Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
82 user(s) are online (70 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 3
Guests: 79

LiveForIt, trixie, clint, more...

Support us!

Headlines






What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 129
While waiting for an X5000 to arrive I'm thinking of getting a fresh monitor. What are you guys / girls using? Is OS4 and and high resolutions a good combination?

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/5/1 18:57
From Czech Republic
Posts: 1242
@sTix

I bought this 32" model from ASUS a year ago, and I can't recommend it enough. A perfect match for my Radeon RX 560. Running Workbench in 2560x1440 is a delight!


_________________
The Rear Window blog

AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon RX 560 / ESI Juli@ / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
SAM440ep-flex @ 667MHz / 1GB RAM / Radeon 9250 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/7/16 18:57
From Istanbul
Posts: 161
@sTix

I bought LG UW monitor 3 years ago.

Tested with Radeon R7 265, RX 550 and RX580 on X5000 and A1222.

Works fine and supports 2560x1080.

https://www.lg.com/ca_en/desktop-monit ... 4UM58-P-ultrawide-monitor

Off-topic question:
I wonder if RadeonHD driver supports 144Hz refresh rates ?

_________________
Sinan - AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
- AmigaOne X5000
- AmigaOne A1222
- Sam460ex
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 129
@trixie and @SinanSam460

Thanks! Hi-res it is then.

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3972
@sTix

I'd love to know if anyone has an UHD monitor/screenmode running with AmigaOS4.
Does it work?
How much gfx memory is used with a UHD screenmode?
What is the cpu impact on such a screenmode?

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/8 13:37
From Netherlands
Posts: 99
@sTix

I did use 2x Philips Brilliance 288P monitors with my AmigaOne 500/X1000.

They can display the Workbench with UHD ( 3840x2160 pixels) , but increasing the font size is recommended in that resolution.
1080P is also crystal clear: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BN3CGz0FVfc

If you plan to use 1440P ( 2560x1080 pixels ), I would recommend buying a monitor which displays it natively like the LG or Asus mentioned.



   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/11/30 11:59
From Lund, Sweden
Posts: 129
@benny

Looks very crispy! I just ordered the Asus trixie suggested. Like Raziel said, is CPU a factor? The youtube clip is from the X1000 I guess? It looks snappy.

But you need to fix your VIM: assign, you won't get any toolbar or plugins otherwise

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3972
@benny

I already use 2560x1440 since years now.
My GFX mem is cut to halve due to the resolution, so i wonder if i'll get in trouble when a gfx hungry app starts to also suck the gfx mem dry?

RadeonHD 7900 series with 3 GB of RAM where only 256 mem is seen/used in Workbench

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/8 13:37
From Netherlands
Posts: 99
@Raziel

Can't you try it with that resolution?

I never noticed anything with exceeding the 256MB limit, problably because It did slow down the system not or not much....

V3 of the Radeon driver has the 256MB barrier beaten, but not for the Workbench / Picasso96.

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3972
@benny

Since the current OS is freezing and locking up randomly without anything on serial i cannot really tell if the low gfx mem is to be blamed.

I *think* i may have had a little program that filled up gfx mem and the system went into a frozen state immediately, but that was some time ago, so not sure if it still counts.

Maybe i'll try find something like that again

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3972
@benny

Ok, so i just tried with filling up gfx ram with the help of Multiviewer
This thing eats away gfx mem with every instance started, even if nothing has been loaded in.

- Once i get to 98% full, the system becomes sluggish as hell, not really worth continuing to work with.
- It *seems* as if the needed gfx memory is using up normal mem then, as normal mem is being reduced with every new Multiviewer instance started from that point on.
- CPU goes up to 80-100% (probably because of memory copy operation) until i pass the 75% border, where it simply freezes the system (but that was to be expected)

I *can* start working normally again, once i close all windows and free up some gfx memory, so it isn't as unforgiving as ram, that's one positive, at least.

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/8 13:37
From Netherlands
Posts: 99
@Raziel

Did you ask other X5000 users if they have the same experience ?

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3972
@benny

No...because it wouldn't matter since i'm on X1000

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2006/12/8 13:37
From Netherlands
Posts: 99
@Raziel

I meant X1000 :)

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/26 21:45
From a dying planet
Posts: 3972
@benny

I sincererly and officially do that ... now

_________________
People are dying.
Entire ecosystems are collapsing.
We are in the beginning of a mass extinction.
And all you can talk about is money and fairytales of eternal economic growth.
How dare you!
– Greta Thunberg
   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Just popping in
Joined:
2017/5/18 11:12
From Audruicq, France
Posts: 85
Hi,

Sometime ago, I experienced freezes of my system too, an A1X1000, without any trace on the serial log. The thing I saw was that it was not froze permanentely and every minute, it unfroze itself for 1 or 2 seconds.
The culprit was the sata cable of my HDD that I replaced since, and I didn't get any "undetermined" freeze of the system anymore.

Regards,
Petrol.

   Report Go to top

Re: What is the best monitor for OS4?
Home away from home
Joined:
2006/11/30 18:43
From Norway
Posts: 2495
Does o4 support 144hz, or are we stuck at 60hz?
My r9 280x doesn't seem to give me a better option than 60hz. The screen prefers 144hz.

_________________
X5000
   Report Go to top





[Advanced Search]



Powered by XOOPS 2.0 © 2001-2016 The XOOPS Project