Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
76 user(s) are online (57 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 76

more...

Support us!

Headlines




« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 »


Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
@Jurassicc

It's strange that it doesn't work for you, because I have also tested a WPN311 in a Peg-II, albeit a G4 version. Maybe it's down to the OS version. What version are you running?

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/9/19 21:02
Posts: 22
@ncafferkey

Big Thanks !!
the atheros5000.device with the new DMA functions now works without any problems on my AmigaONE X1000

Tested an Abit AirPacer WLP-01 PCI-E Adapter
and a D-Link DWL-G520+XtremeG+ PCI Adapter both are working here now.

Thanks Goos


_________________
EntwicklerX
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
It seems to almost working now, no DSI or other errors, but it no connection to wireless network.

Running wirelessmanager manually with verbose does this - >

http://crashlog.os4depot.net/cl373

I have D-Link DWL-G520+XtremeG+ PCI

Adding atheros to interfaces works just nice, type is network, everything seems to be OK. Wireless manager seems to be last problem.


Edited by utri007 on 2013/7/6 16:57:49
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
@all

Please do the following:

1. Tell me the results of running this updated DMA test program.

2. Tell me what OS version you are running, and exec version (run "Version exec.library full").

3. Run Ranger (downloadable from OS4Depot), click on the "PCI Bus" tab, then on the entry for your wireless card, and report the contents of the Interrupt box.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
DMAtest2 gives this :

Virtual address: 0x56EF9160
Virtual block size: 64
Physical address: 0x3EDCA160
Physical block size: 64

OS version is :

exec.library 53.39 (12/13/2012)

Ranger tells me to this :

Interrupt : Line: 0x32 Pin: A Number: 66

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 18:02
From Somerset, UK
Posts: 357
Quote:

ncafferkey wrote:
@Jurassicc

It's strange that it doesn't work for you, because I have also tested a WPN311 in a Peg-II, albeit a G4 version


Did the verbose output I PM'd from wirelessmanager look ok.

I noticed a lot of Unauthorised in it but is that normal ?

I'll post back the other details when I've installed ranger on it.

Edit

Bus: 0x00 Device: 0x05 Function: 0x00
Base: 0x02 Sub: 0x00 IFace: 0x00 (Ethernet Controller)
0x0013 Rev: 0x01 (AR5212/AR5213 Wireless Network Adapter)
Line: 0x09 Pin: A Number: 25

Virtual address: 0x632FD120
Virtual block size: 64
Physical address: 0xFB37120
Physical block size: 64

exec.library 53.39

_________________
A1XE, A1200T, X5020, CDTV, CD32 , A500+ A500
OS4.1b / OS3.2b
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
@Jurassicc

The verbose output you sent me is similar to what others have posted: it gets stuck after trying to send the first scanning message. The "unauthorised" messages are normal.

I notice that your signature indicates you have other OS4 machines. Do you feel like testing your wireless card in them? On my end, I'll have to upgrade the OS on my Peg-II to the latest version to see if that leads to the same results as you've seen.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 18:02
From Somerset, UK
Posts: 357
@ncafferkey

Will do.
I assume it wont work in the A1200 / A4000(t) because of the missing DMA support for the Mediator. Does the atheros chipset support PIO ?

_________________
A1XE, A1200T, X5020, CDTV, CD32 , A500+ A500
OS4.1b / OS3.2b
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
Quote:

Jurassicc wrote:
@ncafferkey

Will do.
I assume it wont work in the A1200 / A4000(t) because of the missing DMA support for the Mediator. Does the atheros chipset support PIO ?


I didn't know OS4 doesn't support DMA with the Mediator. The driver should work only if DMA is supported. There is no PIO mode for the Atheros chips.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
Quote:

ncafferkey wrote:
@Jurassicc

It's strange that it doesn't work for you, because I have also tested a WPN311 in a Peg-II, albeit a G4 version. Maybe it's down to the OS version. What version are you running?


After performing seven updates to OS4.1, I now have the same OS version as you and other testers, but the driver still works fine for me. I don't know what else could be the problem. Same machine, same card, same OS version. What router do you have, and are there neighbours' wireless networks visible?

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/11/27 18:02
From Somerset, UK
Posts: 357
Quote:

I don't know what else could be the problem. Same machine, same card, same OS version. What router do you have, and are there neighbours' wireless networks visible?


BT HomeHub V2, as for wireless networks, several the street is quite saturated with them, as well as a few BT Wifi hot spots.
Not had the chance to try the card out in my XE yet.

_________________
A1XE, A1200T, X5020, CDTV, CD32 , A500+ A500
OS4.1b / OS3.2b
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
Any news for Sam Flex users? My home network has already 4 Windows machines and 2 classick amigas, everything works very well.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
@Jurassicc & utri007

Please try with the antenna detached. Obviously it won't connect, but it would be interesting to see if the verbose output continues further without the influence of local access points.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
Tested without antenna, no difference. I also tested without any encryption, same problem/error with verbose switch.

It hangs after this : sana2: sending MLME frame


Edited by utri007 on 2013/7/17 20:26:29
Edited by utri007 on 2013/7/17 20:34:31
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
As important it is to know when something doesn't work it is equally important to know when it works :)

So does any one get this work with Sam series amigas?

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 1:41
From VA, USA
Posts: 286
Hi ncafferkey and all,

Given the unreliability of the prism driver & card, I bought the
D-Link DWL-520+ card and have been trying it out in my SAM440ep.
So far, it's been a no-go.

First, I tried using the May'13 atheros driver and then I installed
the July1st version posted in this thread. In all cases, the
WirelessManager (WM) fails when called (with this is the line in
the s-s):

run <>nil: c:WirelessManager atheros5000.device

Specifically, with the normal kernel I get this line in a console:

NIL::1: c:WirelessManager failed returncode 20

If I switch to using a debug kernel, then I get a DSI on the WM.
Crashlogs have been saved in this archive:

http://www.pjsa.net/WirelessManager-Crashlogs.lha

Just in case WM was somehow dependent on the config of Roadshow (RS),
I continued and configured RS to use the atheros device. When I
saved the config, RS restarted & I got this error in a console:

[error]: Could not open "atheros5000.device" unit 0 (Device/unit failed to open).

I also downloaded the DMA test app posted in this thread and this
is what I got when I ran it with the July1st driver in place (but
inactive):

Virtual address: 0x58BEE560
Virtual block size: 64
Physical address: 0x4428560
Physical block size: 64

Finally, I am noticing if I select either the prism or atheros
drivers in RS prefs' "Modify network interface" windows, the
driver type is listed as "unknown". Is this anything that
matters somehow?

ncafferkey, any thoughts on all this? Anything else to test?
Need any more data? Or should I continue on with the game of
wifi card roulette? ;)

Thanks,

PJS

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
I hope this will work out. I have excatly same card and Sam 440ep Flex.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
Todays version doesn't work either :( It is little bit better as it doens't do any errors I ques? or halt system or even internet prefs

When I run wirelessmanager manually, error is excatly same than earlier.

[edit]

I made some tests, if I add key_mgmt=WPA-PSK to settings file, it will do a grim reaper. It doesn't connect unsecured network either. It should connect any unsecured network with this? ->

network={
key_mgmt=NONE
}

There is scan_ssid=1 in settings file, does it mean it will scan chanels to find correct one? Here :

MLME: starting scan
MLME: scan channel 1 (2412 MHz)
sana2: sending MLME frame

Is it so that it will hang when it start to scan chanels? Can I manually configure correct chanel, in my case it is 8

PS. I'm 99% usre that one time it didn't hang to that, but I couldn't repeat it


Edited by utri007 on 2013/8/30 19:55:58
Edited by utri007 on 2013/8/30 19:56:53
Edited by utri007 on 2013/8/30 20:00:37
Edited by utri007 on 2013/8/30 20:03:32
   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Just popping in
Joined:
2008/9/20 23:50
Posts: 65
Quote:

pjs wrote:

ncafferkey, any thoughts on all this? Anything else to test?
Need any more data? Or should I continue on with the game of
wifi card roulette? ;)


The DWL-520+ is not an Atheros card. Spin the wheel again

Quote:

utri007 wrote:

There is scan_ssid=1 in settings file, does it mean it will scan chanels to find correct one?


No, it means it will connect to hidden networks, by directing the scan to a specific SSID.

Maybe the hang in WirelessManager is caused by other drivers not sharing interrupts properly. What other PCI devices have the same interrupt line as the Atheros card? (In utri007's case, that's 0x32.)

@utri007 & Goos

Are you sure you have a DWL-G520+? I thought those had Texas Instruments chipsets.

   Report Go to top

Re: Atheros WLAN driver success/failures
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2007/1/6 5:59
Posts: 368
I just opened my Sam and I can confirm, my card is DWL-G520, not a DWL-G520+

Forget that I said key_mgmt does grim reaper, it doesn't do that.

Other PCI card is Radeon 9250

   Report Go to top


« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project