Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!

Sections

Who's Online
151 user(s) are online (93 user(s) are browsing Forums)

Members: 1
Guests: 150

Georg, more...

Headlines

Register To Post  

Programming languages for old Amigas
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
I am a complete beginner in programming Amiga computers. The only experience I have is some Amiga Basic from a long time ago. I did not like Amiga Basic so much, it was very buggy. No surprise, it is from the Microsoft Corporation!
Some years ago, I participated in a Java course at an adult education program. I did not really enjoy this programming language and I am not even sure if it is available for the Amiga.
I have seen that a lot of Amiga developers joined this internet forum, so it could be the right place to ask you for advice:

I wish to learn a programming language and practice my new experience on the Amiga. I don't expect to write an advanced computer program soon, but writing some small utilities or tools would be great.

What programming language do you advise me to learn? Can I use general programming books, even when I plan to program for the Amiga, or do I have to look for old Amiga programming books? I will use an old Amiga 500 which has a harddisk and accelerator expansion for programming.

Thank you.

Go to top
Re: Programming languages for old Amigas
Quite a regular
Quite a regular

See User information
Sister_Rita:

Do you intend to write with or without gui?
Imho the most intermedite language is AREXX.
Afait, it is part of WB2.0 and later or so.
There's an amigaguide userguide for it somewhere (aminet afair)

Good luck
Jack

Resized Image
"the expression, 'atonal music,' is most unfortunate--it is on a par with calling flying 'the art of not falling,' or swimming 'the art of not drowning.'. A. Schoenberg
Go to top
Just popping in
Just popping in

See User information
I'd recommend the following for an A500, in order of difficulty: