Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
68 user(s) are online (50 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 68

more...

Headlines




« 1 2 3 4 (5)


Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4341
@walkero

What???

Which one?
I have libpixman-1.so in sobjs:

But even then...why does it work the first time (for me) but not any time after that?

Also...shouldn't that library, if it's .so, be provided together with the binary, or in case of a static library, compiled into the binary itself with no need to install it?

I'm heavily confused...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1322
@Raziel

Quote:
Which one? I have libpixman-1.so in sobjs:

No no, you need the shared Amiga library version from os4depot.

_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4341
@trixie

So, it was running for me purely by accident???
Oh boy...

Will check it out tomorrow, thank you for the heads up.

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4341
@trixie
@walkero

Thank you, that actually fixed it.

Now i wonder, did i miss this dependency somewhere?
I haven't read the whole thread...

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Site Builder
Joined:
2006/12/2 23:57
From Athens/Dublin
Posts: 1011
@Raziel
Yeap, it is mentioned at
https://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum ... id=111358#forumpost111358

Don't worry, I missed that too.

   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 694
It didn't even occur to me that he could be missing the library, since the Player worked sometimes. I never though libraries can phase in an out of existence, but I guess only Amiga makes it possible *shrug*

edit: For the next version I'll check if I can link a static version of pixman to the executable to avoid confusion. It looks like shared libraries work in mysterious ways.


Edited by BSzili on 2021/11/16 15:33:59
_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4341
@BSzili

OK, i give up on this

I played a game perfectly fine this afternoon.

When i got back here 3 hours later, the same game, together with *every* other, refuse to start anymore.

I'm getting this dreaded
assertion "fs" failed: file "src/filesystem.cpp", line 189
again.

edit:

sigh...

It seems as if games, started from within a .zip file, does NOT store their save data automatically (Probably writing into a .zip file is not uspported/broken. One *must* give an *available* save path to make the player not complain/silently quit on loading the game data.

I wish there was a better user documentation.


Edited by Raziel on 2021/11/16 19:12:20
_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 694
I think BeWorld fixed some issue with ZIP files, I'll check it later.

_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 694
I applied the ZIP fix from upstream, and replaced pixman with the static library and uploaded a new archive.

_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4341
@BSzili

Nice, saving to .zip archives work.

But i get reproducable freezes now, some minutes into the game (any game).

Audio/Music keeps playing but the whole input is frozen.
I can't switch fullscreen/window, I can't even switch back to workbench.
Keyboard reset is also not possible anymore.
It looks as if input is affected system-wide..

Nothing in the log (where is the log?) and no crash as far as I can see.

I'll try tomorrow if I can catch a serial.

Thank you for the new version

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4341
@BSzili

I get a window on exit telling me

The process terminated without freeing all the memory that it placed onto the task memory list.
This memory will now be freed automatically.

Process: "EasyRPG-Player"
Function: "Internal_RunCommand()"

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 694
Same here, but I have no idea where it's coming from. The Player never used RunCommand, and I certainly didn't add it now either.

_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2305
@BSzili

Quote:

It didn't even occur to me that he could be missing the library, since the Player worked sometimes. I never though libraries can phase in an out of existence, but I guess only Amiga makes it possible *shrug*

edit: For the next version I'll check if I can link a static version of pixman to the executable to avoid confusion. It looks like shared libraries work in mysterious ways.


If the library was bundled with different app and installled in the apps directory instead if LIBS: then the library will magically appear on the internal library list once that app has been run, but not other times.

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2305
@BSzili

Quote:

Same here, but I have no idea where it's coming from. The Player never used RunCommand, and I certainly didn't add it now either.


Internal_RunCommand() is the eventual destination of any function that runs some external code via the shell eg System[Tags]() RunCommand() Execute() et al

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 694
@broadblues
That makes sense, but I'm still none the wiser why RunCommand appeared in the Player, which AFAIK doesn't start any other executables. All I did way replacing the pixman library with the static version, and backported a fix to the filesystem code.

_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2305
@BSzili

Hmm I wonder if that message is comming from the instance of Internal_RunCommand() that laucnhed EasyRPG itself.


At a guess it might occur if objects were allocated with AllocSysObject() or AllocDoSObject() and not Free with the corresponding Free#?Object() function.

_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: EasyRPG Player
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/17 16:21
From Hungary
Posts: 694
Ah, I see. The player only uses the C library for file I/O, so it's hard to guess which function allocates some system object down the line. The leak could also affect other platforms, so hopefully it'll be fixed in 0.7.1.

_________________
This is just like television, only you can see much further.
   Report Go to top


« 1 2 3 4 (5)



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project