Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
58 user(s) are online (32 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 2
Guests: 56

samo79, TearsOfMe, more...

Support us!

Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net






Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
BACK WITH A VENGEANCE

Resized Image


Resized Image


Resized Image


Resized Image


SO CLOSE I CAN ALMOST TASTE IT

Without the driver inside the kicklayout , the PEX8111 chip and RX460 has all of the required (i think) 'commands' in order to be used,
but the Pex chip loses IO and MEM and the Radeon gets disconnected when I put the RadeonRX.chip in the kickstart layout.

Also the RX.chip needs to put at the top of the layout otherwise uboot gives an error when loading the file, it also can't seem to co-exist with Petunia and USB so they have to be commented out.


Not that I expect anything out of it, but is there a way to get debugging info from uboot with a serial cable?


Fully aware that I'm digging myself a deeper hole here.


Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/25 21:22:37
Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/25 21:35:22
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Helloworld

Looks like you have the driver starting up. So, can you see the RX 460's screen modes in ScreenMode prefs? Have you tried using them?

You may notice that ranger reports your card as having interrupt line 0xFF. From memory, that's wrong, and the machine will lock up the moment the graphics card sends an interrupt. So, you'll need to disable interrupts for that card.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
@Hans

Quote:
Looks like you have the driver starting up. So, can you see the RX 460's screen modes in ScreenMode prefs? Have you tried using them?


Sorry, should have been more clear about it.

There are no screenmodes for the Polaris card as it does not get initialized and stays idle with a blinking cursor.

The Ranger shot is with the driver commented out of the kickstart layout, in which case I can boot with the 460 as the main card in uboot and
it will switch to the 9250 after the kickstart files are loaded.
with the RadeonRX.chip included in the kickstart layout then the RX460 will get disconnected and the pex chip will lose "IO" and "MEM" in Ranger.

Trying to boot with the RX460 as the main display in uboot with the RadeonRX.chip seems to result in a instant crash after the kickstart files are loaded, all drive activity immediately stops and the caps, num and scroll lock keys don't respond on the the ps/2 keyboard.

The Dumpdebugbuffer shot is captured with the 9250 and RadeonRX.chip but with the startup-sequence skipped
as the 460 does not get initialized. the OS gets stuck in a inifinite loop at the OS4 splash screen after the kickstart files are loaded.
(no crash, can still soft and hard reboot and go into the early start menu with the 9250)

The system has two monitors, "Radeon" and PCIGraphics both with interrupts unchecked.

Seems like it has the same dead ends as with the 7750 card last time, which is why I thought it would be a good idea to log what uboot is doing
although I probably should have asked how to do that first on the Hyperion forums.

Ordered a serial cable which should arrive in a few days.


Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/27 5:06:00
Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/27 5:10:36
Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/27 5:17:41
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Helloworld

Quote:
The Dumpdebugbuffer shot is captured with the 9250 and RadeonRX.chip but with the startup-sequence skipped
as the 460 does not get initialized. the OS gets stuck in a inifinite loop at the OS4 splash screen after the kickstart files are loaded.
(no crash, can still soft and hard reboot and go into the early start menu with the 9250)

The debug log entries starting with RadeonRX say that the RX 460 *is* being initialized. It's just not being used as the primary card.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
@Hans

The serial cable arrived, still need to figure out how to log debugging info from AmigaOS.

Been following this wiki page and so far I've been only able to log system configuration information and nothing while loading the kickstart files.

Resized Image


I guess it's because uboot has its serial baudrate at 115200, but AmigaOS' serial settings don't allow baudrate to go higher than 31250

Also using both "Serial" and "Munge" together in the commandline causes the system to crash.. off to the Hyperion forums...


I tried to use the RadeonRX.chip.debug driver with the debug kernel, but when I put both in the kickstart layout it
causes uboot to fail loading the newlib library, which I cannot comment out, so it's either Radeon.chip.debug or kernel.debug.


I gave a shot capturing the debug buffer with RadeonRX.chip.debug alone with the startup-sequence skipped.

The RadeonRX.chip.debug will also remove MEM and IO from the Pex chip and disconnects the Polaris card.

The debugbuffer isn't much different when booting the first time

Quote:
RadeonRX (2): Could not identify the chipset
RadeonRX (2): Identified the chipset as: POLARIS11
RadeonRX (2): Graphics card name is: Radeon RX Polaris11
RadeonRX (2): If - and only if - your card does not work or does not work optimally
please submit a bug report at:
http://www.spam.com/bugreports
Remember to include the driver version, and the following card details:
0x67EF:0x174B:0xE348: <name of board>
and *please* describe the problems you are seeing in detail.
graphics.library AltiVec/VMX enabled
graphics.library PPC74xx optimizations enabled
RadeonRX (5): findRXCard called
RadeonRX (5): Card 0 (0): 0x1002, 0x5960, unknown, other driver, active
RadeonRX (5): Calling original FindCard()
RadeonRX (5): Found a graphics card
RadeonRX (5): initRXCard called
RadeonRX (5): Calling original InitCard()
0000: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 22 F0 22 30 01 01 01 01 ........"."0....
0010: 23 17 01 03 80 26 1E 78 2E FD 25 A2 58 4F 9F 26 #....&.x..%.XO.&
0020: 0D 50 54 A1 08 10 81 80 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 .PT.............
0030: 01 01 01 01 01 01 30 2A 00 98 51 00 2A 40 30 70 ......0*..Q.*@0p
0040: 13 00 78 2D 11 00 00 1E 00 00 00 FD 00 32 4C 18 ..x-.........2L.
0050: 53 11 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC 00 48 S..............H
0060: 50 20 4C 41 31 39 35 36 78 0A 20 20 00 00 00 FF P.LA1956x.......
0070: 00 33 43 51 33 33 35 31 4A 43 48 0A 20 20 00 CF .3CQ3351JCH.....
0080: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
0090: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00A0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00B0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00C0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00D0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00E0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................
00F0: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................


The RX driver seems to find the 9250?
It finds card 0, 0x5960 is the Radeon 9250, it also prints a hex table, with "HP.LA1956x" which is the monitor the 9250 is connected to.

The 460 is connected to a BenQ 17-TZ1 1280x1024 lcd monitor via DVI.




Doing a softreset gives alot more information

Quote:
[RAM] Handler has started successfully. [DebugLevel=7]
RadeonRX (5): findRXCard called
RadeonRX (5): Card 1 (2): 0x1002, 0x67EF, Radeon RX Polaris11, supported, inactive
RadeonRX (5): Found supported card
RadeonRX (5): initRXCard called
RadeonRX (5): Initializing card
RadeonRX (2): Obtaining ITimer interface
RadeonRX (2): Got ITimer interface
RadeonRX (2): Returning from LibOpen().
RadeonRX (0): RadeonRX.chip 1.11 (14.8.2018)
RadeonRX (6): <rxOpen>
RadeonRX (4): Have altivec.
RadeonRX (4): PCI device is a graphics card.
RadeonRX (2): Identified the chipset as: POLARIS11
RadeonRX (2): Graphics card name is: Radeon RX Polaris11
RadeonRX (2): If - and only if - your card does not work or does not work optimally
please submit a bug report at:
http://www.spam.com/bugreports
Remember to include the driver version, and the following card details:
0x67EF:0x174B:0xE348: <name of board>
and *please* describe the problems you are seeing in detail.
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_DEVICE_ID: 0x8111
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_VENDOR_ID: 0x10B5
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_STATUS: RadeonRX (5): ECP enable, RadeonRX (5): 66 MHz capable, RadeonRX
(5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): DEVSEL# timing 1, RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5):
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5):
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_COMMAND: RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Bus master enabled,
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX
(5):
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_CLASS: 0x60400
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_REVISION_ID: 0x21
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_HEADER_TYPE: 0x1
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_LATENCY_TIMER: 32
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_CACHE_LINE_SIZE: 8
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_SEC_LATENCY_TIMER: 0
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_PRIMARY_BUS: 0
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_SECONDARY_BUS: 2
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_SUBORDINATE_BUS: 2
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_SEC_STATUS: RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX
(5): DEVSEL# timing 0, RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Received master abort, RadeonRX (5):
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5):
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_IO_BASE (full): 0x3000
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_IO_LIMIT (full): 0x3FFF
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_MEMORY_BASE (full): 0xB0200000
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_MEMORY_LIMIT (full): 0xB02FFFFF
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_PREF(ETCH)_MEMORY_BASE (full): 0xA0000000
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_PREF(ETCH)_MEMORY_LIMIT (full): 0xB01FFFFF
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_BRIDGE_CONTROL: RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): VGA
enable, RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5):
RadeonRX (5):
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): PCI_INTERRUPT_PIN: 0x1
RadeonRX (4): Enabling blind prefetch on the PEX 8111 bridge
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge
device.
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge
device.
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge
device.
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge
device.


PCI_INTERRUPT_PIN: 0X1 instead of 0xFF?
The PEX8111's interrupt pin is 0x00 and the 9250's interrupt pin is 0x0A

It then proceeds to print
"RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge"
a couple hundred times it seems and suddenly ends.

Enabling the Radeon and PCIGraphics monitors won't affect the debug buffer

Here is the entire log if you need it
https://pastebin.com/XNw52e9u

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2794
@Helloworld

Did you say put driver first?

Well newlib is essential for any program compiled with GCC, so you need to load newlib before the driver.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
@LiveForIt

I gave that a go by putting newlib on the top of the layout, before RadeonRX.chip.debug.

Now it fails loading the intuition library,
trying to put intuition.library.kmod before newlib or right after it will make it fail loading the graphics.library.kmod instead.

I don't think shuffling kickstart files around would help anymore, as it seems it always fails loading halfway the layout.
I really ought to make that serial thread at Hyperion now.

Thanks for the suggestion

Quote:
LABEL Yikes
; Exec name
EXEC Kickstart/loader
;
; PPC native modules
;
MODULE Kickstart/intuition.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/newlib.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/RadeonRX.chip.debug
MODULE Kickstart/ATIRadeon.chip
MODULE Kickstart/PCIGraphics.card
;MODULE Kickstart/petunia.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/kernel.debug
;MODULE Kickstart/FastFileSystem
MODULE Kickstart/SmartFilesystem
;MODULE Kickstart/JXFileSystem
;MODULE Kickstart/a1floppy.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/a1ide.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/battclock.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/biosversion.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/bootmenu.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/bootimage
MODULE Kickstart/CDFileSystem
MODULE Kickstart/con-handler.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/console.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/diskboot.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/diskboot.config
MODULE Kickstart/diskcache.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/dos.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/elf.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/env-handler.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/FileSystem.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/gadtools.library.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/gameport.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/graphics.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/hunk.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/input.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/it8212ide.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/keyboard.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/keymap.library.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/lsi53c8xx.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/mounter.library
MODULE Kickstart/nonvolatile.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/nvram.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ps2.resource.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ram-handler.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ramdrive.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/ramlib.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/shell.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/sii0680ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3112ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3114ide.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/sii3512ide.device.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/strap.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/timer.device.kmod
;MODULE Kickstart/3dfxVoodoo.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/3DLabsPermedia2.chip
;MODULE Kickstart/usbresource.library
;MODULE Kickstart/usbsys.device
;MODULE Kickstart/uhci.usbhcd
;MODULE Kickstart/ehci.usbhcd
;MODULE Kickstart/hub.usbfd
MODULE Kickstart/bootmouse.usbfd
MODULE Kickstart/bootkeyboard.usbfd
;MODULE Kickstart/massstorage.usbfd
;MODULE Kickstart/ohci.usbhcd
;MODULE Kickstart/RadeonHD.chip

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2794
@Helloworld

Well yes because most things needs newlib..
unless they are statically compiled with Clib
and newlib might need exec and that be the kernel, I guess.
And I guess that intuition need to loaded before the driver.

But I do not know the full dependency’s tree so it better not to mess with it.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Helloworld

Looks like the pci-bridge reprogramming code is ending up in an infinite loop. Will need to fix that...

Quote:
PCI_INTERRUPT_PIN: 0X1 instead of 0xFF?
The PEX8111's interrupt pin is 0x00 and the 9250's interrupt pin is 0x0A

I can't remember which slot uses which interrupt line, but 0xFF is wrong. The easiest way to find out is to stick a known working card in that slot, and check what Ranger says it was assigned.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
@Hans

*crosses fingers*


Tried swapping around the sil0680 ide controller and got the following interrupt lines from the 33mhz slots

Upperslot: Line: 0x09 Pin: A Number: 25 (Previously PEX)

Middleslot: Line: 0x0B Pin: A Number: 27

Bottomslot: Line: 0x0A Pin: A Number: 26


The PEX8111 bridge chip got the same interrupt in every slot,

PEX8111: Line: 0x00 Pin: A Number: 16

Polaris11: Line: 0xFF Pin: A Number: 271


Also got serial output working from OS4, and you're right about
"RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge"
being an infinite loop, as it gets continuously printed when it gets stuck on the OS4 splash screen
when booting with the 9250 and the Polaris driver included in the kicklayout file.


Some most likely inane findings

Trying to enable the PCIGraphics monitor when skipping the startup-sequence does start the RadeonRX driver and but doesn't go further than the following

Quote:
RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX graphics.library AltiVec/VMX enabled
graphics.library PPC74xx optimizations enabled
RadeonRX (5): findRXCard called
RadeonRX (5): Card 0 (0): 0x1002, 0x5960, unknown, other driver, active
RadeonRX (5): Calling original FindCard()
RadeonRX (5): Found a graphics card
RadeonRX (5): initRXCard called
RadeonRX (5): Calling original InitCard()


System also is about to collapse as drawers and programs don't respond anymore.

The driver also prints this when trying to boot straight from the Polaris card in uboot and then halts after loading the kickstart files, it's also the only thing OS4 prints to the serial terminal.


Also discovered that the PEX card and the RX460 only get IO and MEM if the 460 is used as the uboot display card and the driver excluded from the kicklayout.
booting with the 9250 as the uboot display card removes them, even though the driver is also excluded.


@LiveForIt

Does seem like some of the files are depended on others loading first.
booting with the following order makes it fail much sooner when loading RadeonRX.chip

MODULE Kickstart/kernel.debug
MODULE Kickstart/newlib.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/intuition.library.kmod
MODULE Kickstart/RadeonRX.chip.debug
MODULE Kickstart/ATIRadeon.chip
MODULE Kickstart/PCIGraphics.card

Still, strange though that the normal versions of the kernel and RadeonRX driver just work together as is but not the debug versions.

I have multiple configurations inside my kicklayout file and have it backed up on a usb stick,
so I can mess around with it as much as I want.
should anyone have a idea on how it should be ordered let me know.


Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/31 0:14:40
Edited by Helloworld on 2020/3/31 0:21:46
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Helloworld

Quote:
*crosses fingers*


Tried swapping around the sil0680 ide controller and got the following interrupt lines from the 33mhz slots

Upperslot: Line: 0x09 Pin: A Number: 25 (Previously PEX)

Middleslot: Line: 0x0B Pin: A Number: 27

Bottomslot: Line: 0x0A Pin: A Number: 26


The PEX8111 bridge chip got the same interrupt in every slot,

PEX8111: Line: 0x00 Pin: A Number: 16

Polaris11: Line: 0xFF Pin: A Number: 271

That's a UBoot bug. It should set the Polaris11's line, pin & number to match whatever the values for that slot are.

When I first started working on the RadeonHD.chip driver, I hard-coded the IRQ line into the driver for the slot I put it in. I cannot do that in a production driver, because those values vary by motherboard, & the driver doesn't know which slot you put the card in.

Quote:
Trying to enable the PCIGraphics monitor when skipping the startup-sequence does start the RadeonRX driver and but doesn't go further than the following

It's not really starting the RadeonRX driver. That's the PCIGraphics.card patch code passing control back to the original PCIGraphics.card.

Quote:
Also discovered that the PEX card and the RX460 only get IO and MEM if the 460 is used as the uboot display card and the driver excluded from the kicklayout.
booting with the 9250 as the uboot display card removes them, even though the driver is also excluded.

That's normal.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
@Hans

Quote:
That's a UBoot bug. It should set the Polaris11's line, pin & number to match whatever the values for that slot are.

When I first started working on the RadeonHD.chip driver, I hard-coded the IRQ line into the driver for the slot I put it in. I cannot do that in a production driver, because those values vary by motherboard, & the driver doesn't know which slot you put the card in.


oh wow

I understand that hardcoding IRQ's should not be done for a production driver, but maybe there could be a way for the end user to set IRQ?

Perhaps via an user created .txt file in the kickstart folder as an unsupported "as is - backdoor" kind of method?

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Helloworld

Quote:
I understand that hardcoding IRQ's should not be done for a production driver, but maybe there could be a way for the end user to set IRQ?

Perhaps via an user created .txt file in the kickstart folder as an unsupported "as is - backdoor" kind of method?

Theoretically, yes. You could add a kickstart module that runs before the graphics driver is started that fixes the IRQ. However, that would be rather hacky, and might be a pain in the butt to get right.

Better leave interrupts disabled for now...

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/1 18:01
From Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1161
@Hans

There are some settings regarding PCI (and AGP) IRQ in UBoot's menus, IIRC. Don't know if they are what is needed for this issue, though.

Best regards,

Niels

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@nbache

Quote:
There are some settings regarding PCI (and AGP) IRQ in UBoot's menus, IIRC. Don't know if they are what is needed for this issue, though.

Setting the interrupt for the slot to "edge triggered" might prevent a total machine lockup, but the driver still wouldn't receive interrupts because the IRQ line was incorrectly set up by UBoot.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/5/28 14:35
From The Netherlands
Posts: 63
@nbache @Hans

Uboot gives the option to change the IRQ number (7/9/10/11/13/Auto) and IRQ detection of PCI slots to "level" or "edge"

I can change the IRQ detection from slot A to slot D, not sure which is which as they aren't marked on the PCB or in the PDF manuel.

Here's a shot from the 7750 thread, where AmigaOS calls them interrupt A through D instead.

Resized Image



I tried to change detection from level to edge of one slot at a time and made sure to reboot after changing detection methode.

Setting any to Edge won't avoid the system getting stuck during the OS4 splash screen with
"RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge device." continuously being printed to the terminal.

Trying to boot straight from the RX460 will still fail after loading the kickstart files
with normal and debug drivers.

changing IRQ number doesn't seem to change anything.



Quote:
Better leave interrupts disabled for now...

Good to hear, I somehow made myself under the impression that IRQ was required for it to work,
could you tell me what the disadvantage is of having interrupts disabled if you would mind?


Also does it matter for the driver that uboot has it's PCI/AGP bootcard option backwards?
booting from AGP option will boot with the PCI card and vice versa.


Sorry to suddenly leave you both hanging, have been ill. (no corona)

   Report Go to top

Re: Trying to get a Radeon RX 460 working in an AmigaOne XE
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Helloworld

Quote:
Setting any to Edge won't avoid the system getting stuck during the OS4 splash screen with
"RadeonRX (5): RadeonRX (5): Cannot print bridge configuration for PCI:0.7,0, because it is not a bridge device." continuously being printed to the terminal.

Sorry, that's a driver bug. You won't be able to get beyond that until a fix is released.

Quote:
changing IRQ number doesn't seem to change anything.

Changing the IRQ number won't help, because you can't change it to the incorrect number that UBoot set it to (0xFF = 255).

Quote:
Good to hear, I somehow made myself under the impression that IRQ was required for it to work,
could you tell me what the disadvantage is of having interrupts disabled if you would mind?

Interrupts is faster and more accurate. Without interrupts, the driver has to sit and poll until the next frame occurs (it's the vblank interrupt that you can enable/disable). That wastes CPU cycles, and also increases the chance that it'll be detected late.

Quote:
Also does it matter for the driver that uboot has it's PCI/AGP bootcard option backwards?
booting from AGP option will boot with the PCI card and vice versa.

No.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project