Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
129 user(s) are online (100 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 129

more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

Returning amigan. Go oldschool or newschool?
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
Just to introduce me since this is my first post. for the question, scroll to "But now".

I was born in '77. my father who was a radio enthusiast and in a magazine for related electronics he saw an ad for a computer. He invested in a vic 20 and when the c64 came out he was one of the first to secure one. So I grew up with the c64 and when I finally had saved up enough money I bought the amiga 500 with james pond bundle. Have to say, the upgrade from the c64 and the xt pc we had at that time to the amiga 500 was amazing. Not to mention the operative system was as everyone knows so far ahead at the time.

As a young student, I lusted for a amiga 4000 but when I finally could afford one commodore plunged. So I went the route into the PC world I sweared I would never take back in the days - but I kept to os2, then freebsd then linux just because I never liked the experience windows gave me. But due to work I am now using a Windows computer. Even though my longest running primary computer was a thinkpad running freebsd and amiwm. A very lightweight window manager that emulates the workbench 2.0 look and feel.

But now...

for some reason I have started to really lust after a secondary computer that runs amiga os and I am torn between the thought of getting a beefed up classic or a amigaone which doesn't sound like runs much of the software of my beloved computer past.

I do have a Amiga CD32 - so most of my favorite games I can play. Not that I seem to find a way to run North & south but most of the rest do.