Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
112 user(s) are online (60 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 111

Rigo, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

(1) 2 3 »
Amiga 1200 - What to do with it?
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
Hey all!

So, I've been sitting on an A1200 for the last 3 years. My general curiosity in Amiga is what led me to purchase it, after being on the opposing side of the Amiga/Atari wars of the late 80s and early 90s. Not that I didn't LIKE Amiga...I was just fully vested in the Atari platform back then (puts up bullet-proof shield). Anyways, I jumped head first into Amiga back when I first picked up the A1200 but wasn't able to do anything with it. Now, however, I'd like to get it upgraded somehow, at least to the point of being able to run a version of AmigaOS a bit more recent than 3.0.

Mind you, I'm not having any delusions of grandeur of running OS4 on it, as I believe any hardware upgrades to allow it to do so will be too expensive for me. Besides, I'd rather run OS4 on a sexy new system. :) I'd like to do a few basic things with it, like jump online, try new software, run a more recent OS, and basically experience the Amiga in the fullest, all while not breaking the bank with my purchases.

So...here's what I have so far. It's basically a stock Amiga 1200 with 2 MB of chip RAM, an 80 MB hard drive, and a bit of software pre-installed. It came with a memory expander with an FPU on it, but it doesn't work (had to remove it just to get the system to boot). How should I go about upgrading the RAM? Is it worth it to do so? What reasonably priced accelerators are available for it, if any? What free and commercial programs should I check out for it? Any help with this would be greatly appreciated. :)

Go to top
Re: Amiga 1200 - What to do with it?
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
@Sauron