Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
152 user(s) are online (124 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 151

Maijestro, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

Layers.library and OS4.1 compositing mode
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

See User information
Is there anything that one should know about things to avoid to do with Layers.library when OS 4.1 compositing mode is on ?
Now I'm new to Layers.library, I just want to be sure that following is legal :
- creating a compatible bitmap using p96AllocBitMap() from window->RPort->BitMap
- creating a NewLayerInfo()
- creating a behind layer calling CreateBehindLayer() and passing it the previously created bitmap and layer info,
- then extracting the rastport from this layer info
- using this rastport to do the graphics things (mainly BltBitMapRastPort())
- then extracting the layer from the rastport,
- using this extracted layer in InstallClipRegion( , NULL )
- deleting the layer using DeleteLayer()
- extracting the bitmap from the rastport and p96FreeBitMap()'ing it

Especially it's not clear what happens to the layer's rastport after the layer has passed through DeleteLayer() (as I'm trying to retrieve its bitmap after DeleteLayer())

Back to a quiet home... At last
Go to top
Re: Layers.library and OS4.1 compositing mode
Not too shy to talk
Not too shy to talk

See User information
@abalaban

DeleteLayer will free all memory allocated by Create#?Layer, so your RastPort will be gone and you must not access it any more.

The question is why you would need to extract the bitmap from the rastport although you already know it because you allocated it yourself ?

The same applies to extracting the layer from the rastport when you extracted the rastport from the layer just before. A little too much "extracting" for my taste.

And why do you InstallClipRegion(NULL) if you never did InstallClipRegion(anything) ?

Bye,
Thomas

Go to top
Quite a regular