Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
98 user(s) are online (71 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 97

Paul, more...

Headlines






ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 295
Hi & Merry Christmas All!

Under our tree I got a little stack of CDs and I wanted to
get them ripped to all my Amigas...

But I'm finding with ADRipper (v1.13) that I keep getting a
"CDDB connection error". It doesn't if I use "CDDBP" or
"HTML" protocol.

Anyone else hit this or have an insight into a solution?

Thanks in advance!

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:30
From Finland
Posts: 1805
@pjs

It's because the freedb.org server used by ADRipper has been shut down.

See post from trixie here:
https://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum ... id=121295#forumpost121295

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 295

Yeah, I just found an article on it all...

https://liliputing.com/2019/12/freedb- ... -free-music-database.html

...and found an alternate DB site called "MusicBrainz" that
is even supposed to have a FreeDB compatible API mirror...

http://mb.videolan.org/doc/FreeDB_Gateway

But (there's always one), that doesn't work with ADRipper
either. After "Querying CDDB..." it pops up the
connection error message again.

Bummer.

Reading the thread above, it looks like no more work is
intended for ADRipper...

Double Bummer.

It seemed to work great and I don't know why Trixie would
want to scrap it.

c'est la vie.

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/5/22 12:35
From Mobile, Alabama, USA
Posts: 245
Is there an alternative for ADRipper for the platform? Or is it a one-of-a-kind useful tool?

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1322
@pjs

Quote:
It seemed to work great and I don't know why Trixie would want to scrap it.

I don't want to scrap it, I want to make it better. Which is a goal I can't possibly reach with the original program design. This is why I've been thinking about writing a new program - see the thread linked to by salass00.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 295
@trixie

LOL

I guess I just don't see what more I want from a CD
ripper program. I'm a big fan of things that just work.

;)

I was hoping adapting ADRipper's CDDB/FreeDB code to make
it work with MusicBrainz wouldn't take that much effort.

Sorry.

PJS




   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1276
@pjs

I thought MusicBrainz was gone also? Maybe not.

There is a more compatible replacement for freedb.org, called gnudb.org.

I'm using it fine with the old FreeDB program by Alfie (which does have a few other quirks and crashes and is also no more updated ).

Problem is it can't be used with ADRipper, because it uses a proxy, which ADRipper doesn't have any way of configuring.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 295
@nbache

gnudb.org may be another great option. Something I wonder
how hard would be to support.

Knowing little what they're doing, I wonder whether the proxy could somehow be spoofed through the "hosts" file?

Grasping at straws... ;)

Thanks,

PJS


   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/10 21:56
From Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 183
@nbache
Thank you for the gnudb.org suggestion, ripped half of my CD collection with ADRipper on my old A1XE, will try the other half now, is the X5000 SATA.device fixed with AOS4.1FE Update2?


Edited by khayoz on 2020/12/27 12:27:53
_________________
1989-> A500, A600, A3000, A4000, A1200, CD32, µA1, PegII, A1XE, CDTV, Amy/416D79, A1X5000, Vampire 500 V2+, Vampire 600 V2, Amy-ITX<-2021
   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 295
@khayoz

Oh Cool! gnudb.org DID WORK!

Thanks khayoz for pointing that out!

I set ADRipper's settings to:

protocol = CDDBP
server = gnudb.gnudb.org
port = 8880

I left all the remaining query/submit paths as they were
and ADRipper was able to populate a CD contents.

I'm not yet sure whether the "submit" functionality works.
Will have to mess with that a bit more.

Fantastic in any case. Should stop by the used CD store
to celebrate! ;D

Thanks,

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 295

Well, FWIW, I found a new disk that wasn't in the gnudb
yet, so I filled in the data & ripped it (again).

I don't know when ADRipper makes it's data submission to
the server, but there were no complaints.

OTOH, going to the server's search page didn't immediately
reflect my submission either. Maybe it needs to be vetted,
seconded, didn't work or something?

Thanks,

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1322
@pjs

Quote:
going to the server's search page didn't immediately reflect my submission either. Maybe it needs to be vetted, seconded, didn't work or something?

This happened to me too when freedb.org was still in operation: some submissions that appeared successful never showed up in the database. Unfortunately, ADRipper has not much say in what happens there because the entire submission business is handled by libcddb.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1276
If there was something in your submission the server wanted to complain about (syntactic error, clash with another submission, mess with version numbers or similar), I'd expect it to send you a mail with the error info. That's what the FreeDB server did to me whenever that happened.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2009/3/10 10:51
From Germany
Posts: 638
@pjs:

Perfect, thank you very much!

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000
   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/10 21:56
From Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 183
Just ripped a couple of CD's, everything seems to be working fine now with the new p50x0sata.device/vsata.device, no more duplicates when switching CD.



Edited by khayoz on 2020/12/28 5:42:51
_________________
1989-> A500, A600, A3000, A4000, A1200, CD32, µA1, PegII, A1XE, CDTV, Amy/416D79, A1X5000, Vampire 500 V2+, Vampire 600 V2, Amy-ITX<-2021
   Report Go to top

Re: ADRipper & CDDB errors?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4320
@all

Thank you for the heads up.

Just updated ADRipper settings...new CDs incoming...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project