Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
109 user(s) are online (89 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 109

more...

Support us!

Headlines






URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 493
I went through and edited the URL prefs to include Odyssey and SimpleMail.

I don't understand the meaning of the commandlines, so I simply typed in what showed for Netsurf in the Odyssey lines as such:
File "URL=*"file:///%s*""
HTTP "URL=*"http://%s*""
HTTPS "URL=*"https://%s*""
MAILTO "MAILTO=%s"
WWW "URL=*"http://www.%s*""

But I tried a couple links (http and HTTPS) in some emails and clicking on them does nothing. What do I need to change?

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4
X5000
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/5/18 11:12
From Audruicq, France
Posts: 70
Hi,

The "URL=" is not necessary with Odyssey because it doesn't need that argument to open a link from a command line. To open a link with odyssey (or OWB) you just need to do <Odyssey programm> <link or url>. Try like this in URL Prefs:
File "*"file:///%s*""
HTTP "*"http://%s*""
HTTPS "*"https://%s*""
WWW "*"http://www.%s*""

For the Mailto, is it working at all, because it should use your mailer directly, isn't it.

Regards,
Petrol


Edited by Petrol on 2020/8/5 11:37:03
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 493
@Petrol

Hi Petrol,

I changed the lines in my prefs to read like yours without the "URL=". Rebooted. But I still don't get any action out of Odyssey to open the link in the email. I've tried it with and without Odyssey already being open.

There's got to be something else in those lines, I guess.

Thanks

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4
X5000
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 493
@Petrol

Hi Petrol,

I changed the lines in my prefs to read like yours without the "URL=". Rebooted. But I still don't get any action out of Odyssey to open the link in the email. I've tried it with and without Odyssey already being open.

There's got to be something else in those lines, I guess.

Thanks

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4
X5000
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:28
From Germany
Posts: 303
i have no idea what simplemail uses to handle links. no settings exist.
it also does not work here.
maybe it uses openurl and not url prefs?
(i don't use simplemail usually - just started it for testing)

regards...
michael

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 493
@MichaelMerkel

I KNEW I used to have a different url program. The OS4 version of OpenURL didn't seem to allow any editing. So I removed it and installed the 68k version. Works great! I can now click on links in Simplemail and have them open in Odyssey.

Thank you, thank you, thank you

Paul

BTW, Michael, do you use Yam? Just wondering if it does IMAP yet. I don't have any POP3 accounts.

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4
X5000
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 22:28
From Germany
Posts: 303
@Paul

no. yam does not support IMAP at all sadly.

regards...
michael

_________________
Michael Merkel
(Michael.Merkel@gmx.net Home)
Member of Amiga-Freunde Pfalz, OS4 Welt
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1176
@Paul

Quote:
The OS4 version of OpenURL didn't seem to allow any editing.
Sure does. Open Prefs/URL, highlight the line you want to edit and click the Edit button below the list. Then the fields in the line open for editing.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 493
@nbache

HI Niels,

Yes, I got through those steps last night. But it wouldn't let me enter any text in the blank fields when I tried to enter text there.

I got rid of the 68k version and tried the OS4 version again tonight, and it worked as expected.

Forgot to reboot last night after running the install script, maybe?

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4
X5000
   Report Go to top

Re: URL prefs
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1176
@Paul

Yeah, it can be a bit finicky. The trick is usually to use the Tab key to move from one field to the next.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project