Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
41 user(s) are online (18 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 39

Paul, beworld, more...

Support us!

Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net






Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 444
Graphics card RX 580 or at a much lower price:
RX550

I've finally given up on my A1-XE. Can barely get it to boot. So I ordered an X5000/20 motherboard from Amigakit rather than waiting longer for an X5000/40.

I'll be getting the boot USB stick with the Enhancer pack included. Should I be able to boot into a working screen using the USB boot and this card? Or do I have to get an older card to set it up first, and then get this Gigabyte card put in?

After putzing around with the A1 for 18 years, I'll probably have a lot more questions as I venture into this new territory.

Is getting into and maneuvering around the Uboot screen pretty similar to how the A1 Uboot worked?

Thanks

Paul


Edited by Paul on 2020/6/19 20:05:16
_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4 2GB Sii Radeon 9250 Catweasel MKIII NEC USB2 OS 4.1FE Update 1
X5000 awaiting more parts and setup
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Site Builder
Joined:
2006/12/2 23:57
From Athens/Dublin
Posts: 614
Hello Paul,
I am sure you are going to have a blast when you first use your new machine. It is years ahead of the A1 XE. Especially those graphics cards.

If I were you, I would ask AmigaKit to get a compatible Gfx card and add it in the machine. Otherwise you may end up with one that is not 100% compatible.

But if I had to choose, I would prefer the RX 550, as it seems to be the most compatible and reccomended right now.

   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1132
@Paul

Get the RX 550, it's well supported and has enough power.

Unless your system comes fully pre-installed, install both the Radeon HD _and_ the Radeon RX driver from the Enhancer pack, and enable them in the "SYS:Kickstart/Kicklayout" file. You'll need to load the file into a text editor and add the following lines:

MODULE Kickstart/RadeonHD.chip
MODULE Kickstart/RadeonRX.chip

In my kicklayout, I've placed them just below the line that says MODULE Kickstart/PCIGraphics.card

I use an RX card but my system wouldn't boot when I had no "RadeonHD.chip" in the kicklayout, so I keep them both there.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/10 21:56
From Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 94
@Paul

Welcome to the X5000 family! :)

_________________
1989-> A500, A600, A3000, A4000, A1200, CD32, µA1, PegII, A1XE, CDTV, Amy/416D79, A1X5000, Vampire 500 V2+, Vampire 600 V2, Amy-ITX<-2020
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Just popping in
Joined:
3/29 14:21
From Finland
Posts: 5
@Paul

>So I ordered an X5000/20 motherboard from Amigakit rather
>than waiting longer for an X5000/40.

Congratulations!-)

Did you already get a confirmation about your order? Did they give you any info how fast they can currently send the Cyrus board...?

AmigaKit has been very difficult to contact lately :-/.

>I'll be getting the boot USB stick with the Enhancer pack
>included. Should I be able to boot into a working screen
>using the USB boot and this card? Or do I have to get an
>older card to set it up first, and then get this Gigabyte
>card put in?

The 'emergency boot stick' has both AmigaOS and the enhancer software installed, so it should be possible to boot directly from it, if just your graphics card is suported by the latest RadeonHD and RadeonRX drivers.

But you may have to first go to the UBoot cli and give there the "USB reset" command. At least my X5000 does not boot from any USB disk without that.

>Is getting into and maneuvering around the Uboot screen
>pretty similar to how the A1 Uboot worked?

I do not know about A1 Uboot, but there is one big problem with X5000: there is no complete documentation about the Uboot commands and env variables. You have to manage with the information you can get from Uboot cli itself using commands like 'env print'.

   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 444
@Paul

Thanks for the replies. I have the RX550 on its way from Newegg.

@Gregor
Yes, Amigakit has responded twice, said it will arrive in 5 days. I hope my XE will run long enough to edit the boot stick and make sure the Radeon drivers are in the right drawer and that they are listed in the Kicklayout.

Thanks for the heads up about the USB reset in Uboot, if I need it.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4 2GB Sii Radeon 9250 Catweasel MKIII NEC USB2 OS 4.1FE Update 1
X5000 awaiting more parts and setup
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/1/10 21:56
From Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 94
@Paul

At X5000 Uboot command line write help and press Enter -
X5000>help

http://wiki.amiga.org/index.php?title=X5000
There used to be an Uboot subpage on there, cant find it now..
But ask here and we will solve it for you!

Edit:

printenv - lists you the saved Uboot parameters.
setenv - sets a Uboot parameter.
saveenv - saves your edited parameters to flash.

Like the A1XE if I remember correctly.

_________________
1989-> A500, A600, A3000, A4000, A1200, CD32, µA1, PegII, A1XE, CDTV, Amy/416D79, A1X5000, Vampire 500 V2+, Vampire 600 V2, Amy-ITX<-2020
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:35
From Sydney
Posts: 694
@Paul

Long time no hear, hope you and your family are well.

You know whom to call if you have problems.


_________________
cheers
tony
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1132
@Gregor

Quote:
AmigaKit has been very difficult to contact lately

The phone is your best bet. Chris is always in the office.

_________________
Smoke me a kipper, I'll be back for breakfast!

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: Getting X5000. . . this graphics card work?... or this one?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/1 3:20
From Michigan, USA
Posts: 444
@khayoz

Thanks for the WIKI link. Good info there.

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand The monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4 2GB Sii Radeon 9250 Catweasel MKIII NEC USB2 OS 4.1FE Update 1
X5000 awaiting more parts and setup
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project