Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
76 user(s) are online (55 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 0
Guests: 76

more...

Headlines




« 1 (2) 3 »


Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/8/23 16:11
Posts: 125
Hi All,

I'm testing Mac OS X on Mac-on-Linux and on QEMU on my A1-X1000. I have installed PearPC for a fast installation of OS X on my PC (Intel Xeon quad core 4x 2.93GHz). The PearPC ppc emulation acceleration is fantastic and impressive on my PC.

Mac OS X 10.2 Jaguar shows me a G3 processor with 2.33GHz on PearPC. OS X/PPC is very fast on my PC.

Resized Image

Unfortunately the Jaguar image doesn't boot on Mac-on-Linux and on QEMU with KVM on my A1-X1000. But it boots on QEMU without KVM kernel modul. Jaguar shows me 433 MHz without KVM on my A1-X1000.

Resized Image

If WinUAE supports PPC emulation then I have a virtual CyberStorm PPC card with 2.33GHz on my PC. On my A1-X1000 I have 433MHz. 433MHz is not bad for a Classic Amiga.

This could be a big chance for Cloanto. Cloanto could offer an Amiga Forever with an OS4.1 Classic image. This would be a sensation.


   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 1009
I don't expect that Toni Wilen has any great interest in getting AmigaOS4 running in WinUAE. He has commented that once some small PPC programs run in warpup then his job is done. The jump from that to running AOS4 is huge. So far no one has come forward with an offer to bridge that gap.

More likely, is that a MorphOS port will make use of any PPC layer.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/1/8 15:28
From Dublin/Glasgow
Posts: 283
@ddni

I agree that Toni Wilen doesn't have any interest in getting OS4 running on WinUAE, but is it really that much of a gap to get OS4 classic running on it? After all, it runs on a real Cyberstorm Amiga with little else required hardware-wise, and although slow, supports the standard motherboard hardware which is already emulated.

I would have thought that once classic PPC software runs on it (WarpUp / PowerUp), there isn't much else needed to get OS4 running other than supporting the specific registers and running modes of the Cyberstorm... But Tony knows the specifics I guess.

_________________
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/8/23 16:11
Posts: 125

   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2007/12/5 3:00
Posts: 75
My 2 cents.

I reckon it will be a good thing if OS4.1 was able to be emulated on WinUAE. I always worry that when my (now 10 year old) hardware eventually goes all time investment in OS4.x goes out the window, so I tend to write for 68k because I know I will be able to keep using it in future. If there was OS4.1 classic emulation I would be more inclined to write things for it as I know my time investment is not gone when the machine fails.

I think the emulation will happen on WinUAE because even if Toni doesn't have interest in that bit, I'm sure someone else with those skills will.

Like many, I would love to buy an X1000 but it just costs too much for me to afford (and I really tried to kid myself last month too!!!).

My personal opinion is that 4.1 should be the last version to work on classic anyway and 4.2 should break that tie, working on the future (hopefully) more affordable machines. Since 4.1 was current for so long, it doesn't hurt to target that version for a while, even using emulation, anyway.

If WinUAE supported Classic 4.1 I'd buy a copy for sure.

Finally, Hyperion could not be expected to write drivers for software that they don't support. It is up to the emulation to be right and/or specific drivers to be written for the emulation by interested parties. If Hyperion happens to become one of those interested parties, all the better.

Phew! I think that's enough

   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/8/23 16:11
Posts: 125
WinUAE 2.8.2 beta 9 with PPC

It would be nice to see OS4.1 Classic in the Amiga Forever package.
I think, this won't be a problem for the NG Amigas with PPC cpus. The new Cyrus+ boards are very interessting and it's impressive to see a Freescale cpu on the desktop board. For me it's more exciting to see OS4.1 and Linux on the Cyrus+ boards.
But don't worry, I'll furthermore support Linux for A1-X1000. We have a lot of work to do for the A1-X1000.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2299
You guys are all a bit deluded I think. Emulating a cyberstorm won't get you OS4. You would need an *OS4* WinUAE P96 driver, you would need sound drivers, you would need usb drivers (and maybe some pass through code in WinUAE) and god knows what else. Eithr that or WinUAE would have to emulate all the extras bits a classic OS4 system might need in precise detail. Both seem unlikely to me.

You'd also need a kickarse windows machine to run an emulated PPC at any speed.


_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/8 13:37
From Netherlands
Posts: 107
@broadblues

Picasso ppc and other drivers aren't on the os4 cd ?

   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@benny

Quote:
Picasso ppc and other drivers aren't on the os4 cd ?

He means the Picasso96 drivers for UAE. IIRC, UAE doesn't emulate an existing graphics card, but has its own P96 driver. That diver won't be on the OS4 CD.

AFAIK, AmigaOS 4 can use 68k P96 drivers, although there are no guarantees...

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/27 14:26
Posts: 75
@Hans

Quote:
He means the Picasso96 drivers for UAE. IIRC, UAE doesn't emulate an existing graphics card, but has its own P96 driver. That diver won't be on the OS4 CD.

AFAIK, AmigaOS 4 can use 68k P96 drivers, although there are no guarantees...

Hans




From the Winuae homepage:

Quote:

- Emulates following boards: Picasso II, Picasso II+, Picasso IV (flash
rom image required), Piccolo, Piccolo SD64 and EGS-28/24 Spectrum.



_________________
"A man is only as old as the womans he feels"
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@Fransexy

Okay, I stand corrected. In that case, the driver may well be on the CD.**

Hans


** I don't own a classic PPC Amiga, and so have no idea what's on the AmigaOS 4 classic CD.

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@Hans

I think even AmigaOS4.1 supports AGA.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@LiveForIt

Quote:
I think even AmigaOS4.1 supports AGA.

Yes. However, I was responding to the use of an "RTG" card, not AGA.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Quite a regular
Joined:
2013/10/5 15:07
From Italy
Posts: 624
@Xeno74
run geek bench 2 on the pearpc and compare the result with a real mac g4 ;)
i think you will surprize :p

have a qemu 433 mhz g3 result is really impressive for the x1000, qemu usually is really slow in not virtualized machine.

   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/20 16:26
From Norway
Posts: 2988
@Hans

Quote:
Yes. However, I was responding to the use of an "RTG" card, not AGA.


No problem, it was response to what Broadblues started taking about and your comment is follow up on. I felt it appropriate to respond to you as you have read this comments I presumed. As follow up.

I was not suggesting you did not know this.

_________________
(NutsAboutAmiga)

Basilisk II for AmigaOS4
AmigaInputAnywhere
Excalibur
and other tools and apps.
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2007/1/26 21:48
From New Zealand
Posts: 2310
@LiveForIt

I had read Broadblues' comment. My understanding is that, while AGA works, it's not much fun without an RTG graphics card.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - more of my work
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just popping in
Joined:
2009/8/8 23:11
Posts: 72

   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/4/10 14:57
From Northern Ireland
Posts: 1009
@terminills

Excellent.

_________________
AmigaOne X1000.
Radeon R9 270X

http://www.tinylife.org.uk/
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/12/4 23:15
Posts: 2299
@terminills

We'll I'm impressed.

How fast though?





_________________
Blender For OS4.x : Blues : Walker Broad
   Report Go to top

Re: Amiga PPC emulation
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2502
Lets hope hyperoon can use this to sell a few more os4 copies. Are there any estimates to how many winuae users there are?

_________________
X5000
   Report Go to top


« 1 (2) 3 »



[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project