Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
85 user(s) are online (70 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 85

more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net





Format a drive with DOS\03
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 505
Little problem here, how can I force format a partition to the DOS\03 FileSystem?
Following problem:

1) connected a 4 GB CF-card to the AmigaOne (OS4.1u2) through an USB card reader.
2) open Media ToolBox and selected usbdisk.device
3) chosen the card to partition it
4) made 3 partitions, 2 SFS\00, one DOS\03
5) saved to disk and rebooted as requested
6) format the 3 partitions in WB

result

SFS partitions are formatted as requested, but the DOS\03 partition transforms to DOS\07.


Obviously I have taken care _not_ to accidentally select "long file names".
If I open "Media ToolBox" now, the partition is displayed as (and transformed to) DOS\07

I tried a few times, reselecting DOS\03 or DOS\01 as FS for this and the other partitions and Saved the changes, but it stubbornly gets transformed to DOS\07 after format.

Questioning the Workbench "GUI-front-end" of the Format command, I tried with the shell:

1> FORMAT DRIVE CFD0: NAME EMPTY OFS NOINTL QUICK

and again

1> FORMAT DRIVE CFD0: NAME TEST OFS QUICK

and again

1> FORMAT DRIVE CFD0: NAME TEST OFS NODIRCACHE QUICK

and again

1> FORMAT DRIVE CFD0: NAME TEST OFS NODIRCACHE NOINTL QUICK

and again

1> FORMAT DRIVE CFD0: NAME TEST FFS QUICK

and again

1> FORMAT DRIVE CFD0: NAME TEST FFS QUICK NOINTL NODIRCACHE QUICK

the results are all the same, it will format to DOS\07 and transform the partition.
I thought of a display bug in RAWBInfo but it definitively is DOS\07 since the partitions are not recognized on OS3.1-OS3.9

any idea of what I am doing wrong? :-/

   Report Go to top

Re: Format a drive with DOS\03
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/3/11 8:29
From Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 868
@Amigo1

If I recall one of the digits in the identifer box was incorrect in one of the releases? check this and try installing it on this particular partition again?

I can't recall exactly what it was... of course, it might also be unrelated

_________________
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
   Report Go to top

Re: Format a drive with DOS\03
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 505
@Slayer

Had a look, but no, the identifier seems correct, it's the same as in os 3.1.. but thanks for the suggestion..

   Report Go to top

Re: Format a drive with DOS\03
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/26 17:45
Posts: 271
@Amigo1

You can use this to check and change what is stored in the partition table: http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online. ... wnloads/changebootpri.lha

   Report Go to top

Re: Format a drive with DOS\03
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 505
@thomas

thanks, wil have a look at it

   Report Go to top

Re: Format a drive with DOS\03
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/3/11 8:29
From Dunedin, New Zealand
Posts: 868
@Amigo1

Is this 3rd partition the one giving trouble? and is this partition also occupying the last group of cylinders? Try decreasing the amount by one? Sometimes quirky situations require illogical procedures

Perhaps when you read in the manufacturers settings you could calculate new ones? I used to do it all the time but I couldn't tell you how to do it now LOL

Is the block size 512? probably default but who knows.

Perhaps partition it all again but don't set the two other partitions yet (as in don't save it so it survives reboot) but only this problem partition...

There's heaps of things to do that are whacked LOL but I've forgotten alot of stuff since moving to the SAM units...

Good Luck

Perhaps Thomas utility solved it all anyway

_________________
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x
   Report Go to top

Re: Format a drive with DOS\03
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/6 19:36
Posts: 505
@Slayer

I was a bit fed up with it, so I connected the drive to an A1200 and partitioned it there.
Il make a note to myself to try out your suggestion and thomas's utility the next time I'll have some spare time.

thanks

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project