Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
71 user(s) are online (55 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 71

more...

Support us!

Headlines




(1) 2 »


HELP!!!! (MicroA1 Problems)
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2103
Hi Guys

Long story, but basically, I am trying to install AmigaOS4.1 FE onto my Micro Amigaone (after 5 hours of trying, an IDE/SSD adapter with an IDE/Laptop Drive adapter (Turns out they don't like each other)

I have gotten to a point where I have the IDE/SATA/SSD adapter and an old IDE DVD Drive on the same cable, working to allow me to install OS4.1 FE.

Okay, I know this is going to sound STUPID! But in MediaToolbox, for the SSD Drive (it says no A1 Booter Installed) When I click on Install it takes me to L: Do I select slb_v2?

Any help or advice with installing the SSD, much appreciated!!!



Edited by Mikey_C on 2016/5/16 7:57:25
_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 14:23
From England
Posts: 3553
@Mikey_C
Some machines don't need an SLB to boot, but probably the MicroA1 does (but I've never owned one so not 100% sure).

I don't think installing it will do any harm, and that sounds like the right file if it does need an SLB.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/5 15:07
From Italy
Posts: 624
Yes you need to install it slb if i remeber good was did exactly for boot amiga filesystem for amigaone .
a tip before do everything make partitions and many it is the better method to not loose everything after some time

_________________
X5000/40 16GB
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2103
Okay I have installed the bootable partition as SFS\02
Blocksize 512
Buffers 800
Maxtransfer 1FE00
Mask FFFFFFFE

Are those settings suitable for an SSD (Crucial) Drive?

Also, I cannot seem to select beyond Best PIO as the boot sequence hangs on WB.

Again, any advice given,



============ Scratch this - fixed it myself ==============

Okay, I have managed to get OS4.1 FE to install okay, however, for some unknown reason, the HD doesn't want to boot, I have made sure the partition is bootable and boot priority of 0. But still, its stuck on the UBOOT Screen :(

Any ideas? anyone?



Edited by Mikey_C on 2016/5/13 20:11:14
_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 17:54
From Sanremo
Posts: 1854
back in days, when I had the Micro I used the SLB too, so yes, use it!

from uboot check the nvars and see if there is some nvars wrong.. (sorry I don't remember the command)

   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1341
@Mikey_C
Quote:
its stuck on the UBOOT Screen :(

with no error message? What is displayed on screen?

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2103
@Elwood

Nothing it gets into WB I see the Ram and Sys partition icon and then it stops - no backdrop loaded, blank background and thats it, I can move the mouse, but nothing else.


_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 18:52
From Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 1172
Go into the early statup menu, boot with no startup-sequence (or hold down ctrl while booting) and add 'Set echo on' to the top of your s:startup-sequence.

This will mess up your boot as a cli will open and prevent mode changes when workbench loads but it will show you how what is being run from startup-sequence and user-startup. copefully it will show where the problem is.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985
AOS4, A-EON, IBrowse & Alinea Betatester

Ps. I hate the new amigans website. <shudder>
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@Mikey_C
Back when I had a µA1, the DVD drive that came with the system only worked in "Best PIO" mode and would hang the system it I tried to set it to a DMA mode.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 18:13
From Sweden
Posts: 275
Sorry for the very unnecessary comment. It was one of those days.


Edited by hotrod on 2016/5/16 21:16:16
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/11/25 16:32
From Caen (France)
Posts: 173
Mike,
I will format the boot system to ffs as some old machines didn't boot ir not correctly with sfs (like pegasos).
I don't know if it isthe case with micro

_________________
Since a lot of months without an amiga to love, I was lost.
Now I feel happiness again with a Sam Flex 800 .
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1341
@Mikey_C
Quote:
Nothing it gets into WB I see the Ram and Sys partition icon and then it stops - no backdrop loaded, blank background and thats it, I can move the mouse


So it's not "nothing" and your previous comment was
Quote:
its stuck on the UBOOT Screen
which is also wrong.

You really need to explain what you have if you want to be helped!

So, you reach the WB so it seems everything is OK in the kickstart modules. You have some problem due to some programs loaded from the user-startup or WBstartup.
As you just installed the system, your user-startup is probably empty.
I second what Severin said. Boot holding down the Ctrl key (from the OS4 splash screen, until you reach the WB). You will boot without the WBstartup programs.
There is probably something wrong there.

Tell us if you reach a working WB like this.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 18:52
From Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 1172
@Mikey_C

Quote:
Okay I have installed the bootable partition as SFS\02


Doh! missed that last night... You have to use SFS, SFS\02 is not bootable.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985
AOS4, A-EON, IBrowse & Alinea Betatester

Ps. I hate the new amigans website. <shudder>
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4165
@Severin

Quote:

Doh! missed that last night... You have to use SFS, SFS\02 is not bootable.

Err...what???

I have one tiny FFS partition holding amigaboot.of and one "boot" partition with my system on it and it boots just fine with SFS/02.

SFS 1.290.

Might that be a Micro problem? I can't believe that

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 18:52
From Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 1172
@Raziel

But you're using an X1000. SFS/02 iirc was released after the last SLB for the micro therefore it doesn't know about SFS/02. I had a Micro and always booted from SFS. The micro can boot from FFS, SFS & JXFS although JXFS is pointless now.

@MikeyC

Btw, I'm now booting from a hybrid drive, simply treat it as a normal harddrive and the drive itself puts the most used blocks on the SSD section. picked up a 2tb 2.5" drive for £45 + p&p.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985
AOS4, A-EON, IBrowse & Alinea Betatester

Ps. I hate the new amigans website. <shudder>
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/12/9 10:44
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1341
@Severin
Impossible. SLB is not platform-dependent. It is the same for everyone.
So it should work for the Micro too.

And I have my SYS: in SFS2 (Sam460 here).

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' FERRUCCI
Sam460ex 1.10 Ghz
http://elwoodb.free.fr
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2103
Okay, well, I could try and make the partition SFS\0. However this is really complicated............

Because I like small form factor cases, I got my self a Mini ITX case, in this case a CiT, MTX-005B.
(I had one before, long story, leave it there) see
https://www.amazon.co.uk/CiT-MTX-005B- ... ower-Supply/dp/B008GBUHKI

Anyhow, because of its size a regular CD Drive wouldn't fit, so I have 2 x Slimline DVD drive. But because the Slimline DVD drives (Am only using one, have a spare) only have a JAE50 interface I am having to use a 2.5 inch (44 pin) IDE/PATA cable to JAE50 interface board.

However, with that plugged in with the SSD I cannot get the system to boot. It hangs at the OS4.1 Logo screen.

For those who haven't followed, my hard drive is an SSD which obvioulsy doesn't have an IDE interface, so am using a StarTech.com IDE (40 pin) ide interface to SATA.

Basically, I can have on plugged in but not both, even though they are using different channels that is.
CD/DVD 2.5 inch IDE (44 pin interface)
SSD 3.5 inch IDE (40 pin interface)

Its driving me mad, there is no reason why it should work!!!


_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 18:52
From Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 1172
@Mikey_C

What is in your pci slot?

_________________
Amiga user since 1985
AOS4, A-EON, IBrowse & Alinea Betatester

Ps. I hate the new amigans website. <shudder>
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/19 17:45
From Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 2103
@Severin

Nothing

_________________
Mikey C

No cause is lost if there is but one fool left to fight for it.
   Report Go to top

Re: HELP!!!!
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/24 18:52
From Gloucestershire, UK.
Posts: 1172
What about fitting a sii 3112, 3114 or 3512 card? They are low profile so will fit and give you 2 or 4 dedicated sata ports which you can boot from. I might even have a spare one I can chuck in the post to you if I can find it.

_________________
Amiga user since 1985
AOS4, A-EON, IBrowse & Alinea Betatester

Ps. I hate the new amigans website. <shudder>
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project