Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
64 user(s) are online (46 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 63

trixie, more...

Support us!

Headlines






A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 448
Hello,
I just bought a 256Gb SSD and would like to boot from it on my A1XEG4.
At the moment I am booting from a HD connected to a sii0680 PCI and use a sii3512 PCI for backup purpose.
Now I would like to start directly AOS4.1 from the SSD connected to the sii3512 but so far U-Boot does not find the SLB (although I installed it in the RDB) but found the SSD.

So my question : is it at all possible to boot from a HD connected to a PCI sii3512 card in A1XEG4 ?

   Report Go to top

Re: A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
On AmigaOne, it is not possible as far as I know

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2947
USE media toolbox to install the SLB_V2 into the hardrive RDB sector.

Sam460's can boot of sii3512 cards, I don't think AmigaONE-XE can do that, it because i dont think the old Uboot supports the card.

Type this in UBOOT

ide info 0
ide info 1
ide info 2

if you see your hard drive then you can, if you do not see your hard drive then you can not.

Exit UBOOT and type menu
go boot menu and select boot device there.

You also need to check if UBOOT var sii*_CONF is configured correct.

* is the model number.

XXXX = unit 0 to 3
XX = unit 0 to 1

0 is not conncted
1 is hd
2 is cdrom.

Number of digits matches number of units on the controller.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2012/9/15 10:27:26
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 696
Quote:


XXXX = unit 0 to 4
XX = unit 0 to 1

0 is not connected
1 is cdrom
2 is hd.


You've got that round the wrong way.

"1" is HD, "2" is ATAPI (CD-ROM, etc).

Refer to the docs in Documentation/IDE/sii3512ide_dev.doc


_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/11/27 17:23
Posts: 535
A1XE cannot boot from the 3512 because the UBoot is too old.

You have to have a minimal boot disk which just loads kickstart, and then you can boot off the 3512, I believe. I have a disk on my internal IDE which switches control to a JXFS partition on my 3512.

_________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my company's shop: http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - specialising in Sinclair Spectrums but will be adding Amigas!
   Report Go to top

Re: A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2947

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: A1XEG4 : booting from sii3512 ?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/3 23:51
From France
Posts: 448
thx all for your answers...

I was fearing this kind of answer and the best bet is what Spirantho wrote : one HD for the initial kickstart modules and then the BootDevice set to the SSD.

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project