Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
109 user(s) are online (83 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 108

Raziel, more...

Headlines






Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
Hi there,

since I like to play my old games from time to time I most often play RTS like NAPALM and Exodus.

Since I remembered that there has been a tcpip-Patch for NAPALM I downloaded it and gave it a try.
I used a WinUAE Laptop on one side and my A4000 060/CVPPC at the other side.

Setup of the game and getting connection in NAPALM between both computers worked like a charme. Also unit movement and scrolling have been quite playable IMO (well not the best speed of course).

So if anybody would be interested to play a NAPALM game via Internet, please just let me know.

Bye

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@Reth

For Napalm there is patch to remove chipset dependency by simply removing the timing, this of cause make the game unplayable. As runs like 100 times as fast on X1000, then it should.

I tried to run Exodus Demo few times, rumors has that full game works, I remember the demo being buggy as well, so I had no interest in buying the full game.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
Ok, but would you like to play a NAPALM game via internet then?

In WinUAE speed is acceptable here and quite fine without that patch. Same for AOS3.9 on A4000/060.

NAPALM also runs on AOS4 here (Peg2) with the patch from Alfkil - but no network game possible there.

Exodus also works here IMO even within AOS4 (did not try for a long time though).

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/2/11 7:11
From Europe
Posts: 53
I have not tried Napalm before, but love RTS-games in general. Is it free to download or is it perhaps for sale somewhere?

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@BobSacamano

Its binary diff file, so it only includes the changes, by doing so, it does not violate copyrights.

In other words you need original game, and then apply the patch, I’m sure it's documented in the readme of the patch.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/7/7 4:34
From Man Cave, Canada
Posts: 2536
@Reth

love to play but my A4000 is in parts now due to a no sound issue even though it was fully re-capped few years ago...anyhow if I can get it running on my X1000 under E-UAE with the patch mentioned here I'll be good to go...now to find that CD...

_________________
_______________________________
c64-dual sids, A1000, A1200-060@50, A4000-CSMKIII
Indivision AGA & Catweasel MK4+= Amazing
! My Master Miggies-Amiga1000 & AmigaONE X1000 !
mancave-ramblings

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/2/11 7:11
From Europe
Posts: 53
@LiveForIt

Thanks for the information. I will have a look for the game. :)

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
@LiveForIt:
Yes, it is described in the readme file.


@328gts:
It also works with WinUAE, tested it already.

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2020/6/30 1:08
From United States
Posts: 47
Im on it as soon as i figure out if and how i can get it to work in Emulation if not native in OS4.1

Sold my Amigas years ago to come to the US and never got another one, besides the Price for that old Hardware is ridiculous. I would never pay that kind of money for anything that ancient. Its kinda like selling your first bought car for new price.


   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
@devils_advisorQuote:
Im on it as soon as i figure out if and how i can get it to work in Emulation if not native in OS4.1


It works quite well e.g. within a AOS3.9 emulation in WinUAE.

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2020/6/30 1:08
From United States
Posts: 47
Alright I have the 2 games on the way. The demo won't work for online gaming I guess. From gathering infos on Google I need a patch for tcp/up. Is there one for both games? Might need some guidance once I got the discs 😁

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
@devils_advisor:

Hm, don't know what is meant by "2 Games" resp. "both games"?

Do you mean your two installations - trying to connect them with each other? If so I just tried here with the full version, not the demo.

Sorry regarding the patch. I forgot to provide the link. That patch can be downloaded e.g. from here and it needs to be applied to every NAPALM installation individually.
The patch contains a readme and installation is quite easy.

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2020/6/30 1:08
From United States
Posts: 47
@Reth napalm and exodus

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
Hm, for Exodus I do not know about any kind of patch to make online play network/internet capable.

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2014/2/11 7:11
From Europe
Posts: 53
I got Napalm running today! :) The patch on OS4Depot (http://os4depot.net/?function=showfil ... =game/strategy/napalm.lha) works here on my Sam460ex. Not tried network yet, but happy that it runs!

   Report Go to top

Re: Anybody interested in a NAPALM game via network?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/9/5 22:15
Posts: 79
So far I did not manage to get the network patch running together with the AOS4-patched version. The menues are scrambled and connection does not work. IMO it is also mentioned somewhere (maybe in the AOS4 patch readme).

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project