Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
104 user(s) are online (90 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 103

Daytona675x, more...

Support us!

Headlines




« 1 2 3 (4) 5 6 »


Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 14:23
From England
Posts: 3553
@Chris
Please let me know if you want me to submit this bug to the official bug tracker (Mantis):

When AppDir:NetSurf is started by URLopen OR OpenURL, it always crashes. The top of the stack trace says:
Quote:
native kernel module newlib.library.kmod+0x0002fe70
[utils/nsoption.c:775] APPDIR:NETSURF:nsoption_commandline()+0xac (section 1 @ 0x1DA200)

(This is for NetSurf #3653.)

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@ChrisH

I know that is broken.

Make sure you're using the URL keyword, not just sticking the URL in as a parameter on its own. Definitely running with a URL from the command line works without crashing, it's only unrecognised/core parameters which crash.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@ChrisH
Quote:
When AppDir:NetSurf is started by URLopen OR OpenURL, it always crashes.

It doesn't crash for me.

For URLopen prefs I have:

ClientName="NETSURF" ClientPath= "Rexx:NetSurf" CMDFORMAT= "*"http://%s*""

For OpenURL prefs I have:

Name: Netsurf
Path: Programs:Internet/NetSurf/NetSurf URL "%u" USERSDIR Data:Users

I have AppDir disabled on my system so maybe that's the difference.



Edited by xenic on 2016/8/13 14:40:37
_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@xenic

Yep, if you use the helper script it only needs the URL.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 14:23
From England
Posts: 3553
@Chris
OK, thanks, that's a strange bug/fix, but it worked .

Hopefully I can use NetSurf more regularly now :)

Oh, and thanks for fixing (left) Shift/Alt + left/right arrow, as that makes editing posts much easier!


@xenic Quote:
For URLopen prefs I have:

ClientName="NETSURF" ClientPath= Rexx:NetSurf" CMDFORMAT= *"http://%s*""

You appear to have missed a quote, as I think you meant:
CMDFORMAT= "*"http://%s*""

In any case, that will crash NetSurf, and you should use this:
CMDFORMAT= "URL *"http://%s*""


BTW, it seems rather strange that you have:
ClientPath= Rexx:NetSurf"

I'd have expected something like this:
ClientPath= AppDir:NetSurf

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@ChrisH

REXX:NetSurf is the helper script. It checks if NetSurf is running and sends an ARexx OPEN command if it is. It speeds up URLOpen, and I'd recommend to use it.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@ChrisH
Quote:
You appear to have missed a quote, as I think you meant:
CMDFORMAT= "*"http://%s*""

In any case, that will crash NetSurf, and you should use this:
CMDFORMAT= "URL *"http://%s*""


BTW, it seems rather strange that you have:
ClientPath= Rexx:NetSurf"

I'd have expected something like this:
ClientPath= AppDir:NetSurf


Sorry about the missing quotes (leading quote in ClientPath was missing too). When I added bold to the labels I chopped off some quotes. I just corrected my post.

If you look in ENVARC:launch-handler/URL/defaults/ you will see that OS4FE installed the defaults using AppDir: for the paths. If you run the Netsurf installer or read the Netsurf Install script you will see that the installer is using REXX: for the NetSurf script path.

As I mentioned above, I have disabled AppDir on my system and all my launch-handler and OpenURL settings have absolute paths instead. It's a mute point because I normally have the OpenURL command set as the browser in launch-handler. That way launch-handler passes the URL's to OpenURL which checks if the browser is open and sends ARexx commands instead of opening a new browser. I just changed my settings for testing Netsurf. My launch-handler settings normally look like this:

ClientName="OpenURL" ClientPath="SYS:C/OpenURL" CMDFORMAT="*"http://%s*""

Netsurf uses a script to accomplish the same thing. I just preferred my method so I don't need to add a script for every browser in my launch-handler prefs.

All that misses the point I was trying to make; that Netsurf isn't crashing on my system when opened with URLopen or OpenURL.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@ChrisH
I'm happy with the fixes Chris made so if you're happy too maybe you could add "SOLVED" to the title of this topic. I think that "unstable" might create a false impression of Netsurf; which I consider stable at this point.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@Chris
Can you do something about those theme images that remain locked after quitting Netsurf?? When I was testing all those builds and installing each one with the installer, it made things difficult because I could not completely delete a previous install in order to test another one.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/5/19 14:23
From England
Posts: 3553
@xenic Quote:
I'm happy with the fixes Chris made so if you're happy too maybe you could add "SOLVED" to the title of this topic.

Ummm, I already did that 1 hour 20 minutes before you asked :(

Well, it's lowercase "solved", like I used for all my other threads (since caps feels like it draws the eye too much to a thread which is, well, solved).

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I love using Amiga OS4.1
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...
   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@xenic

Quote:
Can you do something about those theme images that remain locked after quitting Netsurf??


I believe that's caused by bitmap.image's internal caching. I'm not sure why it locks the files either (if it has cached them they should be in memory, right?), but I don't think it's anything I've done.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@ChrisH
I had this topic loaded and got distracted to do something else. When I returned to this post I forgot to "reload" the page and reread it before posting.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/1/6 17:56
From Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 1342
@Chris
Quote:
I believe that's caused by bitmap.image's internal caching. I'm not sure why it locks the files either (if it has cached them they should be in memory, right?), but I don't think it's anything I've done.


I see this comment in gui.c:

/* These aren't freed by the above.
* TODO: nav_west etc need freeing too? */

Maybe the fact that the image files remain locked after Netsuf exits is the answer to that question. Maybe they do need freeing.

_________________
Amiga X1000 with 2GB memory & OS 4.1FE + Radeon HD 5450

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@xenic

I'm fairly sure I investigated that and decided they didn't need freeing.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3744
@Chris

I would love to come back to testing/using Netsurf on a daily basis

Is it possible to add an option to open a link clicked on from the Bookmarks window in the already open browser window?
It's really annoying to always have Netsurf open a new window (i'm using Bookmarks extensively).

Also, i remember you telling me that the Bookmarks window can't be integrated into the main browser window (like ODyssey does it) because the main devs doesn't want it (or something), is that still the case?
Because if it would be part of the main browser window it would make so many things so much easier for me.

Thank you for the ongoing development

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@Raziel

The Hotlist is independent of the browser window, if you double-click it has no way of knowing which window/tab you want to open the entry in (and likewise it can't really be physically attached to a single window)
Workarounds:
1. Drag the entry into the window rather than double-clicking it.
2. Add the entry to the Hotlist menu or toolbar, selecting those entries will always open in the current window.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:31
From Poland
Posts: 280
@Chris

Is it possible to allow more than only one row of links/buttons in a toolbar?

_________________
Sam440 flex 800MHz RAM 1GB R9250 128MB OS4.1 SBLive! ->
   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Amigans Defender
Joined:
2006/11/17 22:40
From England
Posts: 3245
@mr2

Not at the moment.

   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3744
@Chris

Woule it be possible to integrate the bookmarks into the main browser window?

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: NetSurf very unstable?
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2006/12/2 0:31
From Poland
Posts: 280
@Chris
Quote:
Not at the moment


Any plans for that? Anyway, thanks for the reply...and ongoing developement

_________________
Sam440 flex 800MHz RAM 1GB R9250 128MB OS4.1 SBLive! ->
   Report Go to top


« 1 2 3 (4) 5 6 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project