Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
104 user(s) are online (86 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 104

more...

Support us!

Headlines




(1) 2 »


Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
To make everything clear, i open new topic where all who in interest can help us to beta-test native version of dopus5.

For now we will test only library, as it currently only one component which we rewrite to gcc and make it native.

Reports like "does not works" , "slow" , "broken" will be just skipped: instead, normal bug report with all the details are welcome. Ie if it by some reasons to not starts at all or kind, write fully what you do, how, attach crash log and co.

If you have no time, and can't follow the thread, then better skip it.

If you casual user who "i want use dopus5 right now you suckers! its all still not works as i hope!" , then also skip it, as it currently work in progress.

Enchantments also out of that beta-tests, that all will be only after we will migrate to native form fully (i.e. not only library, but also program and modules). So if you want to ask "please add that feature" , its just too early.

We test now only os3/os4 libs, because mos ones is not done yet, and aros ones will be done only when everything will be in native form (as 68k emulation used currently to make 68k/ppc bins/libs/tasks works together). But making fixes on os3/os4 versions of course directly mean fixes for mos/aros most of time.

So, if you ready, then:


Prepare


1. Get that archive (it is full dopus5 install, just without libraries in Libs/ , so to make us sure that no one will run it after unpacking).

THERE

2. Unpack it to work:dopus5

3. Blacklist work:dopus5/DirectoryOpus binary in prefs:compatibility. It is necessary ! . It is main program binary, which is still in 68k, and it can cause a problems. So we blacklist it, to avoid any moments, which anyway will automatically irons-out when native binary will be done.

4. Next, download an archive with 3 libraryes:

THERE

1. original 68k done on SASC (just with fix in terms of listers, i.e. that PF_ASYNC)
2. 68k library done on gcc.
3. os4 library done on gcc as well in debug form (do not fear of size, without debug it's small of course).

Put in work:dopus5/Libs/ DEBUG VERSION OF OS4 LIBRARY WITH PROPER RENAME! I.e. it should be "dopus5.library".


as i say, i specially separate libs from main archive, so we all can be sure that everyone who will do test, understand what he do

Now, run DirectoryOpus binary, and start to use it.

Once you crashes/freezes

1. Once you will have any crashes, immediately save crash log, and together with FULL BIG FAT details write to some text file.

2. delete from Libs/ os4 library, and put there 68k-gcc library (thats very important : not sasc one, but gcc one). With proper rename to dopus5.libary of course. You do it just to see if it only os4-library bugs, or also os3-library bugs.

3. Try to reproduce problem. Note to file results.

4. If problem still reproduces, delete from Libs/ 68k-gcc version of library, and put there 68k-sasc version of library (i.e. original just with lister's fix, and of course with also renaming to dopus5.library). Try to reprodce problem. Note to file results.

5. All the details with all crash-logs put there (crash-logs can be uploaded somewhere with link on, or even if put them in topic, then registers/stack-trace is enough).


! IMPORTANT !

When you plays with different libraryes, it is necessary to do hard reboots. I.e. if you use some version of library with dopus5, and then want to use another one : hard reboot is 100% must.


Happy testing.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
I'm testing right now.
The binary can be started only from shell, double click doesn't work

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@samo
change tooltype or continue tests from shell

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
@kas1e

Solved, in tooltype the icon was referred as "folder" instead of "tool"

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
Programs seems working more or less fine here, in general no crashes or other bad behaviours ... however still many glitchs here and there, for example the scrollbar will be corrupted if you resize the windows at certain size and other issue like that .. all the GUI gadget still and looks ugly ('90 style) but in general is ok for our current state of development .. progressing is good aniway

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@samo79
Quote:

however still many glitchs here and there, for example the scrollbar will be corrupted if you resize the windows at certain size and other issue like that ..


"many" ?:) Count them all then and show how to reproduce it, as it seems no one have other problems (which is good and relief).

Quote:

all the GUI gadget still and looks ugly ('90 style)


Yep, thats what i want to correct as well. I hope it can be just matter of the adding of some flags or so. We will see when native program will done.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
Sure i will report them as soon as possible, right now i'm busy with other things

However today i found 1 crash, it happen when you iconify and then de-iconify the "MainButton" window, problem happen exactly when you do a double click to deiconify this window

Quote:
Crash log for task "dopus_buttons"
Generated by GrimReaper 53.5
Crash occured in module dopus5.library at address 0x6D2E1338
Type of crash: DSI (Data Storage Interrupt) exception

Register dump:
GPR (General Purpose Registers):
0: 6D2F93FC 44E0DF30 00000000 44EF8050 5FFBC000 5FFBC000 58CF9000 58CF9040
8: 00000000 40000008 A00840AE 021BDC56 28442048 00000000 44E10FFC 44D78004
16: 1534E3AD 00000000 8000000F 8000000E 8000000D 02270000 FFFFFFFF 00000000
24: 8000000A 80000008 FFD60001 80000007 FFD50001 80000006 02270000 44EF8050


FPR (Floating Point Registers, NaN = Not a Number):
0: nan 143 593 11
4: 0 31.8 27.8 11
8: 0 128 31.8 27.8
12: 164 621 0 -0
16: 0 0 0 0
20: 0 0 0 1.61895e-319
24: 0 0 0 -2.86923e-35
28: 0 1.35808e-312 8.8275e-311 -0.234375

FPSCR (Floating Point Status and Control Register): 0x82004000


SPRs (Special Purpose Registers):
Machine State (msr) : 0x0002F030
Condition (cr) : 0x48442048
Instruction Pointer (ip) : 0x6D2E1338
Xtended Exception (xer) : 0x00000007
Count (ctr) : 0x6D2F93E4
Link (lr) : 0x6D2F93FC
DSI Status (dsisr) : 0x00000000
Data Address (dar) : 0x400000B6



680x0 emulated registers:
DATA: 00000001 80000000 40000000 80000000 FFFFFFFF FFD50001 00000000 54D38EB4
ADDR: 44EF8050 498ADC98 44D780DC 54D38EB4 4B31F008 44D6EA10 4BBE1C40 44E0DF7C
FPU0: 0 0 0 0
FPU4: 0 0 0 0



Symbol info:
Instruction pointer 0x6D2E1338 belongs to module "dopus5.library" (PowerPC)
Symbol: L_FreeDiskObjectCopy + 0x20 in section 1 offset 0x0002E318

Stack trace:
[wb.c:1142] L_FreeDiskObjectCopy()+0x20 (section 1 @ 0x2E318)
libstub_L_FreeDiskObjectCopy()+0x18 (section 1 @ 0x463DC)
stub_FreeDiskObjectCopyPPC()+0x30 (section 1 @ 0x43EB8)
native kernel module kernel+0x000558e4


PPC disassembly:
6d2e1330: 8124002e lwz r9,46(r4)
6d2e1334: 41820044 beq- 0x6D2E1378
*6d2e1338: 812900ae lwz r9,174(r9)
6d2e133c: a0090014 lhz r0,20(r9)
6d2e1340: 2b80002b cmplwi cr7,r0,43

System information:

CPU
Model: AMCC PPC440EP V1.3
CPU speed: 799 MHz
FSB speed: 133 MHz
Extensions:

Machine
Machine name: Sam440EP
Memory: 1048576 KB
Extensions: bus.pci

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@samo79
Quote:

However today i found 1 crash, it happen when you iconify and then de-iconify the "MainButton" window, problem happen exactly when you do a double click to deiconify this window


Common samo ! you can do better :) Did you check if it the same in 68k-gcc library ? If so, did it the same on sasc 68k library ? :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
) didn't check them yet, actually i'd created an internal folder called "Libs" and i put inside it the native library only, so all my current test is/was done with it and not with other 68k libs .. further and deep test soon promise

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
Meanwhile i switched to the (lib) gcc 68k version, test started

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@samo79
I find out the problem anyway (just forget to add global dopus base for os4 build in that function). I reupload libs.lha, plz get new one from the same place.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
Perfect, going to test

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/2 3:55
From Italy, Perugia
Posts: 3392
I was not able to replicate the crash using the gcc 68k lib
No more crash also using the latest OS4 library, very good

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/29 7:57
Posts: 175
I get an DSI when using drag & drop to copy files.
It only happens with the OS4 library.
It's easy to reproduce (on my machine atleast) just drag & drop a file between two listers :D

I have saved an crashlog on my dropbox

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16 ... n_2013-04-13_15-36-41.txt

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@smf
Thanks, fixed. In general all patches was broken (10 dos ones, and 2 icon ones), fixed them all, was just small mistake (by incident use previous version of files when rewrite patches without os4 ifdefs), will upload new library soon.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/29 7:57
Posts: 175
@Kas1e

Thanks for fixing it fast, let us know when the new one is out so that we can continue to test.

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@all
re-uploaded libs.lha on previous place with all the latest stuff, check this out plz.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/29 7:57
Posts: 175
@Kas1e

Here's another one for you to fix ;)

1.Create a new graphics button from the menu.
2. Select to edit the button.
3. Click Edit Function
4. Click on the "select command" button
5. select a random command and press ok - > now you get an dsi.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16 ... r_2013-04-14_13-26-59.txt

The problem is within the gcc dopus5.library(but it crashed somewhat different with the 68k gcc library) works with the original one.

*edit* the problem seems to be there anytime you bring up the select command window


Edited by smf on 2013/4/14 13:07:36
   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/29 7:57
Posts: 175
Another (maybe related) problem that is when you go into the enviroment prefereces and into the miscellangeous tab and choose a custom screen title with the requester and press ok. This problem is only within the 0S4 library.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16 ... t_2013-04-14_14-20-25.txt

   Report Go to top

Re: Dopus5 native betatests thread
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/9/11 12:31
From Russia
Posts: 6688
@smf
Yep, able to reproduce both crashes, and they both happens in the L_SetEnv() function.

The bug fixed again by morphos developer itix, there is what he says about:

Quote:

The problem there is that literal strings are write protected in OS4 and if we want to manipulate those strings (like L_SetEnv()) does we must create temporary copy. Please try if my changes fix reported problem.


So, i upload on the same old place new libs which seems fix the issues. Plz, test it. I through can't make those custom screen values works, but maybe i do something wrong ..

Also morphos library build now included, in case if someone have both oses by hands and want to test it.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites
   Report Go to top


(1) 2 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project