Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Sections
Who's Online
50 user(s) are online (17 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 49

samo79, more...
Support us!
Recent OS4 Files
OS4Depot.net



« 1 ... 6 7 8 (9) 10 11 12 ... 15 »


Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 18:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 110
@kas1e

Yes.you are right..I had Compositing disabled in GUI Prefs.
Now I have enabled it and it works as expected on A1222.

Thanks.

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@samo79

I had a go at testing this on a Sam460.
There doesn't appear to be any memory leakage for me.
The only crashes i am getting are pointing towards an issue with Python.

Cheers

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@TiredOfLife

What I've also noticed is that the CPU will usage will briefly go up to 100% occasionally.
This even when the Youtube clip is just audio with a background.

Cheers

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3320
@TiredOfLife

Did you tried with a very long video or just a "few minutes" one?
Try to load something longer, for example a movie .. then leave it playing alone and see if you your system are able to reproduce it entirely

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@samo79

Yeah i put a long video on.
After 40 mins it came up with a python error.
System froze after doing a crash log although the music carried on playing.
I'll try another now.

Cheers

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/10/28 11:03
From Netherlands
Posts: 49
@TiredOfLife

I have seen the same behaviour on Beta05 as well.

Full album audio video on youtube made the CPU slowly spike to 100%

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@samo79

I've had another go and all seems to be well.
I think the python crashes were linked to the blanker.
I've reset the times for a much longer period before it kicks in.
So far so good.

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@samo79

I've just been playing music from a web radio site, just audio.
The memory usage seemed to go up pretty quickly and I did have a crash that directly referenced Odyssey.

Cheers

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 20:39
From California, Unitied States
Posts: 327
@TiredOfLife
Quote:
I've just been playing music from a web radio site, just audio.
The memory usage seemed to go up pretty quickly and I did have a crash that directly referenced Odyssey.

Did some looking into this and here is what I found. Testing done playing a radio station via this link:
100.1 KZST Pop Radio

Here is another station link if you want to recreate what I did.
101.5 K HIts

When the page is first loaded it automatically starts playing.
I notice that memory is being eaten at ~1M per second.
Click the Pause button, music stops but memory still being eaten.
Click Play, then Click Stop button, memory still being eaten.

Reload page: memory STOPS being eaten. Yah, leak stopped.
Once the leak stops I can pause/stop and play and still no memory leak.
I can even close tab to leave the site, then go back to the site and the music plays fine with no memory leak. I can even load other radion station and no memory leak.

My guess, when the player is first initialized there is a memory leak. When the player is reloaded the memory leak stops. Maybe there is an issue with the buffering on the very first initialization? Just a guess.

Update:
Still leaks a small amount of memory after reloading page but only at a rate of about 25kB/sec to 53kB/sec. So about 2M - 3M per minute. However it doesn't seem to be leaking constantly. I seem to loose memory every 5-6 minutes. I believe the stream is running at 128kbits/sec.


Edited by ktadd on 2020/4/3 20:41:32
Edited by ktadd on 2020/4/3 22:49:52
   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@ktadd

Interesting, i'll try that on those links and on the site i noticed the issue.

Cheers.

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3320
@ktadd

Quote:
When the page is first loaded it automatically starts playing.
I notice that memory is being eaten at ~1M per second.
Click the Pause button, music stops but memory still being eaten.
Click Play, then Click Stop button, memory still being eaten.

Reload page: memory STOPS being eaten. Yah, leak stopped.
Once the leak stops I can pause/stop and play and still no memory leak.
I can even close tab to leave the site, then go back to the site and the music plays fine with no memory leak. I can even load other radion station and no memory leak.

My guess, when the player is first initialized there is a memory leak. When the player is reloaded the memory leak stops. Maybe there is an issue with the buffering on the very first initialization? Just a guess.

Update:
Still leaks memory small amount of memory after reloading page but only at a rate of about 25kB/sec to 53kB/sec. So about 2M - 3M per minute. However it doesn't seem to be leaking constantly. I seem to loose memory every 5-6 minutes. I believe the stream is running at 128kbits/sec.


Great test. and good found for the radio site aswell, this site loads pretty fast with zero extra mumbojambo crap, only radio
so perfectly for testing the memory consume
And your test confirm that the problem is pretty real, even worse of what i imaged ... even if in end it could be expected as in my case i have 1 GB RAM and consume it all was not that hard .. 30 or 40 minutes max with only radio streams, and even less time with a video + audio


   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1070
@thread

Since a new version of AmigaAmp has been released, which is able to stream htpps streams, do we need to concentrate on this feature for Odyssey?

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 522
@ktadd

Herea too happens on my SAM460ex with "101.5 K HIts", clicked on the link the page loads, audio starts, everything fine and after 1-2 minutes used RAM starts to rise by ~1MB/sec.
Closing the page/tab returns all "eated" RAM.

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3705
@jabirulo

Confirmed, even without audio playback (still no audio in videos here) it eats away memory.

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3320
@K-L

Yep we should need, because audio and video eats memory exactly the same and leakage is quite big making everything high unstable, but even if it was only related to audio, fix it will worth for sure...

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@ktadd

With this one below, you have to press play 1st.

https://www.di-radio.com/ori-uplift

Initially memory usage appears to climb at 1mb per sec.
It then stops climbing steadily but jumps every so often.
Pausing or reloading and playing again did not stop the leakage.

Cheers

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/7/23 21:35
Posts: 649
@samo79

Today i'm seeing the leakage on Youtube videos.
I don't what's different from the testing I did yesterday.
Also seeing the python errors much quicker.
Very strange.

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6268
@ktadd, Sinan

Ami603 fix a little bit compositetags call, so it should now works when compositing effects disabled (at least it is, for me), check plz that binary if it works for you when compositing disabled now as well (replace one from beta05):

https://www.sendspace.com/file/xsyytr

@Capehill

Can you also check the same, if that new binary fix a clipping issues you had on your setup ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6268
@All
About memory leak. That was discussed long ago if i remember right (somewhere in 1.23 progress thread), and Fab says that its how webkit works.

Now i tried the same links we check on latest Odyssey on MorphOS. I tried ktadd's "101.5 K HIts" link : its eat memory as well, and seems after a while it clean memory a bit (at least with that 101.5K link), and then again growing up.

I.e. i run it for example when had 180mb used. Then it very fast go till 260mb used (so eat 80mb). Then, free 30mb or so, and again start growin. But then growing pretty slower.

On os4 i didn't see anything like freeing some chunks back at all, but it just stop growing the same after it eat about 100mb, and stays on the same value without growing futher.

At least with that "101.5k" link. I.e. go on page, and wait. After it will eat about 100mb (so about the same as on MorphOS), is then stop leaking. And even after a while will free a little too.

So at least with that link all fine as i can see and it reacts about the same and on morphos and on amigaos4. Through when tab is closed, and didn't see memory back. Only when browser closed. Need to recheck if it the same on morphos too.


Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:10:19
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:11:48
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:24:34
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:26:19
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:27:45
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:28:04
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:28:40
Edited by kas1e on 2020/4/5 8:29:11
   Report Go to top

Re: Odyssey's MediaPlayer thread
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/6 20:39
From California, Unitied States
Posts: 327
@kas1eQuote:
Ami603 fix a little bit compositetags call, so it should now works when compositing effects disabled (at least it is, for me), check plz that binary if it works for you when compositing disabled now as well (replace one from beta05):

Ok. Did some testing. Works good with composting off if I just use tabs.
If I play the video in a seperate window and try to bring the back window to the front then the composting gets messed up and ends up ouside boarders.

With composting on it seemed to work right with two windows.

I did stress it with composting on and managed to get mplayer to crash but I think this a seperate issue and not a common use case. With composting on,
I had two tabs each playing a video and a seperate window playing a video. Then I moved windows around and swaped them back and forth quickly. The music stuttered and mplayer crashed and pretty much froze up the machine.

Not really worried about that getting fixed.
Thanks Ami603 for the fix!

   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 6 7 8 (9) 10 11 12 ... 15 »



[Advanced Search]


Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project