Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
46 user(s) are online (19 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 45

Paul, more...

Support us!

Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net






Parasite noise when moving windows
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
Hello,

I've just received my video capture but for the moment I can't capture anything since I have a some parasite noises when using video intensively (moving windows, watching video, 3D, etc...).

On this video : https://youtu.be/8kCFhS3P0AE (pump up the sound) you can even hear the hand of the clock moving on the WB.

I tried many things :

*Turn off the display
*Unplug the HDMI cable from the R7 250
*Unplug the HDMI cable from the video capture
*Plug the jack cable directly into the PC instead of the video capture
*Change sound card, migrating from the internal HD adio to a *PCI EMU10k card
*Tried to record the sound on another computer
*Tried to plug the jack in my speakers and then use the headphone out to plus another jack to the video capture (or to the PC).

This parasite noise won't disapear. What is weird is that I don't hear it usually, the sound is crystal clear, it's only when I want to record it that I can hear this.

If someone could point me to a solution (change video card?).

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 942
How well is your home electric system earthed?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@ddi : correctly. I live in a building.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6324
@K-L
For me, i have the same NOISE in shaderjoy, but ONLY when i disable VSYNC. With enabled VSYNC i have no such sound, and i have no such sound when do anything other on workench, like moving windowses, etc. Just noticed it myself noday with ShaderJoy first time, and only when VSYNC is disabled.

And i on beta os , and currently on RAdeonRX + latest RadeonRX drivers. So it's roll out possible issues with only driver, or with beta/non-beta

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Supreme Council
Joined:
2006/11/19 18:16
From London, England
Posts: 1316
It could also be low quality sheilded cables to your capture device. Some cheaper cables have rather naff sheilding, which can lead to RF interference, which manifests itself as "noise".

Simon

_________________
Comments made in any post are personal opinion, and are in no-way representative of any commercial entity unless specifically stated as such.
----
http://codebench.co.uk
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@Rigo

As I said, I tried this :

*Plug the jack cable directly into the PC instead of the video capture

and

*Unplug the HDMI cable from the video capture

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@K-L

Does the video capture device have Auto Gain Control (AGC) for audio? If so, then it will crank the gain up to the max if you don't have any sound. The gain can end up so high that you hear the slightest interference.

I once used Skype as a makeshift baby monitor, and was suprised that we could hear sounds from outside. In the dead quiet it had cranked up the gain to max and my tablet's little microphone was picking up sounds from through the walls.

Two things to try:
- Do you still hear it when playing some background music on the machine you're recording?
- Look for an option to disable AGC in your capture software's controls, and manually set the gain

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@Hans

As I said, even if I only want to record audio, without using the video capture I can hear this parasite noises.

I tried on both a Mac Pro and an PC under Linux, parasite noises do come from the X1000 but I don't hear them usually even when using headphones.

It's only when I want to record audio from any of the output ports (wether it is from rear or front output) that I can hear this noises when something is moving on the screen.

I tried to modify some settings in OBS but I get distorded sound since I try to get rid of these noises pushing correcting options at their max.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2178
@K-L

It will be RF interference from your monitor, and or possible internal between components in the X1K

It gets worse when you interconnect devices, earth loops pick any interference and "amplify" it.

If I connect my SAM and X1K audio via my mixing desk I get very bad interference, which goes when I turn my SAM's older monitor off. It's worst when the X1K is connected, but present if either is connected.

Tracing out these kind of things can be real headache, unless it's really really bad ignore it, it will get lost in the mix....

If it's caused by earth loops then moving the audio cable about should change the level of interference. An option is to disconnect the shielding at on end of the audio cable, this can eliminate the loop. (traditional Midi cables are always wired this way as their two cable IN OUT design always creates loops) You only try this with signal cables NEVER with power cables (stating the obvious for safety sake).

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2178
How is the video capture recording the audio? Which one is it?

If you play some music via TuneNet or other app how does the volume compare?

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@K-L

Quote:
@Hans

As I said, even if I only want to record audio, without using the video capture I can hear this parasite noises.

...

Okay, but have you actually checked if Automatic Gain Control (AGC) cranking the gain up too high is causing it?

I can't tell from your question if you've checked, or just dismissed AGC off-hand.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@Hans

I tried every settings I could in OBS to get rid of these noises (I even followed tutorials on the web) but the problem don't come from it since I hear these noises on different computers with different softwares.

I think something is badly shielded in the X1000 that causes theses sounds.

@Broadblues

Even if I don't use video capture, the problem remains. If I just want to record audio, the problem still persists if I move windows.

Of course I can launch AmigaAmp and record music but I must not move windows. As I said it seems I can "hear" memory transfers (as on the video).

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2792
@K-L

Had some problems with noise, had to move my audio cables 30cm way from hdmi cables, I have thinked about getting some better cables, for some time now.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2020/5/12 23:30:28
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1076
@LiveForIt

I will try this ! Thanks.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 1,8Ghz, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700, with Amiga OS 4.1 FE
http://www.amiga-ng.org
   Report Go to top

Re: Parasite noise when moving windows
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2178
@K-L

The point about playing some music whilst recording was to assess just how loud the interference is. When all you have is interference to listen too it will sound much louder.


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project