Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
60 user(s) are online (45 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 60

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Just popping in
Joined:
3/31 1:04
From Texas
Posts: 3
Anyone know if there is any ppc emulator(s) for 680x0 based Amigas ?

   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Supreme Council
Joined:
2006/11/19 18:16
From London, England
Posts: 1281
I would hazzard a guess at "probably not", as I would assume the emulation would be so slow as to make it not worth anyones time to even try.

Simon

_________________
Comments made in any post are personal opinion, and are in no-way representative of any commercial entity unless specifically stated as such.
----
http://codebench.co.uk
   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 13:23
From England
Posts: 3541
@ScarFez
It's called a Blizzard/Cyberstorm PPC card

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2010/3/28 14:03
From Palencia (capital of the mythical Vaccean Kingdom)
Posts: 611
@ScarFez
You have think to emulate 32 bits on a machine of 16 is like to emulate an Amiga on an Amstrad.

_________________
Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
WinUAE + original AmigaOS 3.5&3.9
Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.10.
PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.10.
   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 223
@ScarFez

I think you have to be clear about the fundamental
differences in scale you're facing....

You want to emulate a processor type on another processor
that was exponentially less powerful than the first ?

Even if someone could get past all the things that are
missing, it's not going to work very well.

Kinda like trying to make a Piper Cub act like an F-16.

Good luck,

PJS


   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Supreme Council
Joined:
2006/11/16 19:25
From Sweden
Posts: 3133
@ScarFez

Don't think there is one at the moment, but not impossible to do.

What's the use case you're thinking of?

_________________
Vacca foeda. Sum, ergo edo

Mr Bobo Cornwater
   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2703
@ScarFez

Let's say Vampire is going be bit faster than a PPC603/604, the overhead of the emulation is going be slower then a PPC603/604, that means it suck at running most stuff.

PPC has 32 x 32bit general registers, r0 to r31, and lots of double float point registers, f0 … that has to be emulated on system with just 8 data register and 8 address registers, where most don't even have FPU. Registers can be emulated in an array so that not a problem really.

There be no endian emulation needed, as that’s the same.

If you wont to run AmigaOS4 on AmigaOS3, you run into nasty memory conflict where address 0x000004 is used by two operating systems for ExecBase, somehow you need to solve that, or you need relocate one OS so it won't be conflict, or kill of OS3 while the emulation is running.

Interpreted emulation be dog slow, that means you need to implement a JIT compiler, which be urge amount of work. beyond that a PowerPC is maybe called a RISK but it has a lot of opcodes you need to emulated.

Hats of to anyone that can do it, as challenge it might worth it, as anything useful it is most likely not.
WinUAE has PowerPC emulation already.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 2:30
From Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 182
@LiveForIt

Emulating a PPC was briefly discussed a short while ago on the Apollo core forums.

The Apollo core has enough registers to match those in the PPC.

I believe the general opinion was there were matching instructions/addressing modes/registers for everything on the PPC.


   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2703
@gregthecanuck

If talking about FPGA, then I guess just question having different FLASH for the FPGA, depending on space in FPGA, you emulate some most used instruction in FPGA, and do software emulation of less common instructions.

It pretty slow PowerPC system maybe 300Mhz Sam440 like system, or A1200 Blizzard 300Mhz like system, AmigaOS4 does not use 68K core once it loaded, so you kick out some stuff when AmigaOS4 loads, and use that Space in the FPGA for PowerPC instructions.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: ppc emulation for Amiga 680x0 systems ?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/5 2:30
From Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 182
@LiveForIt

*IF* someone were to do an emulation of PPC it would likely be done something like Petunia emulates 68K on OS4.

But there really isn't any point IMO. See a more recent discussion here: http://www.apollo-core.com/knowledge.php?b=4¬e=14155

Cheers!


   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project