Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
105 user(s) are online (84 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 105

more...

Headlines




« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6) 7 8 9 »


Re: gcc 9 and 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4195
@sTix

Eugh, my bad...sorry for the noise then

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@Raziel

No problem at all, it's just nice with some trafic

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4195
@sTix

Where does gmake belong to then, if not adtools?

Binutils?
Is there a place (github) where the sources/port for amigaos4 reside that takes bug reports?

I had to raise the stack to 1 mb, gmake will still crash otherwise later in the compilation

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@Raziel

Quote:
Where does gmake belong to then, if not adtools?

Binutils?
Is there a place (github) where the sources/port for amigaos4 reside that takes bug reports?


I don't know where it comes from :)

But the binary below is the one that comes with the SDK right?

(I don't have access to my OS4 machine here so I can't check)

http://os4depot.net/?function=showfil ... ment/utility/make-bin.lha

Edit: mixed up binutils and coreutils (like I always do).


Edited by sTix on 2021/2/18 19:14:14
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4195
@sTix

I see...gnu mkae is at v4.3, but i haven't found a changelog.

Would it help if we had the latest version?

...and since it's a port i also can't tell from the OS4Depot net readme if a stack cookie was added...probably not.

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@Raziel

If it has a stack cookie you should be able to find it by greping for '$STACK:' in the binary, or just open it in a text editor and do a search.

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4195
@sTix

It seems it doesn't...new version would probably be better in any way

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2287
@Raziel

RE make GCC and STACK cookies.

These tools do not need very high stacks when compiling simpler projects, but can do when compiling very complex porjects. This means there is no reasonable stack cookie.

My shell stack is typically set to 200K and for nearly everything that's enough. But IIRC I needed more for blender (2Mb for safety IIRC) but setting a stack cookie so high would be very wasteful for most projects.


The thing is make is akind of programming language in a sense so stack usage will depend on complexity of program.

Since th system doesn't have autoextending stacks and these are develeopement tools you just have to think like develeoper and make reasonable assesments of your needed stack.

This also goes for langauges like perl and python, even AWeb can burn through it's stack if you design an eveil enough nested table web page ( was an old test we used to "fuzz" it).

STACK cookies are useful in predicatable user applications, but not a total solution.


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 4195
@broadblues

Thank you, will adapt the stack for scummvm within my build scripts.

I have set it to 2.5 mg now and dont get random compilation errors anymore

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/7/14 21:30
From Lothric
Posts: 1335
@sTix

Tested GCC 10:

C projects built:
- SDL2
- CPU Watcher
- Lua

C++ projects built:
- Shaderjoy
- Fractal Nova
- secret project

All good so far! As one of the projects is using the GLM library, I got some errors related to std::round and others but just hacked those away locally. Should I report these failing std functions against the adtools project or?

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@Capehill
Quote:
All good so far! As one of the projects is using the GLM library, I got some errors related to std::round and others but just hacked those away locally. Should I report these failing std functions against the adtools project or?


Good to hear. It's likely a clib2 problem but adtools is probably a better place for the issue since that's where the digging needs to start. Since gcc 10 hasn't been integrated in the main repo yet I suggest you put it here: https://github.com/sodero/adtools

With lots and lots of details of course :)

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Quite a regular
Joined:
2007/2/6 13:57
From Donostia (SPAIN)
Posts: 637
Which gcc version (9 or 10) is "better" for normal day usage/test/build?

I'm using gcc8 since some months and haven't got problems so far.

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@jabirulo

I'd say 10. More warnings, and even a static analysis pass, might make finding some problems easier. Also, on average, newer compilers tend to generate better code.

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/11/25 16:32
From Caen (France)
Posts: 173
Hello
All of you are doing a great job.
I would test gcc 10 on OS4.1.
What and where do I download? (gcc, addtools...)
How to install it? over old gcc or fresh install? In this case, all libraries and .so must be reinstalled, no?
Thanks for your answers.

_________________
Since a lot of months without an amiga to love, I was lost.
Now I feel happiness again with a Sam Flex 800 .
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/7/14 21:30
From Lothric
Posts: 1335
@yescop

It can be installed separately and you can modify SDK:s/gcc-startup script to select the active version.

Check the link in the first post.

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2018/3/1 21:08
From italy
Posts: 39
Please can we have an updated version of all adtools and gcc binaries on os4depot?
I know there’s an updated version of sdk (docs and includes) when Hyperion could release it?

_________________
Memento audere semper!
   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/7/14 21:30
From Lothric
Posts: 1335
@sTix

I didn't open yet a ticket as there is some uncertainty. I'm usually using newlib and here is a simplified example that triggers issues:

#include <cmath>

using std::round;
using std::exp2;
using std::trunc;
using std::fma;
using std::asinh;
using std::acosh;
using std::atanh;


When built with: g++ test.cpp -std=c++11 -mcrt=newlib. These functions can be called without std namespace. Maybe this issue is already solved somewhere, for example: https://github.com/sba1/adtools/issues/86




   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@Capehill

That seems to be a source of confusion for many (me included). See the top comment here:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/11 ... -not-in-the-std-namespace

   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2007/7/14 21:30
From Lothric
Posts: 1335
@sTix

Thanks, I need to read that article some day with enough coffee.

...

I have now another issue. I have build SDL2 library using GCC10 and libSDL2.a has some symbols like "IExec" which used to be of type "C" (common) but now they are of type "S". This seems to trigger a linker error about multiple definitions when linking statically. I wonder why the symbol type has suddenly changed?


   Report Go to top

Re: gcc 9 and 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 161
@Capehill
Quote:
I have now another issue. I have build SDL2 library using GCC10 and libSDL2.a has some symbols like "IExec" which used to be of type "C" (common) but now they are of type "S". This seems to trigger a linker error about multiple definitions when linking statically. I wonder why the symbol type has suddenly changed?


IExec and INewlib are defined in SDL_os4library.c as unitialized variables so 'S' seems right. I don't know what compiler they (or is that you?) used to build the library on os4depot, but my guess is that it's a compiler where '-fcommon' is default rather than '-fno-common' which seems to be the default on gcc 10. If you add '-fcommon' to the CFLAGS when building, IExec and INewlib should be common 'C' symbols.


   Report Go to top


« 1 ... 3 4 5 (6) 7 8 9 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project