Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
80 user(s) are online (65 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 80

more...

Support us!

Headlines




(1) 2 »


Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
i'm trying to install a perfect os4.1 where everything work as it should, i have problem getting amistore to work.

my old install was on 18gb sfs/2 partition
blocksize 512
buffer 600
Maxtransfer: 1FE00
Mask: FFFFFFFE

Should i only do 2gb system disk? with same settings?

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 269
Hi noXLar,

My X5K has a pretty mature SYS: (lots of system files
installed) and it's only 425MB in size, so it seems like
you should be fine with even a 1GB patition.

I'd suggest, you should just be careful about what gets
installed where. SYS: is for the AmigaOS. Make sure to
install 3rd party apps to WORK:, that way your "perfect"
AmigaOS stays clean, reliable & (eventually) updatable.

With AmiStore, since it's just Amikit's schtick, you should
install it to somewhere on your WORK: partition. IIRC,
there should be a setting therein to set where it keeps its
files.

Good luck,

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@pjs

thanks for help.. size sorted out then:) will do 2gb

my real question was compatibility or know issues using big partition for boot.

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/3/26 0:56
From Los Angeles
Posts: 142
@noXLar

There is absolutely no reason for you to worry about max transfer or anything like that. Its not an a600. Amiga NG has proper support for auto reading hds.

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/6/11 9:51
From Cologne
Posts: 418
@noXLar
SSD? Then take care that it doesn't run in PIO mode! I had quite some trouble with certain SSDs in the past which apparently didn't correctly support PIO anymore here you find (all?) respective U-Boot env vars.
Regarding your settings: increasing buffers to e.g. 4000 or so won't hurt, leave the rest as is. And maxtransfer etc. are only used by FFS anyway.
Other than that I'd follow pjs recommendations. But technically large partitions are no problem at all with SFS or SFS2.

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Site Builder
Joined:
2006/12/2 23:57
From Athens/Dublin
Posts: 704
For an SSD you might want to set blocksize to 4096, since this is the minimum for these disks. As much as I know, and please correct me if I am wrong, if you set it to lower, the disk reserves 4096 blocksize, writing only the blocksize you set in there. This means that you do not use the full space, losing capacity on your disk.

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@Daytona675x & walkero

yea, they all SSD and i have not notice any problems using ssd, not sure what to look for (software wise) but as always (i might have been lucky) they all work like normal drives.

thanks alot for the information, i seem to have used wrong settings for the sdd someone said to me at amigaworld forum and now you guys here, so, i know what i need to do.

will add your buffers to 4000 and walkeros blocksize to 4096

2gb
block size 4096
buffer 4000
using sfs/02

yes i have the BDH0 partition at the start of hardisk. containing amigaboot.of.

i guess i will do that, and report back hehe

thanks guys

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@walkero

after checking the pjs recommended settings for SFS or SFS2. that Daytona posted, i will follow that:

"SFS\00 and SFS\02 support other block sizes but only 512 bytes should be used since it is slower with larger blocks. JXFS only supports 512 block size"

thanks

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1186
@noXLar

As far as I remember, using 512 as blocksize in SFS also limits the maximal partition size (to something like 128 GB? Not sure any more.).

But of course then you can just create more partitions on your disk, that way you also limit the data you can lose when one partition goes bad, and you can backup and restore a smaller amount of data per operation. Win-win .

Best regards,

Niels



   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@nbache

oh, rigth. it's why im asking this nubee questions to get it right, google around and search forums takes time.. why isnt amigawiki full of those nubee start up guides.. sorry the rant

anyway, thanks.. it ended up as 14gb.. hope os4 wont kill me

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@all

Hello again, my system are now ready for the next step, the goal getting amistore to run.

i have installed os4.1 from iso image found in hyperions site in user section for x1000 and have and installed few updates and software:

Os4.1 update 1 - using amiupdate
Mui updates - using amiupdate
AmiSSL 4.6 - using amiupdate
Snoopy - os4depot
netsurf - os4depot
odyssey beta07 - kas1e's ftp

But before i do, i wish to fix a problem to the default setting in os4 is that the fonts used is not compatible with some programs, not tried to track that font down because not sure how to begin. 2 programs i see affected by it is amiupdate, if you visit settings/open preferences and try to add another server, you can see the font there is broken, and if edited & save it crashes.
Second observation is when editing opus 4 settings for example edit drive button in drive button config, then select what drive to use for button you see it also have fonts broken the same way, so i feel the font issue are linked, opus4 dosen't crash, but can't speak of other software will behave with this issue.

here are one example fonts being broken: ^w~p^w~œ^w~È = name of a file

this is a clean install, and this happend every one of my os4.1 fresh install attempts.

incase this is also a problem i can get getting amistore to work i figured i should fix this first, any ideas?

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@noXLar

i made two screenshots to show what i mean


https://pasteboard.co/Js1JG4y.jpg
https://pasteboard.co/Js1K34D.jpg

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
i have tried changing all the fonts to another ones and also tested the very orginal fonts/old ones and it stays the same. i also tried not have anything activated in wbstart.

i wanted to test out early-startup by holding both mouse buttons, but how to access it, when do i need to time the 2 mouse button click, i tried 20 times with different time when booting up.. mostly warm reset, but did try cold 3-4 times.. i also tested pressing space and esc..


seems impossible.. would be good way to try to find the solution for the font problem, might be something that starts somewhere that can be disabled.. i'm not confortable to edit anything in startups sequence when i can't activate early startup. any ideas?

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1165
@noXLar

Quote:
i can't activate early startup. any ideas?

Have you tried plugging your keyboard to other USB ports? I vaguely remember that on my Sam440 only one port allowed the use of the keyboard during start-up time.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@trixie

thanks for posting.

keyboard can only be one place for for being able to use in CFE, but mouse could be use with any usb socket.. at least thats what manual says on x1000, but isnt it mouse that is the problem? pressing both button left&right at the same time to get early startup to appear?

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1186
@noXLar

To get to the early startup screen, it is sometimes easier to hold down the Help key during startup. You still need to time it correctly, but it is less tricky than the mouse buttons IMHO.

If you use a PC type keyboard, Help is the Scroll Lock key.

This information, and lots of other useful tips, can be found by clicking on the WBHelp (lightbulb) icon in your AmiDock, BTW.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 269
@noXLar

hmmm.. Interesting issue with fonts.

Obviously you are not using the default font on your
machine. Maybe you should try going back to the default
fonts to start with?

Looking at my OS4 install CD's font.prefs (in the System/
/Prefs/Env-Archive/Sys directory), it appears the default
fonts were all "DejaVu Sans" variants.

So I'd suggest to try going back to that and seeing if the
corrupted characters continue.

If the default font fixes the problem, the next step would
be to see what font you were using and why that one was
failing.

If the problem is still there with DejaVu Sans, maybe the
problem has something to do with locale settings?

Someone else with more experience there would have to say
more on that.

Good luck,

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/3/26 0:56
From Los Angeles
Posts: 142
@nbache

Cool I didnt know the Help key worked to bring up the start up.

   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@nbache

Excellent, will try that with "help" aka scroll lock key..

hmm.. don't seem to have that one on mine.

https://file.re/2020/09/22/81fotknxvnl ... 0/?download&st=1600742946

it's "FN + Pg Dn" for help, i wonder if that work, guess we have to see, or if find another keyboard..
and i will definitely be checking out that help app, first thing i did was to remove it.. just barely checked it..

thanks man

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top

Re: Installing OS4
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2011/11/29 0:54
From Norway
Posts: 296
@pjs

i had to test them all and see if that could help, tested all variants.. but, at the time when i asked help with fonts i had not changed anything with os4 settings. i had most things untouched so i could have better success with my main issue, getting amistore to work.

i'm actually testing alot now..just to find the reason

_________________
Sam460ex 2GB 120Gb SSD&1Tb HD7750 Envy24HT A-Eon Drv 2.10+Warp3D New Uboot
Amiga 1230 33mhz 128MB Indivision ACA 1200 MK2 USB PCMCIA WIFI 60GB&DVD-ROM OS 3.9
AmigaOne X1000 250SSD+1TB 7970
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project