a Warp3D bug?
Am I wrong configuration of Warp3D?

The warp3Ds I used are the ones I downloaded from the hyperion site

Thanks for any help
I leave the video here to explain better I hope to find a solution
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0MjXuyMSaUY

here i tried to watch for example the Encore Sulaco demo works fine but there are artifacts like in Warp3D
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=09FeQHenapY


Edited by white on 2020/12/22 17:43:43
   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2968
@white

Looks like maybe a mix different problems, maybe because you are emulating a voodoo, when your running quake you have Z-buffer bug, so that’s that.

Another part of the problem is old Warp3d/MiniGL was upgraded to support new features, the newer 3d drivers did not display shadows in Wipeout2097, transparent walls in Heretic II, and so on. Many of the older games where never upgraded to support newer features, I see your trying to run lot of old WarpOS stuff.

Many of computers (AmigaONE-X1000, Sam440, Sam460) can’t run Guru mediation WarpOS wrapper, because CPU was not compatible, so as time went on it was something most users did not care about.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2020/12/22 23:23:49
Edited by LiveForIt on 2020/12/22 23:26:41
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
@LiveForIt
Thanks for the reply,
I was reading about this warp3d problem which was not perfect, too bad because emulation works very well even a patch like rewarp would be fine.
I tried rewarp but unfortunately it doesn't work.
I guess the problem is warp3d 4.2a
I'll try other ways but I think maybe there is no solution

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2968
@white

Rewarp was only partially compatible, I’m not sure what is going on with that project this days.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/6/3 13:49
Posts: 269
>shadow in wipeout2097

Is a bug in wipeout2097: bad parameters for a warp3d fonction = only works for old badly written warp3d drivers that dont understand the parameters = not a warp3d bug

There is an env-var parameter to patch this

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
@All
I also tried old versions of warp3D but it seems that the only one with AVENGER "drivers" is Warp3D 4.2a
Unfortunately I cannot test the other versions
I found some "Cosmos" updates but they seem to be written for 68k
I'm equally happy because 4.1FE works well with wazp3D (thellier)
But for example the use of Voodoo + Warp3D 4.2a enables functions that I couldn't use before example GrimFandango in opengl the ppc demos etc.
I was wondering if a "bounty" to write something like (Wazp3D) could be written to patch Warp3D 4.2a at least in its main functions it would be fine anyway it is an emulation and at the moment it works well and I think it can be improved.

Any suggestions or recommended programs are welcome
to test if it works.
Thanks again for your patience

separate note:
the files to be moved in ENV where they go I could be wrong in:
Prefs/Env-Archive ?
they seem not to work

it also seems that after starting the system on 16mb of video memory there are at least 10 megabytes left from the "sysmon" ratio so the graphics memory seems to be available.
Although initially it seemed that Voodoo didn't have enough video memory.
Now I don't know if "sysmon" has a real emulation ratio
thanks


Edited by white on 2020/12/23 6:22:13
   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
@Thellier
@All
a patch like "PatchWarp3D" would be possible
at least for some main functions for demo games and the like,
Thanks

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
Sorry, has anyone ever had a voodoo 3
with amigaos 4.1 Classic update 3-6?
did warp3d work or was it having problems?
Thanks.

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
I have done various tests with amigaOS 4.1FE update2 + voodoo3 is a configuration that works with some small tricks.

I wanted to ask a question
I saw for example that the PPC Demos + dedicated graphics card (voodoo3) work well but with the use of Rewarp.
while other applications work without the use of rewarp therefore with the standard libraries of 4.1FE update 2.

The question is this:
It is possible to create a script that uses both libraries and use them hot without rebooting the system.
So the script should copy the libraries and enable for example Rewarp in some circumstances or the opposite copy the standard libraries of 4.1FE and start compatible applications?

Is it possible to do this or does the system need to be rebooted because it needs to read the libraries on boot?

Thanks and sorry for the perhaps a bit strange question.

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2018/1/4 10:56
From Italy
Posts: 387
here for example quakeGL works with standard libraries
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LnGrlg-ag8E

here instead the "Demo Sulaco" works with Rewarp
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XP0hR7lWH0Q

currently they are not compatible with each other
the script would be used to exchange libraries based on the applications to be used

Thanks for any suggestion

   Report Go to top

Re: AmigaOs 4.1FE Classic Voodoo 3 libraries
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2968
@white

Quote:
is possible to create a script that uses both libraries and use them hot without rebooting the system.


Yes, but it’s not always guarantied.

if a game or program has crashed with the library open it can not be unloaded from memory, or of the program has bad exit code, the library keeps track of the numbers of programs using library by a internal counter, it counts up when the library is open, and count down when the library is closed.

The OS will not immediately flush none used libraries, it will flush libraires when the cpu is idle / low cpu usage, or at critical memory levels, however you can make a suggest to the system that it needs to flush closed libraries, by using the command.

availmem flush

You can check libcount using Scout (OS4 version), to check when it does not flush.

Sadly, the OS cannot tell you what program that is keeping the library open. (users of the library are not keep track of, well technically it can, if that features is built into the library, but it’s not the standard way, and there is no standard way pull that information, if someone has done it.)


Edited by LiveForIt on 2021/1/4 21:17:43
Edited by LiveForIt on 2021/1/4 21:18:31
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project