Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
76 user(s) are online (57 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 76

more...

Headlines




« 1 ... 23 24 25 (26) 27 28 29 30 »


Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@tommysammy

That's interesting, I assume it did not before.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@pjs

Thanks for detailed rapport.
I did have some problems after some changes in vo_comp, so I decided to simplify, I think you might find that it does not gray out if you resize the window, anyway I think I have fixed it now.

As for your over-scan screen issue I don't know what this is, but I think it should work the same. should not be any difference between a over scan screen and a normal screen, I will look at it, and try to understand what goes on, but I expect this to be a OS bug.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 13:35:19
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 1009
Excellent! Another great update. Thank you.

Is -ao sdl still the best audio output on the x1000?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
ddni : I don't think so. AHI-DEV should be the best.

When using MPlayer-GUI with LiveForIt-Mplayer 5.1, when I quit a video the GUI doesn't work normally.

Formerly, when stopping a video, the STOP button went grey and the START button became active agin. This is no more the case and the START button stays inactive even when the video is stopped.

So we can only play one video with MPlayer-GUI. When closin the GUI, we then get an AREXX message regarding a child process or something like that.

It's been a long time since I have not made any tests but I had few free time, sorry

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@K-L

The AREXX implementation was wrong in Mplayer, MPlayer was sending error codes instead of returning normal results, the GUI has not caught up with the change and need to be fixed as well.

It should be easy for Danial add features like vertical slider for things like volume now.

Now RC will be 0 on success, and RC -3 if command is not found, results will be text string that's a numbers or text, the string most not be freed by the ARexx client (Mplayer GUI).

Danial can check if the Result is NULL or not, if the Result is NULL then its the old mplayer abusing RC and RC2, if its not NULL then its the newer LiveForIt-Mplayer.

and so he most use sscanf( ptr -> Result "%d",&rc) on numbers, and just copy the result from ptr->Result if its text.

The fix was needed because RC codes =>20, breaks ARexx scripts, and so you can execute more then one Arexx command.

https://code.google.com/p/mplayer-amig ... id=10&can=1&sort=-summary
https://code.google.com/p/mplayer-amigaos/source/detail?r=55


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 20:43:50
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 20:44:21
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 20:50:15
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 20:56:06
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 21:02:15
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 21:05:06
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 21:09:19
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 21:10:05
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 1009
@K-L

I get that issue with mplayer gui too. There is a menu option in the gui to say mplayer crashed on me. This resets the gui and allows another video to be played.

I will try your audio suggestion. Thanks.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@ddni

You can add the AREXX scripts included to AmiDock or a subdocky as a workaround

Mplayer is no longer is a solo player, it can cause some problem if you open more then one mplayer as the AREXX port is numbered. “mplayer.1” “mplayer.2” and so on.

Mplayer gui will always talk with mplayer.1


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 21:42:18
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/22 21:43:18
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
@LiveForIt

Some French Sam460 users with Radeon HD have reported that when playing a movie, when they move the window many times on the WB, the video disappear (is shrinked actually).

I could not reproduce the problem from my side.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2299
@LiveForIt

Quote:

Now RC will be 0 on success, and RC -3 if command is not found, results will be text string that's a numbers or text, the string most not be freed by the ARexx client (Mplayer GUI).


PLease use the proper values as defined in the arexx headers, function not found should generally be an RC of 20! (certainly it is from arexx.class)

#define RC_OK 0L /* success */
#define RC_WARN 5L /* warning only */
#define RC_ERROR 10L /* something's wrong */
#define RC_FATAL 20L /* complete or severe failure */

Quote:

Danial can check if the Result is NULL or not, if the Result is NULL then its the old mplayer abusing RC and RC2, if its not NULL then its the newer LiveForIt-Mplayer.

and so he most use sscanf( ptr -> Result "%d",&rc) on numbers, and just copy the result from ptr->Result if its text.

The fix was needed because RC codes =>20, breaks ARexx scripts, and so you can execute more then one Arexx command.



What are you talking about?

There are two results in an arexx message

msg->rm_Result1

indicates error status 0 is sucess > 0 is error or warn condition

and msg->rm_Result2

if rm_Result1 is 0 then rm_Result2 id a string (if present) and if rm_Result1 is not 0 then it's an error number.

If that's is what you meant but explained badly then fair enough, but otherwise you will be breaking working programs that can send ARexx commands (incluidein scripting languages like REXX itself or python).

It's also the message sending application (the GUI in this case) resposibilty to free the all the argstrings *and* the result2 if present. (test for Result1 is not NULL ofcourse incase RC2 is a number not a string).

Maybe you ought to arexx.class so that you get this stuff right?



Edited by broadblues on 2014/5/24 8:05:34
_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@broadblues

Quote:
PLease use the proper values as defined in the arexx headers, function not found should generally be an RC of 20! (certainly it is from arexx.class)


Well I googled it and found RC = -3 for unknown command was what I found.

Now that I try to google it, I can't find it but I found what Aweb is using.
Aweb is using RC = 11 for unknown command.

http://cd.textfiles.com/amigaformat/a ... h/docs/arexx/returns.html

Quote:

What are you talking about?

There are two results in an arexx message 

msg->rm_Result1

indicates error status 0 is success > 0 is error or warn condition

and msg->rm_Result2 

if rm_Result1 is 0 then rm_Result2 id a string (if present) and if rm_Result1 is not 0 then it's an error number.


MPlayer uses “struct ARexxCmd *cmd“


struct ARexxCmd
{
        
STRPTR ac_Name;                 /* Command name */
        
UWORD ac_ID;                    /* Unique ID */

        /* NOTE: The function pointed to by ac_Func() will be called
         *       with parameters in CPU registers. Register usage
         *       is as follows:
         *
         *       VOID ac_Func(struct ARexxCmd * cmd, struct RexxMsg * rm)
         *                                       A0                   A1
         */
        
VOID (*ac_Func)();

        
STRPTR ac_ArgTemplate;  /* DOS-style argument template */
        
ULONG ac_Flags;                 /* Unused, make NULL */
        
ULONG *ac_ArgList;              /* Result of ReadArgs() */
        
LONG ac_RC;                             /* Primary result */
        
LONG ac_RC2;                    /* Secondary result */
        
STRPTR ac_Result;               /* RESULT variable */
};


this is what Autodocs says:

ac_RC (int32)
            
Primary resultthe RC variableAlso causes the RC2
            variable to 
return and will cause RESULT to NOT be set.

          
ac_RC2 (int32)
            
Secondary resultthe RC2 variableThis will not be set
            unless RC is non
-zero.

          
ac_Result (STRPTR)
            
RESULT variablethis should be a string. If you want to
            
return a number you will have to convert it to a string
            first
This string will not be set if RC is non-zero.


So docs says is that ac_RC2 should not be set unless ac_RC is set (>0).

This how interpreted how the RC/RC2 codes worked after reading the autodocs.

Errors = ac_RC and ac_RC2.
Result = ac_Result

if ac_RC >0 then ac_RC2 gives more detailed error code.

so there for I return ac_RC=0, ac_RC2=0 and ac_Result = AREXXRESULT;
where AREXXRESULT is text string with the result.

I tested that it worked only whit AREXX scripts to see that they did not fail, and that it returned correct values.

Quote:
If that's is what you meant but explained badly then fair enough, but otherwise you will be breaking working programs that can send ARexx commands (include scripting languages like AREXX itself or python).


It was breaking AREXX scripting, they who worked on mplayer before used RC to return the mplayer command id, so when mplayer command id was 20 or more the scripts failed.

the First thing i tried was to just set RC = 0, and use RC2.
I do not remember way it did not work, but I guess it did not, as I changed it.

Quote:
but otherwise you will be breaking working programs that can send ARexx commands


It's not my fault that Mplayer and MplayerGUI was useing RC/RC2 codes in a undocumented way.
All other AREXX programs should work, that follow the autodocs guidelines should work perfect.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 8:43:35
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 8:46:05
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 8:46:44
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 8:53:33
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 9:12:16
Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 9:23:22
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2299
@LiveForIt

Quote:

Well I googled it and found RC = -3 for unknown command was what I found.

Now that I try to google it, I can't find it but I found what Aweb is using.
Aweb is using RC = 11 for unknown command.

http://cd.textfiles.com/amigaformat/a ... h/docs/arexx/returns.html


I inherited that, if I were writing it today then I would make it 20, but the important point is that >10 which triggers an error which arexx has to deal with (the script can set a handler or just fail depending level of sophistication).

Quote:

MPlayer uses
struct ARexxCmd *cmd


That's a high level structure, so you must be using an api like arexx.class to return it then? Which are you using?

Quote:

This how interpreted how the RC/RC2 codes worked after reading the autodocs.

Error = ac_RC ? ac_RC : ac_RC2;

basically if ac_RC was 0 then error code ac_RC2 was used.

so there for I return ac_RC=0, ac_RC2=0 and ac_Result = AREXXRESULT;
where AREXXRESULT is text string with the result.

I tested that worked only whit AREXX scripts to see that they did not fail, and that it returned correct values.


Okay it depends a little on your command set but it should work something like this:

say you have a command 'PLAY' with template FILE

scripts sends

'PLAYME'

wrong command set ac_RC = 20 (if your using arexx.class it wil do that for you)

scruipt sends

'PLAY FILENAME "foo"'

wrong template set ac_RC = 10 (again arexx.class does that you don't even see the command was sent).

'PLAY FILE "foo"'

write template but foo does not exist.

set ac_RC = 5 (warn an that something didn't go as planned) and RC2 to a more informative error code to say what went wrong (the mplayer error code perhaps or some custom code)

'PLAY FILE "foo"'

all went swimmingly and "foo" is playing

ac_RC = 0 and ac_Result to whatever info PLAY might return on sucess as a string (framecount time resolution whatever is relavent).

A script would then test RC (or rm_Result1 if a C program) and act accordingly.

Quote:


It was breaking AREXX scripting, they who worked on mplayer before used RC to return the mplayer command id, so when mplayer command id was 20 or more the scripts failed.



That does sound wrong, but ofcourse a script can set the failat value (via the pragma command IIRC) and a handler for errors.


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@broadblues

Quote:
That does sound wrong, but ofcourse a script can set the failat value (via the pragma command IIRC) and a handler for errors.


This is the case

mplayer sets:

ac_RC = command 20 ; volume

AREXX script reads RC=20, and thinks this is RC_FATAL,
scripts breaks and stops dead, with a big warning text.

Yes this is wrong, and this is way it does not do that anymore.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
New benchmarks. This time on AmigaONE X1000 with Radeon 9250 (on PCI-Express with 128 bits/66 Mhz adapter) :

LiveForIt-Mplayer 5.1 :

AltiVec Vo comp ARGB

BENCHMARKs: VC: 9.494s VO: 10.175s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.361s = 20.029s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 47.3998% VO: 50.7996% A: 0.0000% Sys: 1.8006% = 100.0000%

AltiVec Vo Comp RGB

BENCHMARKs: VC: 9.462s VO: 19.273s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.112s = 28.847s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 32.8000% VO: 66.8122% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.3878% = 100.0000%

AltiVec Vo P96_PIP

VO: [p96_pip] 640x266 => 640x266 Planar YV12
ANS_LENGTH=85.80


BENCHMARKs: VC: 9.292s VO: 26.549s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.115s = 35.956s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 25.8421% VO: 73.8385% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.3194% = 100.0000%

Weird : when benchmarking, the CPU is at 50% and not 100% so the video is not played at full speed and so the benchmark is not acurate (of course it is the fastest when playing a video).

No AltiVec Vo Comp ARGB

BENCHMARKs: VC: 13.628s VO: 12.330s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.102s = 26.060s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 52.2937% VO: 47.3135% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.3928% = 100.0000%

No AltiVec Vo Comp RGB

BENCHMARKs: VC: 13.551s VO: 23.208s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.095s = 36.854s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 36.7695% VO: 62.9727% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.2578% = 100.0000%

No AltiVec Vo P969_PIP

BENCHMARKs: VC: 13.220s VO: 22.628s A: 0.000s Sys: 0.143s = 35.991s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 36.7315% VO: 62.8706% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.3980% = 100.0000%

Same behaviour (only 50% CPU used so the benchmark is not acurate)


Regading the bug with Sam460 and Radeon HD, reverting to 4.2 doesn't show the bug so it was introduced with 5.1. Since I have no 460 I cannot test (doesn't happen on X1000 obviously).


Edited by K-L on 2014/5/24 9:49:03
_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@K-L

ARGB looks to be the winner on all systems and graphic cards, I got some conflicting results when first switched to ARGB, that's way I added RGB support as option.

Its really strange that P96 is in fact slower then comp, on the other hand it gains nothing from AltiVec its just vanilla assembler code whit out any AltiVec optimization code.

I don't know if FFMPG can be used on the vo_P96_pip, but if it can you might see some improvements from AltiVec.

Quote:
Weird : when benchmarking, the CPU is at 50% and not 100% so the video is not played at full speed and so the benchmark is not acurate (of course it is the fastest when playing a video).


Well its a good thing if its not 100%, as then your mouse/keyboard and so will not work.
p96_pip uses vsync so max speed is around 60fps, I guess.

I guess we need a novsync option to check.

Anyway I don't know what task pri mplayer runs at, but it might possible increase it a tiny bit.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/24 10:06:51
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
LiveForIt : Actually it doesn't work correctly.

P96_PIP is the fastest of course but when benchmarking it doesn't use the whole CPU power but only 50% of it. When benchamrking it should use all the power available otherwise the benchmark will be wrong (it works like that woth any other version of MPlayer)

When benchmarking with vo comp, the CPU is always at 100% without any limit.

Maybe it's due, like you say, to a vsync limit (is this what prevents tearing ?).

Luckily, when playing a video, P96_PIP is the fastest video output with the less CPU demanding.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@K-L

Quote:
When benchmarking with vo comp, the CPU is always at 100% without any limit.


vo_comp does not have vsync.

I don't know if this is the issue or not, but i think its what it is.
Anyway you will get drop in cpu load because your not decoding and playing audio.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
LiveForIt : no it's actually vsync which prevents from benchmarking p96_pip (limited to 60 FPS).

When benchmarking there won't be any drop in CPU usage since we are benchmarking and the video will be played as fast as it can without audio and use the whole CPU power to acheive this.

The is the principle of benchmarking.

The only way to benchmark p96_pip with vsync is to benchmark a huge video which already eats up all the CPU resources.

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@K-L

but p96_pip does not know that

try this one:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/69 ... mplayer_unoffical_5_1.lha

mplayer -vo comp::novsync -benchmark -nosound film.avi
mplayer -vo p96_pip::novsync -benchmark -nosound film.avi

It does not look like vsync does anything for comp.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2006/11/29 8:09
From Lyon, France
Posts: 1101
@LiveForIt

No difference (I get the same results as with 5.1) using novsync option. P96_PIP still stays in sync (60 FPS).

For comp I get the same results too.

Anyway, it's not that important since it works (it's just we cannot benchmark correctly). P96_PIP from Joerg still allows benchmarking by the way. I hope he releases it soon

Edited : testing with -vo comp I've found that if I add -vsync in Mplayer option, I do not get anymore tearing with compositing (and benchmarking gives the exact same behaviour as with P96_PIP)

_________________
--
AmigaONE X1000 (not used anymore)
   Report Go to top

Re: Mplayer Altivec test version for G4 and PA6T-1682M
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@K-L

You tried whit one from my dropbox?

Comp whit out vsync run faster here, then comp with vsync, it should be the same with p96_pip, I don't have time check what goes on today, I might look at it some other day.


Edited by LiveForIt on 2014/5/25 20:48:13
_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 23 24 25 (26) 27 28 29 30 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project